SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4978 (Suzi Chin Maggy Boutique)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2190 times 
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo

 
 
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/07 10:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
very pretty classic looking dess.
4/14/07 10:41 AM
Yarndiva said...
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I have just bought this pattern and would have never thought to try it in the material you did. Looks great! The waist detail is another great tip.
4/14/07 10:43 AM
Soliel said...
Thanks for your review. I a) have this pattern which I am excited about b) and small busted and c) pear shaped as well! So thank you for your review. How cool to dye your own trim!
4/14/07 10:49 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Wow! This dress turned out great! It looks like you attained a perfect fit (although after a few cocktails with the ladies, none would notice). The trim is just a little different in colour, which makes it a nice accent without letting it steal the show. Thanks for the "heads up" about the growing length: I would never have guessed a bias skirt could become nearly 2" longer if you let it hang long enough.
4/14/07 11:04 AM
khurtdvm said...
That's absolutely gorgeous! You should be very proud of this dress.
4/14/07 11:19 AM
PattyU said...
Your dress is simply marvelous. I have this pattern and yesterday, I had been trying to picture it in a crisper fabric than is suggested. Then today I see the review of your lovely dress. Thanks. I think your version of the dress is much better than Butterick's version.
4/14/07 11:21 AM
MissCelie said...
This dress makes me want to be on the set of 'The Great Gatsby'. It's wonderful! All summer and light. Great job.
4/14/07 11:27 AM
Lady_Mame said...
LOVELY. I think I'll do it :)
4/14/07 12:42 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking dress. You will enjoy wearing it.
4/14/07 1:04 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So very pretty!
4/14/07 2:36 PM
Erica B. said...
Just beautiful! What a fantastic job you did on this.
4/14/07 4:34 PM
Tiner W said...
Perfect! I also have this pattern, and now I really want to sew it up!
4/14/07 4:40 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very pretty, very feminine dress. Great review. Thanks !!
4/14/07 4:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous dress, terrific review !!!!!
4/14/07 6:08 PM
hannahx200 said...
Gorgeous dress, I had seem a vogue one similar but seeing how good an effect you had with a non sheer on this I might just go for this one as it's a fair bit cheaper! Enjoy your cocktails ;)
4/14/07 6:48 PM
ConnieBJ said...
great dress! This is my next project so the review - and a nicely written one it is too- is soo timely!
4/14/07 6:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very pretty!
4/14/07 8:11 PM
fizuna said...
Pretty dress and great workmanship - very RTW!
4/14/07 8:13 PM
peskymac said...
I really like the dress - it's very simple, which I love. You may have just inspired me to make it.
4/14/07 8:18 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress, very classy. Adding another pattern to my list, thanks for the review.
4/14/07 11:48 PM
rosannec said...
Love the dress. I agree with Nancywin that it is very classic. This dress is the next project in line for me and I am very glad to read your review. I have a plum jersey that I was debating whether it needs lining although your version makes some crisper materials quite viable. Thanks for being a trail blazer with this pattern!
4/15/07 1:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Just perfect. All of your changes and tweaks paid off.
4/15/07 7:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have had my eye on this dress! It looks great on you. I am petite but a little more endowed but I want a summery dress to wear out on the same patio with the girls at the country club (a little humor intended here); but I too need something for that little special occasion. May have to give this a try.
4/15/07 8:05 AM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress - good for summer. I guess you in BC are feeling closer to that than we are in Ontario - snow again today - totally fed up but then you guys had a heck of a winter so mustn't complain!
4/15/07 8:56 AM
ryan's mom said...
SO pretty! Perfect for summer.
4/15/07 11:22 AM
Marji said...
really cute dress, and great review.
4/15/07 12:26 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Thanks for the review. I went online and bought this pattern. Today, Butterick patterns are 4.99 with free shippping. This dress is nice in that it is both bare on the arms and shoulders and modest enough to avoid cleavage and allow a bra, fitted (slimming) on top and loose on the bottom. I think it's a good dress for those like me who are still insisting they will lose the weight they've gained since for me with not much padding in my ribs, the only thing I'd have to alter to fit if I ever lose the weight is the bust area, and with gathers and an underseam bust, I think this can be done while allowing the dress to look good at the larger size. Thanks!
4/15/07 2:05 PM
Tonya said...
Beautiful. You should pat yourself on the back for great pattern, fabric, and trim choices. This gorgeous little dress would easily be $60-$100 at Banana Republic or other fashion-box of choice. Brava! Brava!
4/15/07 8:29 PM
nicegirl said...
Beautiful! I am always looking for a flattering look for my small-busted pear-shaped self.
4/16/07 6:03 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress is absolutely darling....well sewn and looks so cool and airy...you are all ready for summer.
4/16/07 10:21 PM
AnneM said...
You will look smashing on that club patio! Seriously, great summer dress.
4/23/07 9:07 PM
madhatter said...
said it in your blog and say it again: LOVELY! It looks stylish and perfect for a sunday walk in summer...
5/23/07 11:04 AM
gotpeace91 said...
wow very excellent and thorough review! And the dress is so pretty on you! I agree it is great for petite pear-shaped figures. Looks beautiful!
3/13/08 0:49 AM
meditative said...
I've a similar body, so I really appreciated your review. This looks lovely. I plan to sew it to wear to my daughter's wedding this fall.
6/30/09 5:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-21

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now