Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2006-115 (Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1554 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/07 11:56 PM
Last Updated:6/2/07 6:10 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seaspur said...
Aha, so you are the one who bought all that brown rayon/lycra I had my eye on at Fabricana. Can't wait to see the pictures, I've been wanting to make this since it came out last year.
5/22/07 0:47 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for a very helpful review. Looking forward to the pictures so I can see it in all its glory.
5/22/07 3:20 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Can't wait to see a photo! I've often thought of making that dress, but never quite got around to it. Do you think it would work in a woven since it's got all the shaping darts already?
5/22/07 6:17 AM
pterion said...
What a great review - and such a teaser! Please please post a photo! The dress sounds wonderful.
5/22/07 10:17 AM
sewbehind said...
I agree, you are a tease, telling us that it is the greatest fitting bodice and then NOT showing us a picture. Show us!!! Great review.
5/22/07 10:28 AM
nicegirl said...
High praise for this dress! I'd love to see it on you, but I have no doubt it's fabulous.
5/22/07 1:04 PM
Vivienne said...
Squirellypoo, this would not work for me in a woven. Perhaps it might for you, though, because you are slender.
5/28/07 0:22 AM
carolineG said...
please do post some pics!
5/28/07 9:03 AM
motomoda said...
You have almost inspired me to make this - just having trouble justifying yet another pattern in the stash. Not being in the USA I have no qualms about looking like a UPS delivery person and I think brown is a very good choice!
5/29/07 3:41 AM
janella said...
hehaheha.. your review is so funny!... open heart surgery indeed! I shall have to investigate this pattern. I've tried the McCalls 5314 - it's about 8/10.
5/29/07 5:01 AM
AlisonF said...
What a great review! I love a wrap dress and this one looks fab.
5/29/07 6:59 AM
MissCelie said...
Your enthusiasm and review are awesome!
5/29/07 7:34 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Let me get this straight- You Love The Pattern!! Great review Vivienne and what a wonderful dress! congrats
5/29/07 7:57 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Tell your husband there is a parcel for him and that he just needs to *unwrap* it....;-) great review!
5/29/07 8:23 AM
Deepika said...
What a great review.
5/29/07 10:05 AM
sewbehind said...
Ah, you came through with the pictures. Thank you. It looks just as lovely as you said it did.
5/29/07 10:17 AM
Marji said...
Love the review - :) hopeing to see a better pic someday, but in it's fuzzyness it looks great and your pattern recommendation is appreciated.
5/29/07 1:25 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for this thorough review. I, too, am currently embarking on the search for the perfect wrap dress, and, having recently acquired one of the DVF designs, am starting with that. I will be sure to include this Burda pattern in my investigation.
5/29/07 3:16 PM
beangirl said...
What a great review, thanks for comparing your various pattern options!
5/29/07 10:13 PM
touran said...
Vivienne, that's just beautiful. The drape and pleats look great.
6/2/07 7:03 PM
MareeAlison said...
Congrats on your lovely dress. Very flattering.
6/2/07 10:01 PM
Lori V said...
Very beautiful
6/3/07 0:31 AM
Athene said...
Your dress looks great. Thank you for the review. Unfortunately I only get to fabricana about once a year as I live on the island - but my trek there is coming up soon - I hope to find some great looking jerseys there to inspire me.
6/3/07 1:29 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very very nice!
6/3/07 7:37 AM
appleC said...
What a beautiful dress! Thanks for sharing the tip on neck binding.
6/3/07 8:09 AM
nicegirl said...
Oooooh, it looks great on you.
6/3/07 7:29 PM
mad4sewing said...
I love that style dress. It's my favorite cut! Pretty warm chocolate brown color too!
6/4/07 5:11 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Wow, I have the issue of BWOF that this was in and have been hoping to see it turn out as great as yours!!!! I can't wait to make it in a wool jersey for winter now :) Thanks!!
6/7/07 9:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look absolutely sensational in this dress! Very nicely constructed!
8/2/08 11:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Colette Patterns 1003 Parfait
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/14/14
Read Review

Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size )
Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )
Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6964 Lingerie
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/26/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us