SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3475 (Boy's shirt and shorts)

22 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/07 5:15 PM
Last Updated:4/6/07 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunnyhead5000 said...
Absolutely adorable outfit on an adorable boy! Fantastic job!
4/11/07 6:17 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Cute shirt. Your son is a handsome little guy.
4/11/07 8:33 AM
susinok said...
I always have secondary references available to me when I sew. It helps to read instructions from a few books. I'm also still a beginner. I learn something new on every project! And that's just the cutest picture on a very cute little man. It makes me want to make one for my nephew.
4/7/07 10:39 AM
pterion said...
The collar looks fine to me. Very cute shirt and adorable little boy! I'm a beginner as well and often I'll look at my copy of Kwik-sew's "Sewing for Toddlers" when I'm confused about how to do something basic. It's a great book (and there's one for older children as well) for basic instructions, although the patterns and photos are pretty dated in style.
4/7/07 10:24 AM
BeckyW said...
Very cute shirt, and very cute little man.
4/6/07 11:59 PM
Mufffet said...
SUCH a cute shirt. I have made a McCall's pattern for little boys that is almost exactly this shirt, and when my boys were small I made many shirts for them. Your photo brings back good memories. I hear you on the collar. It would be a good idea to read some of the collar making tips here on PR and on Sewing at About.com, or just Google "sewing collars"....I like to get a lot of info on specific techniques before I try something new or just as a refresher. there are a couple ways to do collars, and I prefer the way where you put the collar as the "filling to a "sandwich" between a facing and the shirt. It is a way my Mom taught me along with the "sew the side seams and the sleeve underarm seams all in one." If a shirt doesn't have a back facing I cut one for it and then sew the facings together and then do the sandwich.
4/6/07 7:11 PM
TanyaMT said...
I love the fabric, very cute. It looks like it came out very well despite the directions.
4/6/07 6:04 PM
Christen said...
Very cute model...and the shirt looks great too! I don't particularly like Butterick directions either, they aren't terribly clear at times.
4/6/07 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

McCall's 6694

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
McCall's 6078

photo
by: BlossomKyl...

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

More Info