SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-115 (Wrap Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1554 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo

 
 
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/07 11:56 PM
Last Updated:6/2/07 6:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seaspur said...
Aha, so you are the one who bought all that brown rayon/lycra I had my eye on at Fabricana. Can't wait to see the pictures, I've been wanting to make this since it came out last year.
5/22/07 0:47 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for a very helpful review. Looking forward to the pictures so I can see it in all its glory.
5/22/07 3:20 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Can't wait to see a photo! I've often thought of making that dress, but never quite got around to it. Do you think it would work in a woven since it's got all the shaping darts already?
5/22/07 6:17 AM
pterion said...
What a great review - and such a teaser! Please please post a photo! The dress sounds wonderful.
5/22/07 10:17 AM
sewbehind said...
I agree, you are a tease, telling us that it is the greatest fitting bodice and then NOT showing us a picture. Show us!!! Great review.
5/22/07 10:28 AM
nicegirl said...
High praise for this dress! I'd love to see it on you, but I have no doubt it's fabulous.
5/22/07 1:04 PM
Vivienne said...
Squirellypoo, this would not work for me in a woven. Perhaps it might for you, though, because you are slender.
5/28/07 0:22 AM
carolineG said...
please do post some pics!
5/28/07 9:03 AM
motomoda said...
You have almost inspired me to make this - just having trouble justifying yet another pattern in the stash. Not being in the USA I have no qualms about looking like a UPS delivery person and I think brown is a very good choice!
5/29/07 3:41 AM
janella said...
hehaheha.. your review is so funny!... open heart surgery indeed! I shall have to investigate this pattern. I've tried the McCalls 5314 - it's about 8/10.
5/29/07 5:01 AM
AlisonF said...
What a great review! I love a wrap dress and this one looks fab.
5/29/07 6:59 AM
MissCelie said...
Your enthusiasm and review are awesome!
5/29/07 7:34 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Let me get this straight- You Love The Pattern!! Great review Vivienne and what a wonderful dress! congrats
5/29/07 7:57 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Tell your husband there is a parcel for him and that he just needs to *unwrap* it....;-) great review!
5/29/07 8:23 AM
Deepika said...
What a great review.
5/29/07 10:05 AM
sewbehind said...
Ah, you came through with the pictures. Thank you. It looks just as lovely as you said it did.
5/29/07 10:17 AM
Marji said...
Love the review - :) hopeing to see a better pic someday, but in it's fuzzyness it looks great and your pattern recommendation is appreciated.
5/29/07 1:25 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for this thorough review. I, too, am currently embarking on the search for the perfect wrap dress, and, having recently acquired one of the DVF designs, am starting with that. I will be sure to include this Burda pattern in my investigation.
5/29/07 3:16 PM
beangirl said...
What a great review, thanks for comparing your various pattern options!
5/29/07 10:13 PM
touran said...
Vivienne, that's just beautiful. The drape and pleats look great.
6/2/07 7:03 PM
MareeAlison said...
Congrats on your lovely dress. Very flattering.
6/2/07 10:01 PM
Lori V said...
Very beautiful
6/3/07 0:31 AM
Athene said...
Your dress looks great. Thank you for the review. Unfortunately I only get to fabricana about once a year as I live on the island - but my trek there is coming up soon - I hope to find some great looking jerseys there to inspire me.
6/3/07 1:29 AM
Schnauzer said...
Very very nice!
6/3/07 7:37 AM
appleC said...
What a beautiful dress! Thanks for sharing the tip on neck binding.
6/3/07 8:09 AM
nicegirl said...
Oooooh, it looks great on you.
6/3/07 7:29 PM
mad4sewing said...
I love that style dress. It's my favorite cut! Pretty warm chocolate brown color too!
6/4/07 5:11 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Wow, I have the issue of BWOF that this was in and have been hoping to see it turn out as great as yours!!!! I can't wait to make it in a wool jersey for winter now :) Thanks!!
6/7/07 9:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look absolutely sensational in this dress! Very nicely constructed!
8/2/08 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now