Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: wsj-dbcp (Dragon Cargo Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1509 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/07 3:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
It's an interesting pattern, Lorna, and I think you've made a noble run at it. The pants look quite good, and it's hard to imagine why (or how) this particular style, with the fore- and -aft seams would look better in a drapey fabric.
4/10/07 6:16 PM
lmg said...
I think the pants look quite good. Worth another try...the rear view is great IMHO.
4/10/07 6:25 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I hate to write off a pattern like this without first making sure that it isn't the fabric ... I have a similar WOF pattern that fits much nicer in the back that I can compare it to ... why I didn't think of it before, I don't know!
4/10/07 6:27 PM
marjenann said...
I like pants, and think I will try the same pattern in a drapey fabric!!! Thanks for a great review!!!
4/10/07 6:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really admire the way you persevere in your quest for a well fitted pair of pants. The back looks pretty darn good, so another try in a drapier fabric sounds like a good idea to me. Good luck!
4/10/07 6:36 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
The back view in the photo is not accurate ... the reason it looks so good is because I am doing my best imitation of an old Carol Burnett character - Mrs Wiggins; my derriere is sticking out a bit more than it usually does!
4/10/07 7:05 PM
Elona said...
I remember Mrs. Ah-Whiggens and her amazing caboose. I admired the way Tim Conway's character never referred openly to it. Oh, he rolled his eyes a little.
4/10/07 11:15 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks so much for a good review. I just got this pattern a few weeks ago after waiting forever for someone to do a review. I've a very different shape than you -- I have no trunk junk (actually, barely even a trunk). I have some Supplex put away for these pants.
4/11/07 1:43 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Totally agree with the overfitting business :-). People seem to particularly get into it with HotPatterns, imho. Anyway, if you know hiking them up 1/2" fixes the problem, just do that, without necessarily getting into a big mirror overhaul. And starting from your own crotch curve is always a good idea. But you might not get anywhere with this pattern if you don't use drapey fabric like it calls for - cotton/poly isn't going to cut it. Muslin fabric should be cheap, and it may be hideous :-), but it must have the properties desired. That said, I don't think this looks bad for your body shape, might even add back some of the ease you slashed off? Keep at it :-)..
4/11/07 5:39 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, I don't think it's a posture problem as you describe. When you hiked up the back, you essentially changed the angle of the back crotch curve. I think that's where you need to focus your adjustments. Even with you pulling up on the back, the waistband is not sitting right. It dips. You need a different curve and angle and you need more length. Just my 2 cents ... ;-)
4/11/07 9:13 AM
Annette1 said...
I think you're too close to give it up yet. :o) If I were you, I'd add the ease back in that you took out, and try them in a drapey fabric. You can always narrow them down if you need to. These fit a lot better than LOTS of the pants I see walking down the street. :o)
4/13/07 1:07 AM
AnneM said...
I wish I could help with your fit questions but sounds like you have some great hints here. You've done well so far, I think. A pantform is a great idea.
4/22/07 9:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us