SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 72024-1000 (Self Drafted Dress)

Viewed 684 times 
Reviewed by:edupraz
photo

 
 
About eduprazstar
PA USA
Member since: 9/13/06
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/07 11:05 AM
Last Updated:6/18/07 12:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
What a lovely dress!! EXCELLENT job. I think you can get a lot of use from this pattern now that you have slaved to get it just right - the fit looks perfect! Thanks for the tip about the Claire Shaeffer book. I had wondered if it were worth buying.
6/18/07 12:40 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It's a very nice jumper, but I'm also not sure you'll get a lot of use out of it as a dress. Even tropical weight wool, lined to boot, would be unbearable in most climates hot enough to warrant the sleeveless and open neck thing.. I also wonder whether you'll have enough room to put a shirt underneath, seeing how it fits you so well in the picutre? Still, you clearly did much better than McCall here :-).
6/18/07 12:46 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for the review. It is nice to hear about "self drafted patterns because I too find after I modify this and that it becomes so and it is extremely good experience to learn how to do it. Your dress turned out great!
6/18/07 1:20 PM
Skymom said...
I think it looks great--totally, perfectly classic. With a very light knit top you should be fine in winter, and you can always throw a little sweater over it when you wear it sleeveless.
6/18/07 3:06 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is absolutely wonderful! You are talented.
6/18/07 3:59 PM
edupraz said...
fuzzygalore, you make some excellent points. I'm not completely confident how much I will wear it either. I will say that my office is air conditioned, so in the summer it's pretty much freezing all the time. The lining and wool issue may not be a problem. I have yet to try out the jumper thing... but, I am hopeful!
6/18/07 4:33 PM
Annette1 said...
This is very flattering on you, making all your extra fitting efforts worth it. :o) It seems very versatile, too. If it's cold in your office (like mine, where I have my heater blasting away year-'round), you might be able to make a little bolero or some sort of short jacket to wear over it. I think that would be really cute. You could even do it in eyelet for summer, and something else for winter. Great job!
6/18/07 5:31 PM
nicegirl said...
With the temperature they keep most offices, you'll probably be able to wear it in summer. I think the style is very flattering and the fit is excellent.
6/18/07 6:09 PM
LorelleD said...
What a beautiful dress. It looks terrific on you. A good design that you will get a lot of wear out of. A good fit too. Well done.
6/19/07 3:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think you achieved your goal. Good job.
6/19/07 5:33 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, it looks so lovely on you.
6/19/07 7:04 AM
Nancywin said...
Very flattering dress. It looks great.
6/19/07 9:52 PM
madhatter said...
very flattering and absolutely perfect tailored!
6/24/07 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Jessica Dress

photo
by: thewall

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now