Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3778 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 937 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:quilter55
photo
About quilter55
GA USA
Member since: 9/6/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/07 9:21 PM
Last Updated:4/11/07 10:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Well, it is a lovely blue, and looks like you did a good job with it, if that's any consolation. Maybe make a smaller size and add a belt.
4/11/07 11:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I would definitely add a belt if you think it's still too big. With an unfitted dress like this, it's crucial to use your high bust measurement to pick the basic size. And on the whole, quilting fabrics are just not suitable for those big loose shapes - not drapey enough..
4/12/07 4:21 AM
BJ1400 said...
Your fabric is pretty & I too think it would look good with a belt. Thanks for the review. I just bought this pattern & the info regarding how large it runs is good to know.
4/12/07 8:26 AM
SimsSews said...
I'm sorry you're disappointed with your dress. I think it's a pretty fabric though, it would be a stunning swim suit cover up, and with a little matching heel you are sooo pool side ready.
4/12/07 9:10 AM
Soliel said...
I think you got to watch out those quilting cottons. They are very yummy and delicious looking...but they are stiffer than fashion cottons and will not give you the flowy feel or look you want. I always think "too bad" because so many of those quilting cottons are so pretty...but I stay away anyway. I bet another fabric will give you a totally different feel. LIke a lightweight cotton/poly.
4/12/07 11:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Following on the heels of Soliel's comments, I say: Yeah! :o) I'll bet if you cut it down a little bit (now that you know how the sizing runs) and made it in a nice flowy rayon or sometihng along those lines, you'd like it. You did a really nice job on it. Maybe you could wear a belt kind of at an angle over one hip. I bet it would look really cute, and if the belt's worn a little lower, it wouldn't make it blouse up too much at the top. I know what you mean though, when you're so excited about trying out a new pattern and then it doesn't turn out like you hoped. Great job anyway!
4/12/07 9:54 PM
quilter55 said...
Thanks for your comments and advice. I found a silver chain belt yesterday and I'll try it hooked loosely to one side. The weight of the chains should hold down some of the fullness. I hope!
4/13/07 7:06 AM
AnneM said...
You can see why they put a belt on it in the pattern picture. However, you will love this dress on a hot, humid summer day. (I made some princess seam dresses recently for summer wear; perhaps a style like that would have a little more shaping for you.) Another thought for this one: try adding some darts in the middle front & back midriff area. There is a vogue tunic top that has that treatment, & it would give this a little more shaping. (I also love the quilting cotton prints but don't use them because they are stiffer, and I like drapey fabric.)
4/22/07 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
this is the top I was referencing: http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/voguepatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.V7969=x&TI=20011&page=4
4/22/07 11:49 AM
LorrieAnn said...
Your fabric is absolutely beautiful, I see why you chose it - I hope adding a belt will salvage the dress for you. I have been eyeing the pattern, and now will try it based on your very helpful review. Thank you.
7/12/07 5:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 0000
photo
Review by PittyPat on 5/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2014-138
photo
Review by Elaray on 1/29/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us