SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6466 (Dressy Camisole - View E)

10 more reviews
Viewed 957 times 
Reviewed by:Bonnie O
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Bonnie Ostarstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/28/07
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/07 6:22 PM
Last Updated:6/17/07 6:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
Lovely top on you, despite all the hassles. I always look at the measurements printed on the pattern to determine the best size to make, & tissue fit if I'm still in doubt (this helps to avoid any sizing disasters). I've made this top successfully, same style that you made & just love it. I found 2 fabrics that were the same print only reversed in colours, so used them to make it up, & it looked fantastic. as I put on weight it sadly ended up getting sold on ebay for much more than what it originally cost me to make! now, several years later, I plan to make another one (larger size obviously) as I loved it so much.
4/29/10 1:04 AM
SoVintage said...
Great tip on the sizing, I am just getting ready to make this for my daughter and she is tiny, size 0 or 2 in the RTW...measurements on the pattern say she should be almost a size 10...but I guess I better start trimming before I even start this project...look for the outcome in the next week or so
5/27/09 6:05 PM
ladyheather said...
Beautiful top..thanks for the heads up on the sizing!
11/11/08 8:37 PM
alethia said...
Although the pattern sizing was off, the blouse looks very nice
8/13/07 5:37 PM
KrystalL said...
Very pretty. Simplicity 3956 is similar to this one, and I think the sizing may be a little better.
6/21/07 2:36 PM
AnneM said...
Great top; love the double layer.
6/21/07 7:14 AM
Carolyndh said...
You look so great in your top! This turned out to be a winner!
6/19/07 6:07 PM
snowflake girl said...
very cute top, Thanks for the tip on the sizing.
6/18/07 8:28 PM
carolynw said...
Looks nice - even tho you had a not too nice time with the fabric and pattern I think it has turned out very, very nice.
6/18/07 9:07 AM
Bonnie O said...
To LauraM: I don't think I did hang the fabric before I sewed the side seams but I did let it hang overnight AFTER I sewed. (i.e before I ended up altering.) That's a great tip to point out. I did end up having to trim up the hems after they were hanging.
6/18/07 8:06 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top turned out really cute - sorry it was such a pain to make tho. I have had projects like that too. Enjoy your top! :-)
6/18/07 8:01 AM
LauraM62 said...
Cute top, I have this one on my to-do list too! The sizing issue is good info, wonder how much has to do with the it being a bias cut top. Did you let yours hang any in-between for that stretch factor before sewing the sideseams?
6/18/07 7:51 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Your top has turned out beautifully, would never had guessed at the struggle you had with the fabric.
6/18/07 3:05 AM
SimsSews said...
Look and fit is fabulous, great job!
6/18/07 0:22 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the review, and especially the sizing info. That's a very nice top. Neat print.
6/18/07 0:18 AM
Re Becca said...
JoAnns? I never they could be made to look so good. I also find it very disappointing when patterns are mis-sized, BUT beter too big than too small. You made it look great, esp. the fitting and fabric.
6/17/07 11:28 PM
Lori V said...
This is very cute and looks great on you.
6/17/07 11:03 PM
ZoeP said...
It looks great! I think I should get this pattern... Great job.
6/17/07 10:53 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful top! I have a similar pattern and keep planning to make it, then something else interferes... *sigh*. You earned this top-- enjoy it--Then, if you make it into a dress too, consider entering into the OPML contest!
6/17/07 9:38 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Cute!! This is top #2 of yours that I'm feeling inspired to copy (just bought NL 6655 based on your great version). Who knew those icky silkies could look so good?
6/17/07 6:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Happy Homemade Vol 2

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8790

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

More Info