Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> EvaDress> Sk40-5804 1945 Skirt (Ladies Skirts, circa 1945)

Viewed 670 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews: 206 (patterns: 193)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/07 8:51 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (4/25/07 8:34 PM) Reply
I would have thought drapey fabric would work better with this style. It's a really neat style, but I bet it wouldn't look good on me either (slim but short).
Yarndiva said... (4/19/07 12:29 PM) Reply
Excellent review, thank you.
Jane S said... (4/19/07 11:04 AM) Reply
Linda, bravo to you for continuing with this skirt. Zipper in a side dart would have sent me running into the hills! I too am sorry that you're disappointed in the outcome. I'm tall but that high waist and front pleat would look awful on me...more like those fussy, matronly women in the 40s movies than the lanky Katherine Hepburn image I have of myself. Help me keep my illusions safe:-)
CarolynGM said... (4/19/07 10:27 AM) Reply
It's a really lovely pattern.
Marji said... (4/19/07 10:17 AM) Reply
Linda, I'm sorry the style doesn't work, but it sounds like the process wasn't in vain. Sometimes these vintage pattern styles are just a crap-shoot. I was going to ask to see a pic of it on you when I just saw the hangar shot, but maybe because you dont like it you didn't do the modelling thing?
cathy45 said... (4/19/07 9:48 AM) Reply
After so much effort, I'm sorry this didn't work for you. Would an invisible zipper work in that dart?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2582

photo
by: CraftAddic...

Review