SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP-104 (Cape Butterfly Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1445 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/07 3:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Great top. Not too good on the large sizing, though, since I'm pretty small. I've been thinking I should get decorative thread for hemming w/ my serger.
5/10/07 8:57 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann, you inspired me to get going on this top! I'm tracing it off right now. I love the ties moved over to the side - very chic.
5/6/07 2:31 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
deleted --double
5/3/07 2:01 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Thanks--Sizing is an absolute mystery...you can't use the RTW size and often using the size indicated by body measurements on the pattern envelope results in a garment WAY too big. I guess it is all about ease. Occasionally a pattern company will put pertinent finished garment measurements on the pattern envelope, but as many have noted...this often is inaccurate when compared to the tissue patterns! And stores aren't too crazy about you pulling out the tissue patterns to look at size before you buy!
5/3/07 11:53 AM
Ann Smith said...
chrisquilts: about sizing..... I base most sizing choices on my high bust measurement which puts me in a smaller size than fits anywhere else. It is the size I wore 25 pounds and 35 years ago. The theory is that above the full bust I haven't grown much. It is harder to change the fit in the neck and shoulders than elsewhere so I add on for the bust, waist, and tummy. I also measure the pattern and compare with similar clothing I already have. Hope this helps you some. And yes, large seam allowances at the side seams.
5/3/07 9:40 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Ann I love everything you sew. Everything fits you SO well. Can you explain you sizing theory? As I read your reviews, you never seem to sew the same size twice and also you mention sewing smaller sizes than what the pattern envelope might suggest for you. Do you use larger seam allowances? smaller seam allowances?
5/3/07 9:32 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking top
5/3/07 9:32 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Absolutely beautiful!
5/3/07 8:54 AM
marjenann said...
Just love this top!! Great fabric choice too! Definitely on my "wish list"!
5/3/07 7:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Love this style and you wear it well. I would like to try the pattern, based on your review.
5/3/07 6:35 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top Ann, it looks fantastic on you!
5/3/07 3:41 AM
KarmenG said...
Love it! The back is wonderful...thanks for the great review.
5/3/07 0:34 AM
Soliel said...
That's a very fashionable top, Ann.
5/2/07 11:42 PM
hongkongshopper said...
this is a very cute top! Love the print with the style. I wouldn't worry too much about the reverse showing.
5/2/07 11:36 PM
Carolyndh said...
I'm with the others--this is a very elegant top and you look wonderful in it.
5/2/07 11:21 PM
lmg said...
Ooh I like this version. Elegant and retro as you say. It's very flattering on you. Thanks for the review.
5/2/07 10:05 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, you always sew such gorgeous clothes and this is no exception. It really looks lovely and just that little bit different and unique. Yes, the cape collar and the tie neck are certainly flattering and graceful. You look fabulous in this top!
5/2/07 8:43 PM
Lori V said...
This is so pretty, I love it on you. I also love your garden.
5/2/07 7:47 PM
kim*brown said...
I really like this, and your choice of fabric print is wonderful with it.
5/2/07 6:45 PM
Sharon M said...
I really like this one! I made the cowl for my daughter and I've been hoping to find time to make this one for me. Seeing how great it looks on you just pushed it back up to the top.
5/2/07 6:11 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Luv the print. Very flattering on you.
5/2/07 6:07 PM
OP Gal said...
Your top is beautiful and you look wonderful in it. Thanks for all the detail in your review.
5/2/07 5:56 PM
SueV said...
I like this one much better then the cowl. This looks really nice on you.
5/2/07 4:13 PM
Littlehuntingcreek said...
my suspicion is that they meant to write TIE - because one view does have a tie at the neck, but hap a typo and it came out as TOE. It looks beautiful on you .
5/2/07 3:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
This view is just gorgeous on you. The capelet thing is wonderful.
5/2/07 3:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2080

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now