SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP-104 (Cape Butterfly Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1444 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/07 3:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
This view is just gorgeous on you. The capelet thing is wonderful.
5/2/07 3:44 PM
Littlehuntingcreek said...
my suspicion is that they meant to write TIE - because one view does have a tie at the neck, but hap a typo and it came out as TOE. It looks beautiful on you .
5/2/07 3:59 PM
SueV said...
I like this one much better then the cowl. This looks really nice on you.
5/2/07 4:13 PM
OP Gal said...
Your top is beautiful and you look wonderful in it. Thanks for all the detail in your review.
5/2/07 5:56 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Luv the print. Very flattering on you.
5/2/07 6:07 PM
Sharon M said...
I really like this one! I made the cowl for my daughter and I've been hoping to find time to make this one for me. Seeing how great it looks on you just pushed it back up to the top.
5/2/07 6:11 PM
kim*brown said...
I really like this, and your choice of fabric print is wonderful with it.
5/2/07 6:45 PM
Lori V said...
This is so pretty, I love it on you. I also love your garden.
5/2/07 7:47 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, you always sew such gorgeous clothes and this is no exception. It really looks lovely and just that little bit different and unique. Yes, the cape collar and the tie neck are certainly flattering and graceful. You look fabulous in this top!
5/2/07 8:43 PM
lmg said...
Ooh I like this version. Elegant and retro as you say. It's very flattering on you. Thanks for the review.
5/2/07 10:05 PM
Carolyndh said...
I'm with the others--this is a very elegant top and you look wonderful in it.
5/2/07 11:21 PM
hongkongshopper said...
this is a very cute top! Love the print with the style. I wouldn't worry too much about the reverse showing.
5/2/07 11:36 PM
Soliel said...
That's a very fashionable top, Ann.
5/2/07 11:42 PM
KarmenG said...
Love it! The back is wonderful...thanks for the great review.
5/3/07 0:34 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous top Ann, it looks fantastic on you!
5/3/07 3:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Love this style and you wear it well. I would like to try the pattern, based on your review.
5/3/07 6:35 AM
marjenann said...
Just love this top!! Great fabric choice too! Definitely on my "wish list"!
5/3/07 7:45 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Absolutely beautiful!
5/3/07 8:54 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking top
5/3/07 9:32 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Ann I love everything you sew. Everything fits you SO well. Can you explain you sizing theory? As I read your reviews, you never seem to sew the same size twice and also you mention sewing smaller sizes than what the pattern envelope might suggest for you. Do you use larger seam allowances? smaller seam allowances?
5/3/07 9:32 AM
Ann Smith said...
chrisquilts: about sizing..... I base most sizing choices on my high bust measurement which puts me in a smaller size than fits anywhere else. It is the size I wore 25 pounds and 35 years ago. The theory is that above the full bust I haven't grown much. It is harder to change the fit in the neck and shoulders than elsewhere so I add on for the bust, waist, and tummy. I also measure the pattern and compare with similar clothing I already have. Hope this helps you some. And yes, large seam allowances at the side seams.
5/3/07 9:40 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Thanks--Sizing is an absolute mystery...you can't use the RTW size and often using the size indicated by body measurements on the pattern envelope results in a garment WAY too big. I guess it is all about ease. Occasionally a pattern company will put pertinent finished garment measurements on the pattern envelope, but as many have noted...this often is inaccurate when compared to the tissue patterns! And stores aren't too crazy about you pulling out the tissue patterns to look at size before you buy!
5/3/07 11:53 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
deleted --double
5/3/07 2:01 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann, you inspired me to get going on this top! I'm tracing it off right now. I love the ties moved over to the side - very chic.
5/6/07 2:31 PM
AnneM said...
Great top. Not too good on the large sizing, though, since I'm pretty small. I've been thinking I should get decorative thread for hemming w/ my serger.
5/10/07 8:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2256

photo
by: im2melo4u

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now