SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3475 (Boy's shirt and shorts)

21 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/07 5:15 PM
Last Updated:4/6/07 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christen said...
Very cute model...and the shirt looks great too! I don't particularly like Butterick directions either, they aren't terribly clear at times.
4/6/07 5:51 PM
TanyaMT said...
I love the fabric, very cute. It looks like it came out very well despite the directions.
4/6/07 6:04 PM
Mufffet said...
SUCH a cute shirt. I have made a McCall's pattern for little boys that is almost exactly this shirt, and when my boys were small I made many shirts for them. Your photo brings back good memories. I hear you on the collar. It would be a good idea to read some of the collar making tips here on PR and on Sewing at About.com, or just Google "sewing collars"....I like to get a lot of info on specific techniques before I try something new or just as a refresher. there are a couple ways to do collars, and I prefer the way where you put the collar as the "filling to a "sandwich" between a facing and the shirt. It is a way my Mom taught me along with the "sew the side seams and the sleeve underarm seams all in one." If a shirt doesn't have a back facing I cut one for it and then sew the facings together and then do the sandwich.
4/6/07 7:11 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute shirt, and very cute little man.
4/6/07 11:59 PM
pterion said...
The collar looks fine to me. Very cute shirt and adorable little boy! I'm a beginner as well and often I'll look at my copy of Kwik-sew's "Sewing for Toddlers" when I'm confused about how to do something basic. It's a great book (and there's one for older children as well) for basic instructions, although the patterns and photos are pretty dated in style.
4/7/07 10:24 AM
susinok said...
I always have secondary references available to me when I sew. It helps to read instructions from a few books. I'm also still a beginner. I learn something new on every project! And that's just the cutest picture on a very cute little man. It makes me want to make one for my nephew.
4/7/07 10:39 AM
Charlene McGill said...
Cute shirt. Your son is a handsome little guy.
4/11/07 8:33 AM
bunnyhead5000 said...
Absolutely adorable outfit on an adorable boy! Fantastic job!
4/11/07 6:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

No Pattern Used 2

photo
by: rosequartz

Review
Other OOP Antoinette

photo
by: aaltje

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now