SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-115 (Wrap Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1556 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo

 
 
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/07 11:56 PM
Last Updated:6/2/07 6:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You look absolutely sensational in this dress! Very nicely constructed!
8/2/08 11:19 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Wow, I have the issue of BWOF that this was in and have been hoping to see it turn out as great as yours!!!! I can't wait to make it in a wool jersey for winter now :) Thanks!!
6/7/07 9:25 AM
mad4sewing said...
I love that style dress. It's my favorite cut! Pretty warm chocolate brown color too!
6/4/07 5:11 PM
nicegirl said...
Oooooh, it looks great on you.
6/3/07 7:29 PM
appleC said...
What a beautiful dress! Thanks for sharing the tip on neck binding.
6/3/07 8:09 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very very nice!
6/3/07 7:37 AM
Athene said...
Your dress looks great. Thank you for the review. Unfortunately I only get to fabricana about once a year as I live on the island - but my trek there is coming up soon - I hope to find some great looking jerseys there to inspire me.
6/3/07 1:29 AM
Lori V said...
Very beautiful
6/3/07 0:31 AM
MareeAlison said...
Congrats on your lovely dress. Very flattering.
6/2/07 10:01 PM
touran said...
Vivienne, that's just beautiful. The drape and pleats look great.
6/2/07 7:03 PM
beangirl said...
What a great review, thanks for comparing your various pattern options!
5/29/07 10:13 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for this thorough review. I, too, am currently embarking on the search for the perfect wrap dress, and, having recently acquired one of the DVF designs, am starting with that. I will be sure to include this Burda pattern in my investigation.
5/29/07 3:16 PM
Marji said...
Love the review - :) hopeing to see a better pic someday, but in it's fuzzyness it looks great and your pattern recommendation is appreciated.
5/29/07 1:25 PM
sewbehind said...
Ah, you came through with the pictures. Thank you. It looks just as lovely as you said it did.
5/29/07 10:17 AM
Deepika said...
What a great review.
5/29/07 10:05 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Tell your husband there is a parcel for him and that he just needs to *unwrap* it....;-) great review!
5/29/07 8:23 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Let me get this straight- You Love The Pattern!! Great review Vivienne and what a wonderful dress! congrats
5/29/07 7:57 AM
MissCelie said...
Your enthusiasm and review are awesome!
5/29/07 7:34 AM
AlisonF said...
What a great review! I love a wrap dress and this one looks fab.
5/29/07 6:59 AM
janella said...
hehaheha.. your review is so funny!... open heart surgery indeed! I shall have to investigate this pattern. I've tried the McCalls 5314 - it's about 8/10.
5/29/07 5:01 AM
motomoda said...
You have almost inspired me to make this - just having trouble justifying yet another pattern in the stash. Not being in the USA I have no qualms about looking like a UPS delivery person and I think brown is a very good choice!
5/29/07 3:41 AM
carolineG said...
please do post some pics!
5/28/07 9:03 AM
Vivienne said...
Squirellypoo, this would not work for me in a woven. Perhaps it might for you, though, because you are slender.
5/28/07 0:22 AM
nicegirl said...
High praise for this dress! I'd love to see it on you, but I have no doubt it's fabulous.
5/22/07 1:04 PM
sewbehind said...
I agree, you are a tease, telling us that it is the greatest fitting bodice and then NOT showing us a picture. Show us!!! Great review.
5/22/07 10:28 AM
pterion said...
What a great review - and such a teaser! Please please post a photo! The dress sounds wonderful.
5/22/07 10:17 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Can't wait to see a photo! I've often thought of making that dress, but never quite got around to it. Do you think it would work in a woven since it's got all the shaping darts already?
5/22/07 6:17 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for a very helpful review. Looking forward to the pictures so I can see it in all its glory.
5/22/07 3:20 AM
Seaspur said...
Aha, so you are the one who bought all that brown rayon/lycra I had my eye on at Fabricana. Can't wait to see the pictures, I've been wanting to make this since it came out last year.
5/22/07 0:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 9651

photo
by: iSewQuiltA...

Review
New Look 6120

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now