Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4081 (1940s retro jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1387 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/07 10:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathyw said...
Lovely jacket; I really like the fabric. I was disappointed to go to the H&S website and not see any way to order by internet--it all looked so good! But I also like how your keyhole buttonholes turned out--were they machine or hand?
5/5/07 11:11 AM
Riordan said...
How lovely!! Very pretty jacket--your fabric is superb!
5/5/07 11:52 AM
Annika said...
Whoa! That jacket is marvelous!
5/5/07 12:25 PM
BJ1400 said...
I love your jacket. Great job & great fit.
5/5/07 12:48 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I clicked on the photo and for a nansecond, thought I was looking at the pattern envelope. Perfect jacket. Congratulations.
5/5/07 1:02 PM
lmg said...
Just gorgeous. I like this view of the pattern.
5/5/07 1:41 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's a beautiful jacket worthy of that fabric!
5/5/07 3:55 PM
MissCelie said...
That is just beautiful.
5/5/07 4:04 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/5/07 6:05 PM
FloraNature said...
Lovely jacket and fabric!
5/5/07 7:02 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Nice job!! :)
5/5/07 7:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very shapely and smooth fitting. Gorgeous work. Your keyhole buttonholes are awesome!
5/5/07 8:20 PM
jhansby said...
beautiful jacket!!
5/6/07 1:07 AM
cakehole said...
Thank you all very much for your comments - Kathyw, the buttonholes are done by hand. Sorry about the H&S website - it's a very old-fashioned place and they would never dream of selling online!
5/6/07 6:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Like how you handled the buttonholes. I like the look of the jacket without the bows.
5/6/07 7:30 AM
blue mooney said...
Niiiiice!
5/6/07 7:55 AM
yummymummy38 said...
very professional looking jacket, lovely style and fit on you! Clever of you to have the option to make bows for a different look, I like it the way it is too.
5/6/07 9:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful jacket - I lust for your fabric!
5/6/07 9:39 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket in beautiful fabric. I like the alternative to the snaps, too.
5/6/07 10:45 AM
belleepoque said...
wow. that really is fantastic-so perfectly fitted and crisp! thanks for the great review.
5/6/07 2:28 PM
Erica B. said...
that jacket is fantastic!
5/6/07 2:37 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Such a stylish jacket with a perfect fit!
5/6/07 3:13 PM
regine said...
Beautiful jacket - looks as if an expensive tailor had made it.
5/7/07 2:47 AM
madhatter said...
a wonderful jacket, and so professionally made!
5/7/07 6:36 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice jacket, and that fabric sure does look high quality.
5/13/07 9:19 AM
textilogist said...
Beautiful fabric-great looking jacket
10/24/07 3:45 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful jacket. I bought this pattern over the weekend and knew someone at PR would have a review! The fabric is gorgeous.
2/18/08 3:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 1878
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 2/25/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5720
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 11/12/08
Read Review

McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us