SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3475 (Boy's shirt and shorts)

23 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 110 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/07 5:15 PM
Last Updated:4/6/07 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunnyhead5000 said... (4/11/07 6:17 PM) Reply
Absolutely adorable outfit on an adorable boy! Fantastic job!
Charlene McGill said... (4/11/07 8:33 AM) Reply
Cute shirt. Your son is a handsome little guy.
susinok said... (4/7/07 10:39 AM) Reply
I always have secondary references available to me when I sew. It helps to read instructions from a few books. I'm also still a beginner. I learn something new on every project! And that's just the cutest picture on a very cute little man. It makes me want to make one for my nephew.
pterion said... (4/7/07 10:24 AM) Reply
The collar looks fine to me. Very cute shirt and adorable little boy! I'm a beginner as well and often I'll look at my copy of Kwik-sew's "Sewing for Toddlers" when I'm confused about how to do something basic. It's a great book (and there's one for older children as well) for basic instructions, although the patterns and photos are pretty dated in style.
BeckyW said... (4/6/07 11:59 PM) Reply
Very cute shirt, and very cute little man.
Mufffet said... (4/6/07 7:11 PM) Reply
SUCH a cute shirt. I have made a McCall's pattern for little boys that is almost exactly this shirt, and when my boys were small I made many shirts for them. Your photo brings back good memories. I hear you on the collar. It would be a good idea to read some of the collar making tips here on PR and on Sewing at About.com, or just Google "sewing collars"....I like to get a lot of info on specific techniques before I try something new or just as a refresher. there are a couple ways to do collars, and I prefer the way where you put the collar as the "filling to a "sandwich" between a facing and the shirt. It is a way my Mom taught me along with the "sew the side seams and the sleeve underarm seams all in one." If a shirt doesn't have a back facing I cut one for it and then sew the facings together and then do the sandwich.
TanyaMT said... (4/6/07 6:04 PM) Reply
I love the fabric, very cute. It looks like it came out very well despite the directions.
Christen said... (4/6/07 5:51 PM) Reply
Very cute model...and the shirt looks great too! I don't particularly like Butterick directions either, they aren't terribly clear at times.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

brerrabbit.com Gertie\'s Bow tie blouse

photo
by: Seamstress...

Review
Butterick 5455

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Pattern Details