SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 

54 more reviews
Viewed 2328 times 
Reviewed by:zazzie
photo

 
 
About zazziestar
QC CANADA
Member since: 3/20/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:6/6/07 9:21 PM
Last Updated:6/6/07 9:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zazzie said...
Ok - I think that the pictures are up ! Thank you for reading.
6/6/07 9:27 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
I love your dress! You did a beautiful job!
6/6/07 9:40 PM
NylaJ said...
you did a wonderful job on your dress and most of all it looks classy on you like you bought it at Macys. Very Cute! With the Jacket Excellent!
6/6/07 9:42 PM
nicegirl said...
Man, I already wanted this pattern the last time there was a sale on simplicity and it was out. Now I *really* want it.
6/6/07 9:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great decision to stitch those pleats down. This makes the style much more flattering to your figure than the original pattern. Beautifully done. I look forward to more reviews from you.
6/6/07 9:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Divine dress! I like how you sewed the pleats down. It's very flattering.
6/6/07 9:56 PM
MissCelie said...
Sold out for me too when I tried to buy it. I *really* want it now. Stitching down the pleats is inspired. Your waist looks teeny this way.
6/6/07 10:00 PM
frame said...
Absolutely beautiful.
6/6/07 10:11 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Beautiful!
6/6/07 10:24 PM
Linda G said...
Absolutely beautiful dress. The fabric is wonderful
6/6/07 10:34 PM
sewbehind said...
Oh, that is so beautiful on you. Shows your figure to perfection. Great job on changing the pattern to suit you.
6/6/07 10:40 PM
Ingiepops said...
Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous. Well done, it really flatters your figure.
6/6/07 10:41 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous dress, lovely details..
6/6/07 10:49 PM
Lori V said...
Great job on the pleat choice, the dress looks incredible on you.
6/6/07 11:01 PM
craftyshark said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the alterations. Thanks for sharing :)
6/6/07 11:07 PM
ts said...
Hello - Your dress is gorgeous. I was wondering if someone wanted to add sleeves to the shirt, do you think that would be possible?
6/6/07 11:17 PM
pamici said...
Outstanding! Comparisons to Audrey Hepburn may be getting a bit cliche, but you are the spitting image.
6/6/07 11:17 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Nice interpretation!
6/6/07 11:35 PM
Verosews said...
Great idea on the pleating. I think I will try that on my version and see how it comes out. Maybe I won't look so pregnant. BTW, it looks great on you!
6/6/07 11:58 PM
Erica B. said...
The dress is beautiful and looks fabulous on you!
6/7/07 2:44 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
6/7/07 3:24 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Ooh, gorgeous dress and love the fabric. Hope you enjoy the party.
6/7/07 3:30 AM
valerie sews said...
Just beautiful and very chic. This pattern is on my wish list.
6/7/07 3:33 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Lovely!
6/7/07 4:40 AM
Henrietta Talfourd-Jones said...
What a beautiful job, well done
6/7/07 8:10 AM
KrystalL said...
Seeing all of these reviews of this pattern is making me really want to sew this! Your dress is absolutely lovely and extremely flattering on you. Enjoy the party!
6/7/07 8:13 AM
yummymummy38 said...
beautiful, highlights your tiny waist. wow!
6/7/07 8:15 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your dress is gorgeous!!! I love how you lengthened the pleats - I'm going to have to try that on my next version. Stunning!
6/7/07 8:22 AM
Karine said...
The dress is simply beautiful. I love the pleating - so much nicer than the pattern.
6/7/07 8:52 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful dress and it certainly accentuates your little tiny waist. Great job.
6/7/07 9:09 AM
AnneM said...
Very pretty, and you have the perfect type of figure for this style. You might want to start w/ a smaller skirt size next time if you took a bunch off.
6/7/07 9:40 AM
KaraKai said...
Lovely! Fits you perfectly :)
6/7/07 10:18 AM
cindyann said...
I love your dress. What a great pattern! What kind of silk did you use?
6/7/07 11:08 AM
Kay Y said...
Quelle belle robe! I really like the changes you made which have made me think (again) that maybe I *Need* this pattern in my already-vast collection.
6/7/07 11:21 AM
SewLil said...
This is gorgeous and it looks great on you. I love your idea of sewing the pleats down.
6/7/07 11:22 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is beautiful-the changes you made really add to it; you look so elegant! Thanks for the inspiring review!
6/7/07 12:35 PM
AudreyD said...
Stitching the pleats down longer is brilliant. I just finished this dress, and it's a little too big... I'm going to try stitching my pleats down to see if it helps. Your dress is just wonderful!
6/7/07 1:11 PM
Jane S said...
Superb dress for you. Lovely design, color, proportion. Oooh la la.
6/7/07 2:08 PM
cboots said...
This dress really suits you. You've taken an already nice dress and made it Super! Your changes add that special touch that make it look stunning.
6/7/07 3:03 PM
christine A said...
That dress could not be any more perfect!! The fabric and style and color all look like a very expensive dress!! And you are the perfect model!!
6/7/07 3:35 PM
drsue said...
Wow!! Awesome job indeed.
6/7/07 3:49 PM
Puddin Pop said...
You look great in this beautiful dress. I love all the details.
6/7/07 5:03 PM
bunz said...
would you pls send me your waist so I can make beautiful dresses like this one!!!
6/7/07 6:50 PM
Sewing Geek said...
What a beautiful dress!!!
6/7/07 8:31 PM
coolobreeze said...
You did a wonderful job! It looks good on you.
6/7/07 9:49 PM
zazzie said...
Cindyann: I am not sure of the type of silk ! Isn't it a kind of tussah ? It has the smooth hand of a washed linen ... Too bad: I will have to go back to the fabric store on Saturday, and check the label one more time (Hee hee, an excuse to go back to the fabric store. As if I needed one ;-) Thanks for your comments everyone. I was so uncertain of the results ... Now that I have the agreement of "peers" (including some of my "PR idols"), I will wear it with confidence!
6/7/07 10:37 PM
KathleenS said...
Very designer!
6/8/07 9:15 AM
Nancy K said...
Just lovely on you. The changes you made are really flattering for you. Of course you have a lovely figure to begin with!
6/8/07 9:57 AM
Nancywin said...
I love how you sewed down the pleats. This dress looks amazing on you
6/9/07 2:22 AM
So So said...
Beautiful! Your alterations hav emade this dress waht it is on you. Fabulous! And the jacket will finish it off. What are you making for the wedding????????????
6/10/07 9:19 AM
ann-c said...
Wow! Looks professional and looks very nice on you.
6/14/07 2:35 PM
SewSewHappy said...
Great dress - you did a beautiful job. Fits you perfect!
9/26/07 5:06 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! That is gorgeous!!! It looks sooooo nice and flattering.
2/18/08 10:10 AM
aquafern said...
Love her alterations. I wish I could make my stuff look that good on me!! I am going to give this one a try. I'm a shorty as well.
2/19/09 11:39 AM
MissMercurial said...
What a beautiful dress! I saw the picture in your photostream when I was checking out your Vogue 8280, and I rushed to see the pattern on the Simplicity website. I wondered why yours looked so much prettier and more flattering; now I know! What an inspired idea to sew the pleats down. I normally wouldn't have given this pattern a second glance because empire-waisted things make me look pregnant, but now I want to get it and make a gorgeous-figre-flattering dress like yours.
10/19/09 2:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99538-1000

photo
by: bijou90

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now