SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Martha Stewart (Elegant & Easy Dress)

Viewed 857 times 
Reviewed by:narcissaqtpie
photo

 
 
About narcissaqtpiestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/15/05
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
It just can't be that easy!
5/24/07 9:38 PM
Leora said...
Clever! I'm off to visit your blog to see more.
5/25/07 0:56 AM
moss said...
That's cool.. how do you add the ties? I think Martha's instructions are a little incomplete. Anyway, your dress is hot. :)
5/25/07 7:26 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Hey thanks! For the ties String the cording through the "rod pocket" (think curtains) at the top of the front and back pieces.... come to think of it you could make this dress from a pair of curtains in less than 30 minutes! cool
5/25/07 7:56 AM
pt6356 said...
too cute! I think this could be an easy swimsuit cover-up.
5/25/07 8:00 AM
mochalover said...
Your dress is perfect. I am off work today I may have to copy!!!
5/25/07 9:49 AM
Re Becca said...
That is way too cute. and how easy is that, especially for Martha. You don't even hve to spend the money on a pattern. I love this.
5/25/07 11:33 AM
giblet said...
it looks great! thanks for sharing, I'll be making one for my daughter today...the rain will keep us inside wishing we were out..this will be fun for her to wear when we get out there!
5/25/07 1:46 PM
Patzee said...
Huh. So why is that I've been collecting all these sewing books and learning all these fitting techniques! Thanks for a reminder to KISS.
5/25/07 1:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This looks lovely on you!
5/25/07 6:04 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Very cute!! When I was little, my mom used to make my beach cover ups with towels using this technique. She would match the bottom end of 2 towels, sew side seams starting a few inches from bottom. Sew up to bottom of arm hole. Sew casing to inside of each towel at neck or top of shoulder height, flip excess to outside or cut and use for casing. Thread casing with heavy twine or whatever, Voila!! beach cover up. Thanks for the memories.
5/26/07 2:27 AM
sarahb said...
so cute, I'd like to try it--how many inches from the top did you leave for your arm holes when you sewed your two rectangles together?
5/28/07 6:18 PM
sarahb said...
so cute, I'd like to try it--how many inches from the top did you leave for your arm holes when you sewed your two rectangles together?
5/28/07 10:15 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
sarahbI followed the instructions and left 8 or 9 inches open on the sides. I think if you have a large bust you might need more.
5/30/07 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now