Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Martha Stewart (Elegant & Easy Dress) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 857 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:narcissaqtpie
photo
About narcissaqtpiestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/15/05
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 8:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
It just can't be that easy!
5/24/07 9:38 PM
Leora said...
Clever! I'm off to visit your blog to see more.
5/25/07 0:56 AM
moss said...
That's cool.. how do you add the ties? I think Martha's instructions are a little incomplete. Anyway, your dress is hot. :)
5/25/07 7:26 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Hey thanks! For the ties String the cording through the "rod pocket" (think curtains) at the top of the front and back pieces.... come to think of it you could make this dress from a pair of curtains in less than 30 minutes! cool
5/25/07 7:56 AM
pt6356 said...
too cute! I think this could be an easy swimsuit cover-up.
5/25/07 8:00 AM
mochalover said...
Your dress is perfect. I am off work today I may have to copy!!!
5/25/07 9:49 AM
Re Becca said...
That is way too cute. and how easy is that, especially for Martha. You don't even hve to spend the money on a pattern. I love this.
5/25/07 11:33 AM
giblet said...
it looks great! thanks for sharing, I'll be making one for my daughter today...the rain will keep us inside wishing we were out..this will be fun for her to wear when we get out there!
5/25/07 1:46 PM
Patzee said...
Huh. So why is that I've been collecting all these sewing books and learning all these fitting techniques! Thanks for a reminder to KISS.
5/25/07 1:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This looks lovely on you!
5/25/07 6:04 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Very cute!! When I was little, my mom used to make my beach cover ups with towels using this technique. She would match the bottom end of 2 towels, sew side seams starting a few inches from bottom. Sew up to bottom of arm hole. Sew casing to inside of each towel at neck or top of shoulder height, flip excess to outside or cut and use for casing. Thread casing with heavy twine or whatever, Voila!! beach cover up. Thanks for the memories.
5/26/07 2:27 AM
sarahb said...
so cute, I'd like to try it--how many inches from the top did you leave for your arm holes when you sewed your two rectangles together?
5/28/07 6:18 PM
sarahb said...
so cute, I'd like to try it--how many inches from the top did you leave for your arm holes when you sewed your two rectangles together?
5/28/07 10:15 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
sarahbI followed the instructions and left 8 or 9 inches open on the sides. I think if you have a large bust you might need more.
5/30/07 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 7828 Dress, top
photo
Review by textilis on 3/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 510C Tunic
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 1/25/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )
Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us