SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2858 (Retro 40s Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2405 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 10:07 AM
Last Updated:5/31/07 7:58 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Squeeful said...
The skirt center front is probably cut as two rather than on the fold for three possible and not dissimilar reasons. Reason one is that fabric widths were narrower, often 36-39 inches. Reason two is that by 1944 fabric rationing had hit the US and women were making new dresses out of scavenged fabric when and where they could. A common source of unrationed fabric was flour sacks. As flour had to be shipped and sold in cloth sacks, flour companies quickly caught on that women would reuse the sacks for clothes so they competed by printing their sacks with pretty, fashionable prints. Reason three is economy and war-era law. Clothes that could be cut from a minimum of yardage with little waste was required. A skirt cut from three smaller pieces wastes less than one cut from two large ones.
3/18/13 8:23 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Spectacular fabric for a great dress! You look awesome!
6/2/07 8:02 PM
crisford said...
Fab, fab, fabulous and just gorgeous on you!
6/1/07 10:40 AM
Karen6790 said...
The Greek shipping heirs will be dropping like flies if you wear that dress. I liked the first one, but this is fabulous.
5/31/07 10:30 PM
EveS said...
Spectacular dress in a spectacular fabric!!! I just love it! I aspire to be as imaginative (and quick!!) as you! Great review as always!
5/31/07 8:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your changes to the new dress make it spectacular.
5/31/07 8:32 PM
Marji said...
Awesome in this silk. Love the fabric, and the pattern just sings in it.
5/31/07 8:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
I'm with everyone else on this one!........beautiful dress,beautiful model!
5/31/07 7:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl....How about a new moniker....RAD GIRL! Stunning fabric, outstanding fit, and an attractive and trendsetting model! Your reviews are fun, informative, INSPIRING and ADDICTIVE! Back to American Idol. As Simon Cowell would say, now that he has an interest in what the contestants are wearing in addition to their vocals, "You are a fashion designer 'master class'! "
5/31/07 7:46 PM
nicegirl said...
Oh, we'll miss each other in Greece. I leave on my birthday (August 31) and am gone for two weeks. I can't wait! Cindy-Lou--I think this would look very cute on you.
5/31/07 4:08 PM
rosannec said...
I'll be in Crete and Thessaloniki at the end of Sept to the beginning of Oct...You?
5/31/07 3:41 PM
cindy-lou said...
What an *awesome* review. What an *AWESOME* dress!! These two dresses illustrate how 'very good' becomes 'perfect' with a lot of work, and are proof of what people with skill can do with practice and self-analysis. In English: You Rock! (oh-- and so does your fabric choice-- I've been eyeing it...) ;)
5/31/07 3:22 PM
twistedangel said...
Beautiful. I love the little "touches"... they make a world of difference.
5/31/07 2:38 PM
snowflake girl said...
very nice, have a great timein greece, you should turn some heads
5/31/07 2:07 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the compliments, everyone! I wore the orange version yesterday and everyone at work liked it, even if the skirt did feel a little like pannieres. RosanneC--you're going to Greece too? I wonder if we'll be in the same place at the same time? We should try to meet up.
5/31/07 12:11 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress. Hae a great time in Greece and may your dreams come true !
5/31/07 12:10 PM
Erica B. said...
What a pretty dress! I love the vintage styling.
5/31/07 12:00 PM
moss said...
GORGEOUS! You look HAWWT.. Stavros and Paris (boy) better hold on to their hearts! I'm sure there is an Onassis somewhere waiting for you. :) When you land your heir you must invite all of us to the wedding. And send a jet.
5/31/07 11:59 AM
rosannec said...
Your going to Greece in Sept; I'm going to greece in sept. You love this fabric; I love this fabric. You love your dress; I love your dress. Too bad that's where the similarities end or else I'd be really freaked out, but that doesn't mean we can't be friends? Maybe friends enough that I can borrow it when you're not wearing it?? What? I'm too tall you say? Drat!
5/31/07 11:46 AM
Tez said...
