SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 00000 out of print 

4 more reviews
Viewed 723 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/07 10:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Stunning with the gold; I'm certain equally stunning w/ the black. I think it's more classic looking with the plain sleeves, and would look trendier / flashier with the gold cuffs (I'm imagining those fold back cuffs - French Cuffs, I guess.) My vote (and it looks like I'm in agreement w/ most other comments) is keep it the way it is.
5/31/07 4:48 PM
MarieT said...
The jacket is lovely. My inclination would be to go with the black cuffs for versatility.... or you could go with detachable cuffs and make a set of each... no decision required.
5/23/07 10:12 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Clin, I'm glad you got good use out of this pattern, it's a beautiful jacket. Have you thought about making detachable cuffs? These have a row of buttons on the inside sleeve hem and buttonholes on a band cut onto the cuffs - you button the cuffs on the inside then fold the cuffs up and over to the outside of the sleeve.
5/22/07 5:07 AM
Karine said...
What a lovely jacket and skirt. The embroidered wool is gorgeous.
5/21/07 10:59 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, MY! This is just beautiful. I love it just the way it is (without the gold cuffs). I so admire your talent.
5/20/07 6:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely stunning jacket!! Thanks for another wonderful review.
5/20/07 5:41 PM
Enid E said...
Your jacket is stunning! Love the contrast collar. Your sewing is always so stylish!
5/20/07 3:41 PM
Carolyndh said...
A stunning designer suit with really striking fabric and colors! Wow, I imagine you feel wonderful wearing this suit.
5/20/07 12:54 PM
KarmenG said...
Loveky jacket - wonderful workmanship. I agree with the others. As it stands now the eye goes up to the collar and will go to your face. I think you've got it right as it is.
5/20/07 11:33 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks all - I am glad to get all your opinions and will leave the cuffs off - that side of me that said "too much" was right!!
5/20/07 9:01 AM
snowflake girl said...
Very very nice. I agree that without the gold cuffs you could go farther with it.
5/20/07 8:22 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
5/20/07 7:42 AM
annsew65 said...
Wow, what gorgeous fabric and your pattern is perfect for it! I like it without the gold on the cuffs, I think. This way I think it would work well with either skirt you decide to make. Your sewing is wonderful!
5/20/07 4:42 AM
babydoll said...
don't add gold cuffs the jacket looks good as it is.
5/20/07 4:21 AM
CASJ said...
Beautiful jacket, gold cuffs would be too much. It is perfect right now.
5/20/07 0:40 AM
Aixoise said...
Less is more. It's perfect as it is--understated and elegant. I agree that it would be more versatile w/o the contrast cuffs. Lovely jacket!
5/20/07 0:19 AM
jewelea said...
A jacket to be proud of. The contrast collar looks especially nice.
5/19/07 11:31 PM
Nancywin said...
beautiful fabric - very cool coat. I think the gold cuffs would look lovely - but it depends on your figure. I'm hippy, so wouldn't want extra emphasis there.
5/19/07 11:23 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...stunning jacket!
5/19/07 9:28 PM
Kay Y said...
The jacket as is looks lovely. While the gold contrast cuffs would probably look fine, I think they might be too much, since you already have gold running through the fabric. Very nice jacket!
5/19/07 8:36 PM
JanineM said...
beautiful, I agree with Irina , I think it is perfect as is.
5/19/07 8:15 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
GORGEOUS! Great work.
5/19/07 8:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous looking jacket. The redrafted collar is perfect. The fabric and contrast are stunning. I pondered your question about adding contrast cuffs, and I, personally, think the jacket should stay the way it is. The gold collar adds plenty of interest; more gold might make it less versatile.
5/19/07 7:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

My Image Magazine M1152

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

More Info