Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2007-103 (Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1014 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:MichelleE
photo
Friend of PR
About MichelleEstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/7/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/07 1:01 PM
Last Updated:5/28/07 10:25 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewKnitYKnot said...
Great top! I like the revisions you made. Very cute.
5/28/07 10:43 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful top, love the fabric.
5/28/07 10:45 PM
Zaneta said...
What a great top..thanks for a geat review in a non stretch!!
5/29/07 2:30 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love that leaf print fabric, your top turned out really nice.
5/29/07 2:49 AM
nimble said...
Oh that's gorgeous! I love the embroidered fabric used for the trim. And the modesty panel is great!! Wow - a test muslin?? :)
5/29/07 3:19 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a thoughtful review, thank you!
5/29/07 3:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great top, I'm very happy with your review. I'd like to make this top, and as I have a D-cup, I now know for sure that the pattern needs changing and your review clearly states how.
5/29/07 5:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely tunic top. I really like your fabric choices.
5/29/07 6:51 AM
MissCelie said...
Excellent review and what a cool top! That fabric really adds to it.
5/29/07 7:37 AM
JBsewmonster said...
Great review! Sounds like this pattern would be perfect for small flat chested women, Me! Love your fabric & trim choices.
5/29/07 8:18 AM
carolynw said...
Great job - your top looks lovely
5/29/07 9:02 AM
crisford said...
Beautiful! I love the modesty panel --what a great idea, it looks like part of the original design. I have had the same short bust problem with other WOF tops, even sewn in knits, so I am glad you brought that up for us to watch out for.
5/29/07 11:17 AM
MichelleE said...
Thanks, all. I should mention the 'modesty panel' is just a piece of the fabric folded over, and in the shape of a triangle. Since the contrasting bands are top stitched, I used that to sew the panel on either side.
5/29/07 1:17 PM
Nancy K said...
Great, funny review. I looked at this and wondered how the 36 DD girls would fit and passed it by.
5/29/07 1:40 PM
Linda G said...
How wonderful your top looks, those invisible zippers are the pits when it comes to matching...but when I made a plaid dress I used the instructions on the sewing divas blog site and then before I sewed in the second side of the zipper I zipped it up and pinned the plaids to they matched in a few places and then took my disappearing marker and made marks on the zipper tape continuing onto the fabric and when I sewed the second side I made sure they lined up...It worked maybe just beginners luck...first time I had tried it that way. Every time I see a reveiw I this top, I think they look so much better than the they do on the models in the magazine. You did a great job.
5/29/07 1:57 PM
beangirl said...
Great top and a great review too. This is really cute in this fabric.
5/29/07 10:17 PM
yummymummy38 said...
this pattern is the first of the 'duro' look that I like, like your choice of fabric.
5/31/07 8:57 AM
PJDiddy said...
Thanks... good information.
12/9/07 5:23 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
So cute. I want to make this top. Yours looks so nice.
1/28/08 7:31 PM
alviana said...
beautiful top. love the fabric
12/22/08 1:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6139 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6139 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-120 Knit Henley
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 4/7/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us