SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> EvaDress> Sk40-5804 1945 Skirt (Ladies Skirts, circa 1945)

Viewed 669 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 201
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 188
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/07 8:51 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I would have thought drapey fabric would work better with this style. It's a really neat style, but I bet it wouldn't look good on me either (slim but short).
4/25/07 8:34 PM
Yarndiva said...
Excellent review, thank you.
4/19/07 12:29 PM
Jane S said...
Linda, bravo to you for continuing with this skirt. Zipper in a side dart would have sent me running into the hills! I too am sorry that you're disappointed in the outcome. I'm tall but that high waist and front pleat would look awful on me...more like those fussy, matronly women in the 40s movies than the lanky Katherine Hepburn image I have of myself. Help me keep my illusions safe:-)
4/19/07 11:04 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a really lovely pattern.
4/19/07 10:27 AM
Marji said...
Linda, I'm sorry the style doesn't work, but it sounds like the process wasn't in vain. Sometimes these vintage pattern styles are just a crap-shoot. I was going to ask to see a pic of it on you when I just saw the hangar shot, but maybe because you dont like it you didn't do the modelling thing?
4/19/07 10:17 AM
cathy45 said...
After so much effort, I'm sorry this didn't work for you. Would an invisible zipper work in that dart?
4/19/07 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2010-127

photo
by: HawkeMorni...

Review
McCall's 6500

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now