SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Sew Stylish Misses Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 3351 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 418 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/25/07 3:39 AM
Last Updated:5/25/07 3:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
I purchased this pattern yesterday, and really appreciate your review re: bodice sizing. Very chic top and nice review.
8/19/07 11:15 AM
AnneM said...
Looks great - particularly in the picture with it on you (in your other review). It has some nice details.
6/17/07 6:23 PM
kim*brown said...
I'm loving the color! This would look wonderful dressed up or down. The color is so rich. Wonderful work Erica!
5/29/07 11:38 PM
hildy said...
I was thinking of making this top in a dotted swiss fabric...until I saw your choice of dupioni. I made a run to my favorite fabric store that is having a moving sale and prayed that they still had a good selection of silks left. I found a beautiful aqua color. I hope mine turns out as beautiful as yours did.
5/29/07 8:48 PM
LauraLo said...
Wow, this top is gorgeous and the colour... delicious! LauraLo
5/29/07 8:30 AM
Tany said...
Fantastic! Your fabric choice is perfect for this pattern! Thank you for this very helpful review!
5/27/07 4:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
That top turned out terrific! Great fabric choice - I never would have thought of it.
5/26/07 4:20 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Another fantastic top you've created! Beautiful.
5/25/07 10:42 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is gorgeous in the fabric you chose. Great job.
5/25/07 6:02 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Lovely fabric choice! Beautiful outcome!
5/25/07 4:51 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful!
5/25/07 4:40 PM
crisford said...
Just gorgeous!
5/25/07 4:09 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty as always.
5/25/07 4:00 PM
Leora said...
I had this pattern in my hot little hand but returned it to the drawer. I'm glad you made it better than it looks to be! Gorgeous top, EricaB
5/25/07 2:26 PM
kiddo said...
When I saw the photo I thought it looked like something you would do. And yes, it was you! Excellent!
5/25/07 1:43 PM
Jackiesews303 said...
Very nice blouse! It's not my usual style but I think I will get the pattern and give it a try. I always afraid to try a blouse with a wide opening.
5/25/07 1:12 PM
krinn said...
oh my gosh, I just thought of something - you should totally enter this in the simplicty/threads/hancocks contest! http://www.hancockfabrics.com/jump.jsp?itemID=805&itemType=CONTENT
5/25/07 1:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is gorgeous. Can't wait to see it on you.
5/25/07 1:06 PM
Lynngray said...
wow, It's great. And thanks for the great review also
5/25/07 12:49 PM
maiaj said...
Wow! I love when I see Erica B. has reviewed something! This is a top I am considering, and your size/fitting information is timely and and helpful. Thanks.
5/25/07 12:37 PM
KarenP said...
Beautiful!! I love it in the silk dupioni - I never would have thought of doing that.
5/25/07 12:28 PM
bunz said...
Beautiful! Interesting that you decided to press pleats unlike the pattern illustration. Does that eliminate any "preggers" look?
5/25/07 12:16 PM
blue mooney said...
Oh, gosh. That is sooo nice.
5/25/07 10:38 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I had the same reaction to the SewStylish top, but your version is divine! I think one (of the many) details on your top that improves the look through the bust is the additional bust gathers. Thanks for encouraging me to give this pattern a second look!
5/25/07 10:26 AM
Levone said...
Such a pretty top!
5/25/07 10:21 AM
cindyann said...
How lovely! Beautiful color. I'm with you in the IZ. So much easier and so much prettier.
5/25/07 10:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow, I love how this piece looks in the dupioni. Yeah, I don't know why pattern companies still don't tell us to use invisible zips in these dressier garments.
5/25/07 9:57 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous! Classy! Stunning!
5/25/07 9:06 AM
jlongo said...
Erica, nicely done! Do you do the SWAP contest with Timmel fabrics?
5/25/07 8:15 AM
Marji said...
I really like that in the silk dupioni - an unexpected fabric for that design. Interesting way to get around doing an FBA Erica. Good call on the empire waist stay tape.
5/25/07 8:09 AM
krinn said...
beautiful, as always :)
5/25/07 8:01 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow. beautiful, Thanks-a-million the construction details
5/25/07 8:00 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous as usual.
5/25/07 7:53 AM
MissCelie said...
Erica B. won't tell you but I will, check out her blog for some neat photos of the tissue fit and her excellent finishing of the inside. Personally, inspriring. That said, I'm all about serging and easy finishes. :)
5/25/07 7:21 AM
Dr. Alice said...
Another great one as always! Where's the glamour shot of you?
5/25/07 6:57 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That is simply beautiful! And I always do invisible zippers, too. ;)
5/25/07 6:26 AM
morzel said...
What a beautiful top!! And thanks for the useful tips about constructing and fitting it!
5/25/07 5:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

More Info