Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2546 (Couturier Coat Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2097 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/07 6:48 PM
Last Updated:10/20/09 9:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
causticmuse said...
That is a seriously cute looking coat/dress. Fabulous work!
6/6/07 6:57 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous!!! And what steal on all the fabric - lucky you! :-)
6/6/07 6:59 PM
Michelle in Oaktown said...
I love coat dresses, and you did an impeccable job. Thank you for sharing in such great detail. So...can you please try it on for us again? (kidding)
6/6/07 6:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a lovely classic style that has withstood the test of time. Your coat is beautifully constructed. Thanks for a superb review.
6/6/07 7:29 PM
touran said...
Great review. This is such a handsome piece. You'll look fab in it.
6/6/07 7:42 PM
tentmaker said...
I Remember that Coat Dress. My Mom made it for herself and wore it to my Son's Christening. She made it out of Navy Blue Faille "sp" and she wore one of those little tiny "Audrey Hepburn" style hats with a sexy veil.
6/6/07 7:47 PM
LoriB said...
Outstanding coat! Very, very nice.
6/6/07 7:53 PM
bunz said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
6/6/07 8:05 PM
MissCelie said...
Excellent review. Beauuuutiful work.
6/6/07 8:06 PM
EveS said...
Not only is the design impeccible, so is your work. This is simply stunning (AND cheap?!?) My heart's aflutter over this one!
6/6/07 8:22 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
great coat...but I even more impressed with fabric on hangers in the background. So organized. My textiles are all jumbled in one bin and then some boxes.
6/6/07 9:36 PM
blue mooney said...
only a muslin? wow!
6/6/07 9:41 PM
slanden99 said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/6/07 9:58 PM
mastdenman said...
I too love coat dresses. Yours is beautiful. And an instant stash for 99 cents. Wow, scored.
6/6/07 10:00 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wow! I am even more empressed with the fabric organization in the room.... (running off to buy hangers)
6/6/07 10:26 PM
Lori V said...
This is so gorgeous. I too love all your fabric and fabric organization in the background.
6/6/07 11:03 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous Coat! Excellent review. You've been on a roll,so good "hearing" from you again. Oh yeah! yr studio looks inspiring.
6/6/07 11:11 PM
candyo said...
That's pretty good for a muslin, putting it mildly! I bet that stash's original owner would be pleased to know her fabric went to a good home!
6/7/07 0:21 AM
Erica B. said...
What a great looking coat! I love the vintage styling!
6/7/07 2:56 AM
madhatter said...
wow! if this is only the muslin, i'm really eager to see a "real" one. it's awesome now, so will an original be heaven?!
6/7/07 6:27 AM
EveS said...
I just have to comment again...I peeked at your fabric lot from ebay and I'm waaay jealous! What a score!!! And to think, all of that lovely fabric is going from it's dark, wet, storage to your lovely (jealous yet again) fabric stash to live!!! What a fabric rescue...you've done a good deed! :)
6/7/07 7:49 AM
yummymummy38 said...
twistedangel, you've done it again, impeccable work and fabulous coat. BTW, I love looking through your pictures for info and inspiration!!!
6/7/07 8:20 AM
Karine said...
You've done an exceptional job with this - it's wonderful. Thanks for the helpful review.
6/7/07 8:48 AM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful job you did on this! Yours looks far better than than pattern cover.
6/7/07 8:51 AM
AnneM said...
Nice style. It definitely looks like a coat, so I think you made a good choice using it as a coat (otherwise people would be telling you to take your coat off!).
6/7/07 10:50 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous coat! Excellent and informative review as usual.
6/7/07 1:07 PM
Jane S said...
What a spectacular coat and enjoyable review. Thanks for sharing this detailed process.
6/7/07 2:02 PM
drsue said...
Great job. Very much now. I just saw a fashion spread which featured these types of coats.
6/7/07 3:51 PM
cmarie12 said...
I asw this in progress on your website and was just amazed at it...it is even more beautiful finished! Amazing job!
6/7/07 5:00 PM
ldpaulson said...
I am in awe. Wow.
6/7/07 6:36 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the style! Great coat.
6/7/07 6:58 PM
Karen6790 said...
If this is the muslin, then I'm scared of the final product. This is delicious. Thanks for the warnings for the less-than-advanced. I know I'm not ready for this project yet, but you've made me want to be.
6/7/07 11:18 PM
Kay Y said...
Really nice job Krystin! I am curious about the hem - the picture on the pattern envelope looks soft and unpressed. Is this addressed in the instructions?
6/10/07 11:40 AM
Celeste said...
This really is a Holly Golightly style!! You can just see Hepburn in this one.
6/10/07 8:43 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your coat!! It is so gorgeous on you!! Thanks for such a great review and the inspiration.
6/11/07 3:34 PM
twistedangel said...
Hi Kay, that is due to the interfacing... it sort of does that on it's own. I pressed mine down. I didn't like it like that on me. :-)
6/11/07 6:10 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
WOW. I wish I had the skill to make this, but as it is vintage, I guess I'm off the hook. Kudos!
8/8/07 2:23 PM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous dress and great review. I had more than a couple of those coat dresses back in the day. I always loved wearing them.
10/20/09 9:47 PM
sew obsessed said...
Gorgeous! I love the vintage style of this coat/dress. It's perfect on you.
10/20/09 11:11 PM
3HoursPast said...
Oh how interesting, I never made the connection between the changed slopers and antiquated undergarments. It seems so obvious now. Gorgeous dress, very very very well done. Amazing.
10/21/09 0:28 AM
MamaSewing said...
Great lovely coat!
10/21/09 9:54 AM
Christas said...
Very nice coat! It looks so perfect!
10/24/09 10:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116 dress
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 7/19/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6084 Two Hour Top
photo
Review by KatieA on 10/21/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us