Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2005-113 (Twist Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 941 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Meredith P
photo
Friend of PR
About Meredith Pstar
USA
Member since: 3/26/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/07 9:26 PM
Last Updated:7/27/07 10:56 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Meredith, what a pretty top. I love it and yours makes me want to dig out that untouched Burda WOF pattern, too! p.s. I love your helper!
6/8/07 9:28 PM
ryankckids said...
I double twisted frequently with this top....still don't know how I continue to screw it up! Yours looks fabulous. Re: my WOF "system": I photocopy the picture and line drawing/fabric requirements/instructions of the ones I like, then file the copies with the rest of my patterns. I browse each issue when it comes in, and choose only the ones I think I **really might** make someday.
6/8/07 10:08 PM
tomed said...
You look FAB in this top! I keep my traced WOF patterns in envelopes, labeled by date, pattern #, and size I traced. I'm thinking there may be a better way, but that's just how I started doing it.
6/8/07 10:18 PM
JEF said...
Love your review - your sense of humor is great and so is the top!
6/9/07 1:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely top Meredith. I store my traced patterns in a clear zip lock bag, similar size to the Big 4 envelopes. I print a photo of the garment & line drawing and arrange these on the front and back side of the zip lock bag. Sometimes I also include a scanned & printed instruction sheet and write notes on this same piece of paper.
6/9/07 2:32 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great top! Must Love Dogs is a fun movie, but that appellation went right by me! I have the DVD and will have to watch it again!
6/9/07 8:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your humouress review. I think the top looks great on you.
6/9/07 8:19 AM
QueenZ said...
Nice selection of pattern, style, color...it's you!
6/9/07 9:30 AM
Jane S said...
I too love all the twist tops available out there and this one looks wonderful on you.
6/9/07 9:49 AM
trinicity said...
very beautiful!
6/9/07 1:18 PM
SandraB said...
This top looks great on you. The colour suits you perfectly.
6/9/07 3:19 PM
SarahWeb said...
Meredith, you top looks great on you. By the way, I am about to turn 50, too, and I find myself worrying about the little lumps and rolls. But hey, just cause I don't look twenty, doesn't mean I don't look good. And you look great! Keep making those Burda WOF patterns!
6/10/07 0:38 AM
Karen6790 said...
Very empowering. Great top, great color on you. (It also looks good with your little helper! I have a few of those too). Nice job.
6/11/07 10:18 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Hi Meredith, loved your review, humour helps especially when trying to figure our a BWOF pattern! I too have a helper like yours, problem is Thomas the Tabbycat reclines over my ironing board watching me while I sew. Then I wonder why my ironing has little stripey hairs all over it when I iron..........!! Keep up the reviewing and sewing, I'll be taking notes from you in future. Julia
7/17/07 8:03 AM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for the great review, I love this top, too and have done several versions. I too have the back bulge problem and have a few suggestions: 1) Enlarge back a bit by the pivot and slide method 2) line back with a lightweight sheer stretch mesh or very fine power net (or even self-line if fabric is light enough) or 3) I wear one of those body-slimming camisoles with some of these tops.
7/27/07 3:15 PM
Mufffet said...
That is lovely! Great color on you and so well fitted! Kudos!
7/27/07 3:55 PM
Annette1 said...
You look MAAAAAAAAAAAAVELOUS, Dahling! This can be your va-va-voom top. :o) I swear, I love just about every pattern I see from the Burda World of Fashion magazine. If I thought they had plus sizes, too, I might even invest. Then it would be a question of, would I actually MAKE anything in there, or just enjoy the pictures? If they turned out like yours did here, I think it would be the former.
7/27/07 9:29 PM
ryan's mom said...
Fabulous! I just made the Simplicity twist top version and love mine too! Yep, definitely and empowering shirt :) .
7/28/07 3:52 PM
TalyQ said...
Wonderful top. I am one of those ladies, who couldn't wear this without some modesty panel though =(. As far as the traced patterns. I keep mine in A4 envelopes with Burda issues and model number written on them. Keeping them in the magazines is too risky, since many people thumb through mine frequently.
8/2/07 11:57 AM
QueenZ said...
You are gorgeous! Love that top!
11/17/07 2:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

No Pattern Used story board
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW 0001
photo
Review by Mosews2 on 6/7/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780 Pattern
Burda 9780 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us