SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 (Misses Knit Tops)

206 more reviews
Viewed 1991 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:4/7/07 9:50 PM
Last Updated:7/14/07 7:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
That looks so great on you. I love the green one!
4/7/07 10:13 PM
frame said...
Looks great. Very nice review.
4/7/07 11:10 PM
BeckyC said...
All of your tops look great on you! The fit is awesome! Thanks for the thorough review and all of your great tips!
4/7/07 11:14 PM
Lunar_C said...
Gorgeous. I've made this twice in plain fabric so it's great to see patterned fabric works great too. I love the rolled hem, I'm pinching that idea. : )
4/8/07 0:39 AM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful top and impeccable fit!
4/8/07 4:16 AM
CarolynGM said...
All are lovely. That's an impressive array of alterations you devised to achieve what looks like excellent fit.
4/8/07 5:54 AM
carolynw said...
Look lovely - all of them. Thanks for the review and tips - have the pattern and am going to get to it - soon I hope!
4/8/07 9:08 AM
Deb Fox said...
Beautiful! Isn't this pattern awesome? I have made both this version and the wrap version. I did a FBA on this version, but did not on the wrap, thanks to the heads up on front width from other PR reviews. This is definitely a TNT pattern for me, and I am basing most of my knit top wardrobe on it. I think this will be a favorite pattern for 2007! I'm planning on posting my wrap version soon.
4/8/07 10:24 AM
Soliel said...
Love it! And I love the groovy fabric you used! Where does one get "buttermilk knit". I want some!
4/8/07 11:17 AM
ryan's mom said...
Soleil, buttermilk knits can be found at www.emmaonesock.com . Beware, the website can be addictive :) .
4/8/07 12:03 PM
Jane S said...
Love this top on you and love such a helpful review and the work you did to clarify your instructions. ANd I got a giggle about the serger remarks...as I"m testing and re-testing, I sometimes wonder who said serging was quick:-)
4/8/07 1:18 PM
2BSewing said...
Your tops are beautiful. You've done a great job with the fit. I've got this pattern on my list. Thanks for a great review and many wonderful tips.
4/8/07 7:25 PM
dvazz said...
I love it! Glad to see that the neckline is reasonable, too. I have one in my SWAP but haven't started it yet...thanks for all the helpful info!
4/8/07 7:29 PM
SewTwin said...
I have got to make this pattern from my stack waiting! They all turn out great! It doesn't look like you have any gaposis, either..
4/8/07 8:55 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Thanks so much for going thru all the alterations...how did you ever decide that series of manipulations would create the perfect fit??? All the modifications are relatively subtle (except the addition of length)...but what a difference.
4/9/07 9:43 AM
betta1 said...
Thanks - great visuals! Gail
4/9/07 11:31 AM
AnneM said...
This is certainly a good style for you. It was worth your hour experimenting w/ the hem; it came out very nicely.
4/20/07 8:42 PM
cindy-lou said...
I love your versions of this! Isn't it a great pattern? I just made 2 more also!
6/28/07 12:52 PM
Hilary said...
All of these are so cute! I love the new version, perfect with your bag and denim capris. What pattern did you use for the capris?
6/28/07 1:11 PM
Beve said...
Pretty, pretty! And nicely fitted and sewn too...
6/28/07 4:49 PM
scrappycat said...
Very cute! I have that pattern and had never noticed that simple version.
6/29/07 7:18 AM
pterion said...
oh gosh, that is just soooo pretty!
6/29/07 10:17 AM
Linda G said...
this has got to be the pattern of the year...yours looks great!!!
6/29/07 7:22 PM
dollieo said...
Each one looks so different. Very nice.
7/2/07 7:43 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty tops!
7/6/07 8:40 AM
mary in FL said...
OK, Now I Really Have To make this one! BTW, I think you're wrong about the figure flaws - you don't really have any because they're in my mirror. I *am* fixin' to send them away ...
7/14/07 8:32 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Okay, so when did long legs become a flaw? You want flaw? Try an inseam that's 6" less than your waist measurement. The top is darling. Everyone has had such success with this pattern and yours is no exception.
7/14/07 8:41 PM
Vonnevo said...
Kathy, your tops are gorgeous. I really must sew some of these for summer.
7/14/07 9:10 PM
Sharon M said...
This pattern produced another winner! The fabric you choose for this last one is wonderful. And I *wish* I had your figure flaws, LOL!
7/14/07 10:30 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top and a gorgeous figure!. You look so good in everything you have reviewed!
7/15/07 3:05 AM
Kathi R said...
Wow - you really worked hard to get a great fitting Tshirt....but your results are worth it....nice job and thanks for the detailed review.
7/16/07 1:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 1761

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now