SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2903 (Original 1957 Design)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2887 times 
Reviewed by:cherry
photo

 
 
About cherrystar
VA USA
Member since: 9/9/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/07 9:28 AM
Last Updated:4/16/07 9:43 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Coastal Connie said...
Cherry, I love your reviews. I came accross this one after seeing your review of the vintage Vogue Jacket that I also reviewed. I see you haven't added much recently. I'm sure you are still sewing, as your garments are super fine. Hope to see something new, soon. --C
9/13/09 0:11 AM
janella said...
good points. Will keep them in mind as I sew. Thanks for pointing out that B is really a winter dress - I had noticed the sleeve length/bodice but hadn't associated it with a season.
5/28/09 6:56 AM
NancyDancy said...
I will be making this dress as a wedding dress for my neice. Thank you for all your notes and comments. I did not see that the bodice was seperate! This should be interesting!
4/21/09 10:35 AM
sewingwithmysisters said...
Lovely dress!
6/9/08 2:50 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
Nice job! I've already done a taffeta version of this dress, but I'd love to do a cotton one like this.
6/2/08 9:22 PM
Suz09 said...
I am currently making this pattern in the shangtung silk for my daughters graduation ball (university level). The Duppioni silk was a little too sporty when comparing the two and the broadcloth too casual. I'll be making the sleeves the afternoon. Thanks so much for the heads-up. This is really exciting!
4/3/08 12:24 PM
bobbin1 said...
I am in the process of finishing this dress i agree with all your comments, sleeves are tricky but worth perservering with, hopefully it will be ready for a wedding tomorrow
6/15/07 2:53 PM
cherry said...
Interesting footnote: I was in Talbots today, and they are selling this dress! It's in a cotton print, not as heavy as mine, and they have left out the sleeves, but the double bodice feature, and the large box pleats are all there!
5/10/07 2:15 PM
cherry said...
Interesting footnote: I was in Talbots today, and they are selling this dress! It's in a cotton print, not as heavy as mine, and they have left out the sleeves, but the double bodice feature, and the large box pleats are all there!
5/10/07 1:24 PM
belleepoque said...
oh! a beautiful dress and a very helpful review. thank you for the cautions about the difficult double-bodice, too- always good to know what one is getting in to!
5/6/07 2:18 PM
Annette1 said...
PRETTY, PRETTY, PRETTY! I'd BETTER have this pattern -- ha!
4/21/07 1:38 AM
AuntieShel said...
What a beautiful dress!! Thank you for reviewing this. Even though it's "vintage," it's very wearable. Great job!!
4/18/07 12:05 PM
JaneH said...
Beautiful dress!! What is old is new again!!
4/18/07 10:45 AM
SewTwin said...
How bout Advanced Rating? This is a cooool dress! I will sew many more years before I attempt something like this!
4/18/07 1:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fab dress and love the style!
4/17/07 12:29 PM
Jane S said...
This is simply beautiful and such a fascinating construction technique, quite a feat of engineering to turn out something so lovely.
4/17/07 9:31 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Beautiful and very wearable. The pique is perfect for it.
4/17/07 9:14 AM
Karine said...
The dress is great! I think it would be beautiful in a black silk.
4/17/07 8:42 AM
LorelleD said...
Thankyou for this review. Love the dress. I think it would make a lovely little black dress. You did a great job.
4/16/07 6:01 PM
nicegirl said...
That's gorgeous! I keep lingering over this pattern in the Vogue book but I'm not sure I'm up to handling six pieces coming together in one place! Thanks for the review.
4/16/07 5:59 PM
cindy-lou said...
BEAUTIFUL!
4/16/07 3:36 PM
Gsd said...
wow ! what a pretty dress. Thanks for such a good review.
4/16/07 2:48 PM
washer_woman said...
The dress is just beautiful! I'm glad you mentioned the sleeve/neckline detail -- it was really helpful for me! Thank you for sharing the review!
4/16/07 2:04 PM
maryfrana said...
This is beautiful. Thanks for the heads up about the bodice.
4/16/07 12:45 PM
Melody said...
I love this dress. Thanks for doing the review, I had wondered about the sleeve/neckline issue.
4/16/07 12:14 PM
Irene Q said...
Thanks for pointing out all the interesting details on this dress. It really looks much better made up than I would have thought. Excellent review, and very cute dress - hope you have a lot of fun wearing it!
4/16/07 11:31 AM
Em's Summer said...
Excellent work! I love this dress. You did a great job!
4/16/07 11:13 AM
Marji said...
Wonderful looking dress. Love the fabric you used for it - very authentic feeling for the vintage style. Thanks for the review - I have this pattern but haven't opened it yet.
4/16/07 10:59 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Vintage dresses haven't interested me until now. This is such a pretty dress; I love the neckline. Thank you for reviewing it, I doubt I would have noticed it otherwise.
4/16/07 10:50 AM
Soliel said...
Thanks for doing this pattern. I really enjoy seeing the real look of vintage patterns. Lovely!
4/16/07 10:49 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice lines on this dress. The sleeve construction is very interesting -- I've never seen anything like that before.
4/16/07 10:36 AM
Lady_Mame said...
WOW, that is really eye-catching, great job!
4/16/07 10:21 AM
cathy45 said...
I just saw this pattern last week & loved it! but worried it would hang funny w/out a crinoline. Your dress is beautiful. Thank you for the cautions and good review. Can't wait to go get it now.
4/16/07 10:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6354

photo
by: DonnaH

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now