SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3778 

4 more reviews
Viewed 939 times 
Reviewed by:quilter55
photo

 
 
About quilter55
GA USA
Member since: 9/6/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/07 9:21 PM
Last Updated:4/11/07 10:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Well, it is a lovely blue, and looks like you did a good job with it, if that's any consolation. Maybe make a smaller size and add a belt.
4/11/07 11:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I would definitely add a belt if you think it's still too big. With an unfitted dress like this, it's crucial to use your high bust measurement to pick the basic size. And on the whole, quilting fabrics are just not suitable for those big loose shapes - not drapey enough..
4/12/07 4:21 AM
BJ1400 said...
Your fabric is pretty & I too think it would look good with a belt. Thanks for the review. I just bought this pattern & the info regarding how large it runs is good to know.
4/12/07 8:26 AM
SimsSews said...
I'm sorry you're disappointed with your dress. I think it's a pretty fabric though, it would be a stunning swim suit cover up, and with a little matching heel you are sooo pool side ready.
4/12/07 9:10 AM
Soliel said...
I think you got to watch out those quilting cottons. They are very yummy and delicious looking...but they are stiffer than fashion cottons and will not give you the flowy feel or look you want. I always think "too bad" because so many of those quilting cottons are so pretty...but I stay away anyway. I bet another fabric will give you a totally different feel. LIke a lightweight cotton/poly.
4/12/07 11:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Following on the heels of Soliel's comments, I say: Yeah! :o) I'll bet if you cut it down a little bit (now that you know how the sizing runs) and made it in a nice flowy rayon or sometihng along those lines, you'd like it. You did a really nice job on it. Maybe you could wear a belt kind of at an angle over one hip. I bet it would look really cute, and if the belt's worn a little lower, it wouldn't make it blouse up too much at the top. I know what you mean though, when you're so excited about trying out a new pattern and then it doesn't turn out like you hoped. Great job anyway!
4/12/07 9:54 PM
quilter55 said...
Thanks for your comments and advice. I found a silver chain belt yesterday and I'll try it hooked loosely to one side. The weight of the chains should hold down some of the fullness. I hope!
4/13/07 7:06 AM
AnneM said...
You can see why they put a belt on it in the pattern picture. However, you will love this dress on a hot, humid summer day. (I made some princess seam dresses recently for summer wear; perhaps a style like that would have a little more shaping for you.) Another thought for this one: try adding some darts in the middle front & back midriff area. There is a vogue tunic top that has that treatment, & it would give this a little more shaping. (I also love the quilting cotton prints but don't use them because they are stiffer, and I like drapey fabric.)
4/22/07 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
this is the top I was referencing: http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/voguepatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.V7969=x&TI=20011&page=4
4/22/07 11:49 AM
LorrieAnn said...
Your fabric is absolutely beautiful, I see why you chose it - I hope adding a belt will salvage the dress for you. I have been eyeing the pattern, and now will try it based on your very helpful review. Thank you.
7/12/07 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6030

photo
by: twilltape

Review
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now