SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 00000 out of print 

4 more reviews
Viewed 722 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/07 10:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Fabulous looking jacket. The redrafted collar is perfect. The fabric and contrast are stunning. I pondered your question about adding contrast cuffs, and I, personally, think the jacket should stay the way it is. The gold collar adds plenty of interest; more gold might make it less versatile.
5/19/07 7:56 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
GORGEOUS! Great work.
5/19/07 8:11 PM
JanineM said...
beautiful, I agree with Irina , I think it is perfect as is.
5/19/07 8:15 PM
Kay Y said...
The jacket as is looks lovely. While the gold contrast cuffs would probably look fine, I think they might be too much, since you already have gold running through the fabric. Very nice jacket!
5/19/07 8:36 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...stunning jacket!
5/19/07 9:28 PM
Nancywin said...
beautiful fabric - very cool coat. I think the gold cuffs would look lovely - but it depends on your figure. I'm hippy, so wouldn't want extra emphasis there.
5/19/07 11:23 PM
jewelea said...
A jacket to be proud of. The contrast collar looks especially nice.
5/19/07 11:31 PM
Aixoise said...
Less is more. It's perfect as it is--understated and elegant. I agree that it would be more versatile w/o the contrast cuffs. Lovely jacket!
5/20/07 0:19 AM
CASJ said...
Beautiful jacket, gold cuffs would be too much. It is perfect right now.
5/20/07 0:40 AM
babydoll said...
don't add gold cuffs the jacket looks good as it is.
5/20/07 4:21 AM
annsew65 said...
Wow, what gorgeous fabric and your pattern is perfect for it! I like it without the gold on the cuffs, I think. This way I think it would work well with either skirt you decide to make. Your sewing is wonderful!
5/20/07 4:42 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
5/20/07 7:42 AM
snowflake girl said...
Very very nice. I agree that without the gold cuffs you could go farther with it.
5/20/07 8:22 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks all - I am glad to get all your opinions and will leave the cuffs off - that side of me that said "too much" was right!!
5/20/07 9:01 AM
KarmenG said...
Loveky jacket - wonderful workmanship. I agree with the others. As it stands now the eye goes up to the collar and will go to your face. I think you've got it right as it is.
5/20/07 11:33 AM
Carolyndh said...
A stunning designer suit with really striking fabric and colors! Wow, I imagine you feel wonderful wearing this suit.
5/20/07 12:54 PM
Enid E said...
Your jacket is stunning! Love the contrast collar. Your sewing is always so stylish!
5/20/07 3:41 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely stunning jacket!! Thanks for another wonderful review.
5/20/07 5:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, MY! This is just beautiful. I love it just the way it is (without the gold cuffs). I so admire your talent.
5/20/07 6:00 PM
Karine said...
What a lovely jacket and skirt. The embroidered wool is gorgeous.
5/21/07 10:59 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Clin, I'm glad you got good use out of this pattern, it's a beautiful jacket. Have you thought about making detachable cuffs? These have a row of buttons on the inside sleeve hem and buttonholes on a band cut onto the cuffs - you button the cuffs on the inside then fold the cuffs up and over to the outside of the sleeve.
5/22/07 5:07 AM
MarieT said...
The jacket is lovely. My inclination would be to go with the black cuffs for versatility.... or you could go with detachable cuffs and make a set of each... no decision required.
5/23/07 10:12 PM
AnneM said...
Stunning with the gold; I'm certain equally stunning w/ the black. I think it's more classic looking with the plain sleeves, and would look trendier / flashier with the gold cuffs (I'm imagining those fold back cuffs - French Cuffs, I guess.) My vote (and it looks like I'm in agreement w/ most other comments) is keep it the way it is.
5/31/07 4:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now