SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5746 (Basic fitting sloper)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1176 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 0:55 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosannec said...
Excellent review! I have the same sloper pattern and every month or so I tell myself I need to work on it but I am still fairly intimidated. When I am feeling more ambitious, perhaps i will try it...
8/12/07 3:31 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful review!!! I'd like to try this sometime. Thanks for taking the time to write such an excellent review.
8/12/07 5:53 AM
TrixieD said...
Very informative. I've never tackled a sloper pattern, but clearly there is reason to, to understand the implications of each change a person needs to make in a pattern so a garment fits well.
8/12/07 9:26 AM
sewbehind said...
Great review, Margaret. I have a Vogue sloper pattern as well as the pant sloper. Projects! Lots of good tips. Thank you.
8/12/07 10:54 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks! I'm glad the review was informative. One other thing I could add is that doing this has made me feel more positive about the alterations I need. It really made me think about them in terms of differences from the standard, rather than "fitting problems." That in turn puts me in a better mood when doing the alterations. So I really encourage making one of these! sewbehind, thanks for mentioning the pants sloper. I do want to get to that one too....
8/14/07 11:14 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I've never needed a sloper but age and changes due to medical condition and the effects of medication are making this task necessary Thanks luckie
8/24/07 6:07 PM
Margaret said...
Luckie, I think you will find it worthwhile once you've finished it. I find that it makes any necessary alterations clearer and less intimidating, and it is really helpful for comparing to other patterns to see if they will fit properly. (So sorry I didn't see your comment earlier. I have been in Montreal & just had a ton of email when I got back so didn't notice the notification for a while.)
9/12/07 11:56 PM
causticmuse said...
This was a very informative review. I have this sloper pattern as well and am going to give it a go soon for the first time. I bought based on front width versus bust or high bust, though, at the suggestion of Nancy Zieman's Fitting Finesse book since I have wider shoulders, so I'll have to see if this was a wise choice or if I should have gone for the 12 instead of the 14. Thank you especially for the tip about fitting just the front and back of the bodice first!
2/17/08 9:30 AM
Margaret said...
The idea of choosing size by front width seems like it might be a good one. It might help avoid having to alter in the shoulder/armhole area which could end up being more trouble than altering further down. Hope it goes well, and if you do review the pattern I'll be interested to hear how that works out.
2/19/08 5:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 0191

photo
by: lbreton

Review
McCall's 6349

photo
by: ggf2005

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now