SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4469 (Front Wrap-Side Tie Blouses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1056 times 
Reviewed by:Talleymom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Talleymomstar
TX USA
Member since: 10/11/06
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/07 2:25 PM
Last Updated:5/8/07 2:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ody said...
Oh good, I am the first one to leave a comment! I read this review and the link to the other review. I liked the Butterick top so well on you that I wrote the number down. I agree with one of the commenters on the link review that you should try small shoulder pads, very slim ones. I like the fabric and I really like the blouse on you. You should go read Debbie Cooks comments to Sherill about her tops in the Plus spring sewing thread bc it truly applies to you. We are only seeing a picture of you chopped in half, which does not give a balanced perspective. I think you are too hard on yourself and the blouse is very nice. You are a beautiful woman and I just think this blouse could be a little larger at the bottom. I think you should know that you are better looking in your clothes than you think you are.
5/8/07 3:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like wrap tops and for our body type they work very nicely. I think you should sew it again, just use a heavier fabric that won't sit into every roll. You did a great job on your alterations, I couldn't get this one to work for me but have on other wrap styles.
5/8/07 5:01 PM
squilts said...
Great color! I agree with Ody that seeing a full length view would give you better perspective of how other people would see it on you.
5/8/07 5:51 PM
moss said...
I am sorry you don't think it looks good, I think it looks really pretty on you. I hope you find something you are comfortable in, but your blouse (to an impartial observer!) is VERY nice!!
5/9/07 9:04 AM
kim*brown said...
I really like it too, the color and style look very flattering on you.
5/9/07 1:44 PM
mlt said...
Another vote for lovely :)
5/9/07 8:53 PM
Talleymom said...
I wore this top today, and I was shocked at the number of positive comments I received. I am a perfectionist, and my own worst critic. I discoved after wearing this for a period of time today, that the waistline is about 2 inches to high. I think I will make this again with the waist lower and see what happens. I will post the pictures when I get it done. Right now I must clean my sewing room before I begin another project.
5/9/07 10:32 PM
AnneM said...
Well, I have to disagree - I think it looks like a great style for you. I'm just reading the comments, and it looks like everyone else thinks so also! Glad you wore the top despite your misgivings. Great job.
5/15/07 10:46 AM
SewTwin said...
Talleymom, I agree with the others. We have to try different styles to find what works the best for your mind & body. Sherrill is right about the "Heavy" slinky. Look at the high-end stores, and they use the "heavy" slinky in the expensivc designs. I know the "Twiggy girls" are envious of your chest. Keep it up, you will get there....
6/6/07 1:07 AM
Mancity0327 said...
Thank you for your review. I find it really annoying when even the plus size patterns don't use a picture of a really plus size woman - its so hard to get an idea of its suitability.
4/13/08 9:57 AM
lbremers said...
I was planning to make this for my size 18 adult daughter. We are both full busted so I have to do a FBA on everything I sew. I hate the too low necklines and was wondering if anyone knew how I could raise the neckline so a cami isn't necessary. ALSO, I've lost the 2nd page of the pattern instructions. I would be willing to pay postage and a reasonable fee if anyone has this pattern and could help me out getting the instruction page I'm missing.
3/7/13 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 7610

photo
by: Ducky D

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now