SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> wsj-dbcp (Dragon Cargo Pants)

Viewed 1513 times 
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo

 
 
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/07 3:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
It's an interesting pattern, Lorna, and I think you've made a noble run at it. The pants look quite good, and it's hard to imagine why (or how) this particular style, with the fore- and -aft seams would look better in a drapey fabric.
4/10/07 6:16 PM
lmg said...
I think the pants look quite good. Worth another try...the rear view is great IMHO.
4/10/07 6:25 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I hate to write off a pattern like this without first making sure that it isn't the fabric ... I have a similar WOF pattern that fits much nicer in the back that I can compare it to ... why I didn't think of it before, I don't know!
4/10/07 6:27 PM
marjenann said...
I like pants, and think I will try the same pattern in a drapey fabric!!! Thanks for a great review!!!
4/10/07 6:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
I really admire the way you persevere in your quest for a well fitted pair of pants. The back looks pretty darn good, so another try in a drapier fabric sounds like a good idea to me. Good luck!
4/10/07 6:36 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
The back view in the photo is not accurate ... the reason it looks so good is because I am doing my best imitation of an old Carol Burnett character - Mrs Wiggins; my derriere is sticking out a bit more than it usually does!
4/10/07 7:05 PM
Elona said...
I remember Mrs. Ah-Whiggens and her amazing caboose. I admired the way Tim Conway's character never referred openly to it. Oh, he rolled his eyes a little.
4/10/07 11:15 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks so much for a good review. I just got this pattern a few weeks ago after waiting forever for someone to do a review. I've a very different shape than you -- I have no trunk junk (actually, barely even a trunk). I have some Supplex put away for these pants.
4/11/07 1:43 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Totally agree with the overfitting business :-). People seem to particularly get into it with HotPatterns, imho. Anyway, if you know hiking them up 1/2" fixes the problem, just do that, without necessarily getting into a big mirror overhaul. And starting from your own crotch curve is always a good idea. But you might not get anywhere with this pattern if you don't use drapey fabric like it calls for - cotton/poly isn't going to cut it. Muslin fabric should be cheap, and it may be hideous :-), but it must have the properties desired. That said, I don't think this looks bad for your body shape, might even add back some of the ease you slashed off? Keep at it :-)..
4/11/07 5:39 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, I don't think it's a posture problem as you describe. When you hiked up the back, you essentially changed the angle of the back crotch curve. I think that's where you need to focus your adjustments. Even with you pulling up on the back, the waistband is not sitting right. It dips. You need a different curve and angle and you need more length. Just my 2 cents ... ;-)
4/11/07 9:13 AM
Annette1 said...
I think you're too close to give it up yet. :o) If I were you, I'd add the ease back in that you took out, and try them in a drapey fabric. You can always narrow them down if you need to. These fit a lot better than LOTS of the pants I see walking down the street. :o)
4/13/07 1:07 AM
AnneM said...
I wish I could help with your fit questions but sounds like you have some great hints here. You've done well so far, I think. A pantform is a great idea.
4/22/07 9:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5247

photo
by: Erin D

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Wild Ginger Tank Top

photo
by: Kuby

Review