SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Sew Stylish Misses Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 3351 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 414 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/25/07 3:39 AM
Last Updated:5/25/07 3:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
morzel said...
What a beautiful top!! And thanks for the useful tips about constructing and fitting it!
5/25/07 5:39 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That is simply beautiful! And I always do invisible zippers, too. ;)
5/25/07 6:26 AM
Dr. Alice said...
Another great one as always! Where's the glamour shot of you?
5/25/07 6:57 AM
MissCelie said...
Erica B. won't tell you but I will, check out her blog for some neat photos of the tissue fit and her excellent finishing of the inside. Personally, inspriring. That said, I'm all about serging and easy finishes. :)
5/25/07 7:21 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous as usual.
5/25/07 7:53 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow. beautiful, Thanks-a-million the construction details
5/25/07 8:00 AM
krinn said...
beautiful, as always :)
5/25/07 8:01 AM
Marji said...
I really like that in the silk dupioni - an unexpected fabric for that design. Interesting way to get around doing an FBA Erica. Good call on the empire waist stay tape.
5/25/07 8:09 AM
jlongo said...
Erica, nicely done! Do you do the SWAP contest with Timmel fabrics?
5/25/07 8:15 AM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous! Classy! Stunning!
5/25/07 9:06 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow, I love how this piece looks in the dupioni. Yeah, I don't know why pattern companies still don't tell us to use invisible zips in these dressier garments.
5/25/07 9:57 AM
cindyann said...
How lovely! Beautiful color. I'm with you in the IZ. So much easier and so much prettier.
5/25/07 10:08 AM
Levone said...
Such a pretty top!
5/25/07 10:21 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I had the same reaction to the SewStylish top, but your version is divine! I think one (of the many) details on your top that improves the look through the bust is the additional bust gathers. Thanks for encouraging me to give this pattern a second look!
5/25/07 10:26 AM
blue mooney said...
Oh, gosh. That is sooo nice.
5/25/07 10:38 AM
bunz said...
Beautiful! Interesting that you decided to press pleats unlike the pattern illustration. Does that eliminate any "preggers" look?
5/25/07 12:16 PM
KarenP said...
Beautiful!! I love it in the silk dupioni - I never would have thought of doing that.
5/25/07 12:28 PM
maiaj said...
Wow! I love when I see Erica B. has reviewed something! This is a top I am considering, and your size/fitting information is timely and and helpful. Thanks.
5/25/07 12:37 PM
Lynngray said...
wow, It's great. And thanks for the great review also
5/25/07 12:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is gorgeous. Can't wait to see it on you.
5/25/07 1:06 PM
krinn said...
oh my gosh, I just thought of something - you should totally enter this in the simplicty/threads/hancocks contest! http://www.hancockfabrics.com/jump.jsp?itemID=805&itemType=CONTENT
5/25/07 1:12 PM
Jackiesews303 said...
Very nice blouse! It's not my usual style but I think I will get the pattern and give it a try. I always afraid to try a blouse with a wide opening.
5/25/07 1:12 PM
kiddo said...
When I saw the photo I thought it looked like something you would do. And yes, it was you! Excellent!
5/25/07 1:43 PM
Leora said...
I had this pattern in my hot little hand but returned it to the drawer. I'm glad you made it better than it looks to be! Gorgeous top, EricaB
5/25/07 2:26 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty as always.
5/25/07 4:00 PM
crisford said...
Just gorgeous!
5/25/07 4:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful!
5/25/07 4:40 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Lovely fabric choice! Beautiful outcome!
5/25/07 4:51 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is gorgeous in the fabric you chose. Great job.
5/25/07 6:02 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Another fantastic top you've created! Beautiful.
5/25/07 10:42 PM
Bonnie O said...
That top turned out terrific! Great fabric choice - I never would have thought of it.
5/26/07 4:20 PM
Tany said...
Fantastic! Your fabric choice is perfect for this pattern! Thank you for this very helpful review!
5/27/07 4:43 AM
LauraLo said...
Wow, this top is gorgeous and the colour... delicious! LauraLo
5/29/07 8:30 AM
hildy said...
I was thinking of making this top in a dotted swiss fabric...until I saw your choice of dupioni. I made a run to my favorite fabric store that is having a moving sale and prayed that they still had a good selection of silks left. I found a beautiful aqua color. I hope mine turns out as beautiful as yours did.
5/29/07 8:48 PM
kim*brown said...
I'm loving the color! This would look wonderful dressed up or down. The color is so rich. Wonderful work Erica!
5/29/07 11:38 PM
AnneM said...
Looks great - particularly in the picture with it on you (in your other review). It has some nice details.
6/17/07 6:23 PM
Terri Smith said...
I purchased this pattern yesterday, and really appreciate your review re: bodice sizing. Very chic top and nice review.
8/19/07 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-12

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now