Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5746 (Basic fitting sloper) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1168 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 0:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosannec said...
Excellent review! I have the same sloper pattern and every month or so I tell myself I need to work on it but I am still fairly intimidated. When I am feeling more ambitious, perhaps i will try it...
8/12/07 3:31 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful review!!! I'd like to try this sometime. Thanks for taking the time to write such an excellent review.
8/12/07 5:53 AM
TrixieD said...
Very informative. I've never tackled a sloper pattern, but clearly there is reason to, to understand the implications of each change a person needs to make in a pattern so a garment fits well.
8/12/07 9:26 AM
sewbehind said...
Great review, Margaret. I have a Vogue sloper pattern as well as the pant sloper. Projects! Lots of good tips. Thank you.
8/12/07 10:54 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks! I'm glad the review was informative. One other thing I could add is that doing this has made me feel more positive about the alterations I need. It really made me think about them in terms of differences from the standard, rather than "fitting problems." That in turn puts me in a better mood when doing the alterations. So I really encourage making one of these! sewbehind, thanks for mentioning the pants sloper. I do want to get to that one too....
8/14/07 11:14 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I've never needed a sloper but age and changes due to medical condition and the effects of medication are making this task necessary Thanks luckie
8/24/07 6:07 PM
Margaret said...
Luckie, I think you will find it worthwhile once you've finished it. I find that it makes any necessary alterations clearer and less intimidating, and it is really helpful for comparing to other patterns to see if they will fit properly. (So sorry I didn't see your comment earlier. I have been in Montreal & just had a ton of email when I got back so didn't notice the notification for a while.)
9/12/07 11:56 PM
causticmuse said...
This was a very informative review. I have this sloper pattern as well and am going to give it a go soon for the first time. I bought based on front width versus bust or high bust, though, at the suggestion of Nancy Zieman's Fitting Finesse book since I have wider shoulders, so I'll have to see if this was a wise choice or if I should have gone for the 12 instead of the 14. Thank you especially for the tip about fitting just the front and back of the bodice first!
2/17/08 9:30 AM
Margaret said...
The idea of choosing size by front width seems like it might be a good one. It might help avoid having to alter in the shoulder/armhole area which could end up being more trouble than altering further down. Hope it goes well, and if you do review the pattern I'll be interested to hear how that works out.
2/19/08 5:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Colette Patterns 1021 Hazel
photo
Review by SusanMenta on 9/6/12
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-8
photo
Review by AmyG on 7/27/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2074 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2074 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us