SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8331 (Very Easy Vogue jackets)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1277 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/07 9:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Haute.Couturiere said...
Lovely! I am getting this pattern. Thanks for the great review.
9/30/09 7:38 PM
Betsybobbin said...
I don't know how I missed your review of this jacket, but I think it's gorgeous! I like your taste in patterns and fabrics! Elizabeth
1/9/08 9:50 PM
Kathi R said...
I think your design changes make the jacket, nice work - thanks for the review
7/28/07 2:28 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Was I asleep when this review was first posted? I love that jacket. Yippee - another pattern to buy! Hope my results are as good as yours.
7/4/07 6:24 PM
Birgitte said...
So beautiful and cute and fabulous... The necklace is fantastic too!
7/4/07 5:49 PM
Hilary said...
What a*gorgeous* jacket!! Yours is beautiful-I never would have looked twice at this pattern, but I *love* this...a jacket for hot summers-perfect! Great idea to take it to an alterations shop for the buttonhole! Oh, and the reshaping of the front is a vast improvement, as well. Thanks for a great review!
7/3/07 9:51 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Neat style. I like the original pattern version & your variation. (Good idea on the alterations shop.)
6/29/07 9:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely perfect. And I love the necklace too.
6/24/07 7:35 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love what you did with this! Beautiful color.
6/23/07 9:21 PM
cyndylou said...
Lovely! I think that horizontal crease could suggest a design opportunity: draft a new seam there and do an in-seam buttonhole, as marycds noted. Thanks for a great review!
6/23/07 1:12 PM
Modiste Madness said...
You are right it is a "smart jacket" thanks to your construction skills and choice of fabric. I love its stylish but simple look
6/23/07 1:11 PM
OP Gal said...
Simply stunning. The fabric color is gorgeous and the button looks great. Very clever idea to take it to a tailor.
6/21/07 9:23 AM
Karine said...
Allie, your jacket is beautiful - love the fabric. I would probably not have looked at this pattern because of the front cut, but your modification makes a huge difference. I like it a lot! I've had similar issues with buttons - another solution is to cover large snaps and sew them on the garment and attach the button on top.
6/21/07 8:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Nice color! This jacket is superb!
6/21/07 2:26 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty
6/20/07 11:10 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Marycds - the photo does look like there is a horizontal seam where the button is doesn't it? But there isn't, I think this is a crease from wearing it sitting down, it needs a pressing!
6/20/07 7:30 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Very chic, and much nicer than the pattern envelope would lead you to believe.
6/20/07 7:11 PM
Membear said...
Very smart. The buttonhole save was very forutitous .
6/20/07 7:06 PM
Kim Winson said...
Lovely! I've been looking for some easy jacket patterns...thanks for reviewing this one. I'm sold..
6/20/07 6:44 PM
SillyValley said...
I'm so glad to hear this was easy to sew! I bought this pattern and having never made a jacket before I was a little worried. Little "toppers" like these are perfect for taking the air conditioning chill off during the hot summer months.
6/20/07 6:39 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Great jacket - love the cap sleeve - I bet it looks very flattering on!
6/20/07 4:49 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great looking jacket. Love the color!
6/20/07 4:28 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow this is pretty! I love the reshaping of the front, you did it flawlessly. Great idea to send out the buttonhole. That gives me permission for when I just can't face them... Thanks for a great review
6/20/07 3:39 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous jacket, love the button and fabric....and sleeves..all round teriffic!
6/20/07 3:25 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely! That dupioni looks beautiful.
6/20/07 2:13 PM
marycds said...
I like your version best. I think it looks much better with your reshaped front. Great job and great jacket. Could you have done an "inseam" buttonhole? Is that where it hits?
6/20/07 12:46 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute, especially the way you reshaped the front.
6/20/07 12:06 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Wow, I saw the picture and thought "no way that is VERY EASY!" Your mods make it look much better than the pattern picture - great job, beautiful jacket!
6/20/07 11:25 AM
Levone said...
Cute jacket! I love the color.
6/20/07 10:33 AM
moss said...
that's gorgeous, I have been eyeing this pattern for a while but your jacket is really hot :)
6/20/07 10:20 AM
Re Becca said...
You did a great job on the collar! I passed on this pattern for the very reasons that you mentioned, but with your pattern alterations I like it. Thanks for the review. I love the color as well, and the single button looks good and very worth the hassle.
6/20/07 10:12 AM
latebloomer said...
This is adorable! Great save with the button, too. I've never even noticed this pattern in the catalogue before. Looks like another item to add to my wishlist.
6/20/07 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 7186 (circa 1955)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Simplicity 3315

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

More Info
WhatNots

WhatNots

More Info