The silk print is such a great choice. So pretty!
5/31/07 11:20 AM
Sharon M said...
Both versions are great, but I especially like this one. They'll be falling over themselves to get close to you when you're wearing this in Greece.
5/31/07 10:49 AM
Soliel said...
Always enjoy your reviews. Thanks for showing us what happens when one is a rebel!
5/31/07 10:48 AM
Bonnie O said...
I love both versions of this dress. It's too bad that orange print is a heavy twill because it is simply adorable for a dress. Kiss kiss kiss to the Greek heirs for me!
5/31/07 10:34 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Paris Hilton has nothing on you in that dress! I'm sure the Greek shipping heirs will be lining up. :)
5/31/07 8:42 AM
Sic said...
Great alterations - the dress looks gorgeous!
5/31/07 8:05 AM
JuliaS said...
Here's to Greek shipping heirs! I LOVE this version; that fabric looks absolutely delicious and your dress is way cute.
5/31/07 8:05 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I always enjoy your reviews and your fun poses. I like this - of course, your slim body helps make it look great too. What great retro looking fabric. The shoes are cool too
5/26/07 10:36 AM
nicegirl said...
Thanks so much for your encouragement, everyone! Marji, I'm working on the FM silk one right now. Just taking a break to check my email. Look for a picture coming to a review near you soon!
5/25/07 4:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, what an electrifying dress, NiceGirl! Despite your choice of fabric, as somebody on American Idol would say, you made it your own and better than the original or cover version!
5/25/07 3:16 PM
Marji said...
Call it a learning experience...we all have to go through it at some point - trying to force a fabric into something that it just isn't meant to be. The print is cute - but... you know, I could also see this in a jersey. It's not on suggested fabrics because there weren't any available when this pattern was drafted, but can't you see it? Love the pin at CF. Still, your sense of style and your willingness to tackle anything is fabulous and results in some great garments. I think you have the most "fun" closet of anyone on PR.
5/25/07 9:02 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! "Luckily, I'll wear anything ..." I love it! And also the "dropped crotch" comment. :o))) Well, I THINK it looks GREAT on you, and the print easily hides any mishaps. I've made LOTS of stuff with "unsuitable" fabric; sometimes it works out great (with enough tweaking), and sometimes not, but who cares? I've got enough fabric in the ol' stash to make a few mistakes. I can't wait to see the one you make out of your Fabric Mart fabric!
5/25/07 0:59 AM
Karen6790 said...
Helpful as usual, Trena. I almost bought this one last time Vogue had a sale, I just wasn't sure the ruching wouldn't make me look waistless. Might have to risk it, though - this is a cute dress, and I'm think I have a good fabric stashed away somewhere.
5/24/07 9:56 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Really cute! I love the style & the fabric. I have occasionally used the wrong fabric on a pattern. You sure made it work though. It's great you know how to make alterations. Design on!
5/24/07 8:53 PM
bunz said...
"On you, it looks great! :-0
5/24/07 1:54 PM
didda said...
that is cute on you. i like this pattern, but like some other vintage vogue patterns, i only like the bodice. i used this one to make a top, just left off the skirt part and made a facing for the bottom. i did have to weight the point in front to make it lay down flat.
5/24/07 1:24 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Love the print and the piped sleeves.
5/24/07 1:05 PM
MissCelie said...
"I'll wear anything" that's great.
5/24/07 12:49 PM
suzanrossi said...
"Boobular"?? Love it. Your dress looks fantastic on you
5/24/07 12:17 PM
moss said...
What an adorable dress! I have been coveting that fabric too. Good to know what it is suitable for and what it is not. But, it looks FABULOUS !!
5/24/07 11:06 AM
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for the complete and helpful review. I picked up this pattern when Vogues were on sale recently and am considering it for a '40's themed costume event this fall. I will be sure to select appropriate fabric! Even with the mismatch between pattern and fabric type, the dress looks fabulous on you. Enjoy!
5/24/07 11:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-119

photo
by: Janiki

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now