SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2903 (Original 1957 Design)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2881 times 
Reviewed by:cherry
photo

 
 
About cherrystar
VA USA
Member since: 9/9/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/07 9:28 AM
Last Updated:4/16/07 9:43 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cathy45 said...
I just saw this pattern last week & loved it! but worried it would hang funny w/out a crinoline. Your dress is beautiful. Thank you for the cautions and good review. Can't wait to go get it now.
4/16/07 10:14 AM
Lady_Mame said...
WOW, that is really eye-catching, great job!
4/16/07 10:21 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice lines on this dress. The sleeve construction is very interesting -- I've never seen anything like that before.
4/16/07 10:36 AM
Soliel said...
Thanks for doing this pattern. I really enjoy seeing the real look of vintage patterns. Lovely!
4/16/07 10:49 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Vintage dresses haven't interested me until now. This is such a pretty dress; I love the neckline. Thank you for reviewing it, I doubt I would have noticed it otherwise.
4/16/07 10:50 AM
Marji said...
Wonderful looking dress. Love the fabric you used for it - very authentic feeling for the vintage style. Thanks for the review - I have this pattern but haven't opened it yet.
4/16/07 10:59 AM
Em's Summer said...
Excellent work! I love this dress. You did a great job!
4/16/07 11:13 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks for pointing out all the interesting details on this dress. It really looks much better made up than I would have thought. Excellent review, and very cute dress - hope you have a lot of fun wearing it!
4/16/07 11:31 AM
Melody said...
I love this dress. Thanks for doing the review, I had wondered about the sleeve/neckline issue.
4/16/07 12:14 PM
maryfrana said...
This is beautiful. Thanks for the heads up about the bodice.
4/16/07 12:45 PM
washer_woman said...
The dress is just beautiful! I'm glad you mentioned the sleeve/neckline detail -- it was really helpful for me! Thank you for sharing the review!
4/16/07 2:04 PM
Gsd said...
wow ! what a pretty dress. Thanks for such a good review.
4/16/07 2:48 PM
cindy-lou said...
BEAUTIFUL!
4/16/07 3:36 PM
nicegirl said...
That's gorgeous! I keep lingering over this pattern in the Vogue book but I'm not sure I'm up to handling six pieces coming together in one place! Thanks for the review.
4/16/07 5:59 PM
LorelleD said...
Thankyou for this review. Love the dress. I think it would make a lovely little black dress. You did a great job.
4/16/07 6:01 PM
Karine said...
The dress is great! I think it would be beautiful in a black silk.
4/17/07 8:42 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Beautiful and very wearable. The pique is perfect for it.
4/17/07 9:14 AM
Jane S said...
This is simply beautiful and such a fascinating construction technique, quite a feat of engineering to turn out something so lovely.
4/17/07 9:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fab dress and love the style!
4/17/07 12:29 PM
SewTwin said...
How bout Advanced Rating? This is a cooool dress! I will sew many more years before I attempt something like this!
4/18/07 1:12 AM
JaneH said...
Beautiful dress!! What is old is new again!!
4/18/07 10:45 AM
AuntieShel said...
What a beautiful dress!! Thank you for reviewing this. Even though it's "vintage," it's very wearable. Great job!!
4/18/07 12:05 PM
Annette1 said...
PRETTY, PRETTY, PRETTY! I'd BETTER have this pattern -- ha!
4/21/07 1:38 AM
belleepoque said...
oh! a beautiful dress and a very helpful review. thank you for the cautions about the difficult double-bodice, too- always good to know what one is getting in to!
5/6/07 2:18 PM
cherry said...
Interesting footnote: I was in Talbots today, and they are selling this dress! It's in a cotton print, not as heavy as mine, and they have left out the sleeves, but the double bodice feature, and the large box pleats are all there!
5/10/07 1:24 PM
cherry said...
Interesting footnote: I was in Talbots today, and they are selling this dress! It's in a cotton print, not as heavy as mine, and they have left out the sleeves, but the double bodice feature, and the large box pleats are all there!
5/10/07 2:15 PM
bobbin1 said...
I am in the process of finishing this dress i agree with all your comments, sleeves are tricky but worth perservering with, hopefully it will be ready for a wedding tomorrow
6/15/07 2:53 PM
Suz09 said...
I am currently making this pattern in the shangtung silk for my daughters graduation ball (university level). The Duppioni silk was a little too sporty when comparing the two and the broadcloth too casual. I'll be making the sleeves the afternoon. Thanks so much for the heads-up. This is really exciting!
4/3/08 12:24 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
Nice job! I've already done a taffeta version of this dress, but I'd love to do a cotton one like this.
6/2/08 9:22 PM
sewingwithmysisters said...
Lovely dress!
6/9/08 2:50 PM
NancyDancy said...
I will be making this dress as a wedding dress for my neice. Thank you for all your notes and comments. I did not see that the bodice was seperate! This should be interesting!
4/21/09 10:35 AM
janella said...
good points. Will keep them in mind as I sew. Thanks for pointing out that B is really a winter dress - I had noticed the sleeve length/bodice but hadn't associated it with a season.
5/28/09 6:56 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Cherry, I love your reviews. I came accross this one after seeing your review of the vintage Vogue Jacket that I also reviewed. I see you haven't added much recently. I'm sure you are still sewing, as your garments are super fine. Hope to see something new, soon. --C
9/13/09 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Burda 9516

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
McCall's 6078

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now