SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4792 (Retro 1957 Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1978 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/07 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress. I always love the things you sew. You have a wonderful flare for colour.
6/5/07 9:35 PM
Linda G said...
CUTE!!!
6/5/07 9:37 PM
JuliaS said...
I like your zipper method here. Do you do this a lot? I hate hand stitching down a lining or facing to a zipper tape inside a garment.
6/5/07 11:13 PM
Sharon M said...
This think it is very cute on you! I thought I recognized that fabric. And that's so funny about the pin! Maybe they thought it was a design element.
6/5/07 11:16 PM
cindy-lou said...
Man, I love what this fabric looks like in a vintage style! AND-- I am bookmarking this so I can pull up your zipper method. I sure could have used this earlier today when I made the inside sipper of my latest Cabo look like s@#* . You do such nice work!
6/6/07 0:22 AM
Tez said...
Gorgeous! I always love your dresses. Thanks for the zip tip. It makes a really nice finish.
6/6/07 1:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely! Really like the dress, great fabric.
6/6/07 6:03 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like the dress, but agree with the bra issue. I am a little upset that you continue to churn things out as I putter through one project at a time.
6/6/07 7:11 AM
KrystalL said...
Very colorful and fun!
6/6/07 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Another lovely dress for you - I do hope you can solve the bra issue - this dress deserves to be worn a lot!!
6/6/07 9:10 AM
moss said...
That dress is really cute but I think the front neckline overwhelms you a little. It is too high or something, in my opinion.
6/6/07 9:17 AM
Tiner W said...
Sweet! I've been trying to justify ordering that fabric. The dress is adorable--thanks for the warning about the low back!
6/6/07 9:34 AM
Hilary said...
Well, its a cute dress, and I think it looks nice on you! And that is so funny about the pin!! ROFLOL-at least you didn't stick yourself with it! :o)
6/6/07 12:02 PM
slanden99 said...
It's a cute dress. I think most of the shape-problem you mentioned is because of the sash around the waist (sashes and belts are for the lucky few that have tiny waists). Try taking off the sash to see if that flatters you better. The colors are great on you and the dress looks very well made.
6/6/07 5:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Your dress reviews are all so inspiring. I really like your zipper tip, too. I'm going to give that a try. Thanks!
6/6/07 6:29 PM
EveS said...
Seriously cute dress and great fabric!! I've paused over it on their site several times. I wonder if any of your fashion forward friends will show up with strategically placed pins at the next party...
6/6/07 8:26 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks all! EveS--roflol. That is such a funny image. Slanden--the sash is there to give me any shape at all. Without it the waist looks so bad I couldn't even bear to take any pics to demonstrate.
6/6/07 9:03 PM
candyo said...
RE: bra issue: maybe you could try that new 100 ways bra from Victoria's Secret?
6/7/07 0:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, NiceGirl! How could have I missed this breathtaking dress (I had to click on the thumbnail in the margin!)? You're a living doll! This dress seems so hip this season! You convinced me to take a look at this pattern!
4/2/08 11:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now