Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8229 (Misses/Misses Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2059 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/07 12:48 PM
Last Updated:4/29/07 10:56 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
I like what you have done with this pattern i.e. the darts - It's a subtle thing but exactly right; in fact Vogue should probably have thought of it! Nice job.
4/28/07 1:10 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking dress, Dart Girl (You'll never hear the end of that one!)
4/28/07 1:32 PM
Tiner W said...
Adorable dress! Great job with the fitting!
4/28/07 3:08 PM
Nancy Self said...
I too like the dart. I have to add darts on patterns around the rear bottom and add ins to area from below bust area to below pevic area. Keep on doing you adjustments.....
4/28/07 3:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cute dress!
4/28/07 3:48 PM
ladybegood said...
I love it! The darts and the contrast band are great additions.
4/28/07 5:33 PM
Zaneta said...
Wow! I love your dress and the fabric is such a great print..thanks for a fantastic review
4/28/07 5:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Inspired idea, to add those darts in front. Very attractive summer dress.
4/28/07 6:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely dress CL. The additional darts really enhance the style.
4/28/07 6:19 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely looking dress Cindy - have been eyeing this fabric - does it crush easily?
4/28/07 6:33 PM
Elemenopeo said...
How pretty - love the style and think it will be fun to wear all summer.
4/28/07 6:53 PM
ryan's mom said...
So pretty! This kind of looks like a Simplicity "Wendy" pattern that has been reviewed too, but I love your version with the darts. That was such a good note about the boobs and the tent effect. Darts really turn it from flowy to fab! What a great dress!!!
4/28/07 8:38 PM
EveS said...
Will you PLEASE stop making things I need to have if you're not going to have the decency to make them in my size?! hee. No potatoes are worthy of this dress...it rocks! Now THOSE flowers are NOT froufy! I LIKE em!!!
4/28/07 9:26 PM
EveS said...
p.s. - is this dress bra-friendly?
4/28/07 9:30 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress.
4/29/07 2:00 AM
Shazza B said...
Yours is better than the original, Cindy Lou. Have fun in it!
4/29/07 2:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This dress keeps cropping up in many places I visit on internet. I like your review and think I may have to get this one!
4/29/07 7:37 AM
Marji said...
Perfect for now, but yes, back to the 60's! Great addition with the darts.
4/29/07 7:55 AM
Huldra said...
Your version with the darts looks so much better! Good idea.
4/29/07 7:57 AM
mad4sewing said...
Oh my gosh...that is so 60's funky chic! I just love it!
4/29/07 10:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
Thanks for the sweet comments, guys! Clin, I thought this fabric would wrinkle horribly, but I just washed adn dried the finished dress. It needed ironing, but was NOT hard to iron at all (the toughest part was the neckline). It keeps its good looks after washing, too. Eve, you crack me up! This dress is surprisingly bra-friendly-- I'll post a pic wearing it when DH gets home from his camping trip.
4/29/07 11:09 AM
Em's Summer said...
That's a happy and fun dress! It looks soo cute! I just made a dress with a neckband and slight gathers, too, but luckily darts were drafted into the vintage 60s pattern. Great job and great review!
4/29/07 11:18 AM
MissCelie said...
This fabric is at my local fabric store and I've been eyeing it for a month now. It looks delicious made up. I feel my wallet crying....
4/29/07 11:44 AM
LBJ said...
I just gotta get this pattern. I would've never given it a second look and now there are 2 great reviews of it. I love love love your dress!
4/29/07 2:04 PM
Gold said...
Come on summer!!You did a great job.
4/29/07 3:25 PM
OP Gal said...
Very cool, indeed, DartGirl! Wonderful choice of fabric. I thought it looked familiar, so when you said it was from Fabric Mart, I knew I'd seen it and contemplated buying it. You'll feel so breezy and summery wearing this dress.
4/29/07 5:45 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks Cindy for the info on the material - I guess Fabric Mart will be wondering what happened when a dozen or so orders come in for this fabric - I really like it - pretty and summery but I was wondering if it would crush like crazy - now I know it won't so "hi ho hi ho it's off to Fabric Mart I go"!
4/29/07 8:22 PM
jnamcd said...
What a fun dress! Awesome job!
4/29/07 11:05 PM
Jane S said...
You made this chic and so special, looks fantastic.
4/30/07 7:57 AM
janella said...
ha ha.. you're so right about potato sacks and tentpoles. Made this dress from cotton..don't really know why..wasn't thinking! Yours looks great... even the contrast neckband, which looked so weird on mine, I had to change it :)
4/30/07 2:45 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I absolutely adore the fabric! It's totally something I would pick! Great job! I have had my eye on this pattern for a while too...
4/30/07 8:55 PM
nicegirl said...
That looks fantastic! The darts are necessary on this one--I would have passed it by in the pattern book because of its sackiness but you definitely made it work.
5/1/07 1:31 PM
AnneM said...
Cindy-Lou, you are adorable. That is such a cute dress, and I'm certain it looks great on you. DartGirl, to the recue!
5/6/07 3:08 PM
madhatter said...
CUUUUTE - and the fabric is hot-hot-hot for this dress... absolutely made for it :)
5/23/07 11:06 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice! it looks *much* better with the darts!
6/6/07 11:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

The Maker's Journal Bunny Bag Bunny Bag
photo
Review by ajhewing on 8/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by SueV on 2/5/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us