Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8331 (Very Easy Vogue jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1273 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/07 9:09 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
latebloomer said...
This is adorable! Great save with the button, too. I've never even noticed this pattern in the catalogue before. Looks like another item to add to my wishlist.
6/20/07 9:28 AM
Re Becca said...
You did a great job on the collar! I passed on this pattern for the very reasons that you mentioned, but with your pattern alterations I like it. Thanks for the review. I love the color as well, and the single button looks good and very worth the hassle.
6/20/07 10:12 AM
moss said...
that's gorgeous, I have been eyeing this pattern for a while but your jacket is really hot :)
6/20/07 10:20 AM
Levone said...
Cute jacket! I love the color.
6/20/07 10:33 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Wow, I saw the picture and thought "no way that is VERY EASY!" Your mods make it look much better than the pattern picture - great job, beautiful jacket!
6/20/07 11:25 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute, especially the way you reshaped the front.
6/20/07 12:06 PM
marycds said...
I like your version best. I think it looks much better with your reshaped front. Great job and great jacket. Could you have done an "inseam" buttonhole? Is that where it hits?
6/20/07 12:46 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely! That dupioni looks beautiful.
6/20/07 2:13 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous jacket, love the button and fabric....and sleeves..all round teriffic!
6/20/07 3:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow this is pretty! I love the reshaping of the front, you did it flawlessly. Great idea to send out the buttonhole. That gives me permission for when I just can't face them... Thanks for a great review
6/20/07 3:39 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great looking jacket. Love the color!
6/20/07 4:28 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Great jacket - love the cap sleeve - I bet it looks very flattering on!
6/20/07 4:49 PM
SillyValley said...
I'm so glad to hear this was easy to sew! I bought this pattern and having never made a jacket before I was a little worried. Little "toppers" like these are perfect for taking the air conditioning chill off during the hot summer months.
6/20/07 6:39 PM
Kim Winson said...
Lovely! I've been looking for some easy jacket patterns...thanks for reviewing this one. I'm sold..
6/20/07 6:44 PM
Membear said...
Very smart. The buttonhole save was very forutitous .
6/20/07 7:06 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Very chic, and much nicer than the pattern envelope would lead you to believe.
6/20/07 7:11 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Marycds - the photo does look like there is a horizontal seam where the button is doesn't it? But there isn't, I think this is a crease from wearing it sitting down, it needs a pressing!
6/20/07 7:30 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty
6/20/07 11:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Nice color! This jacket is superb!
6/21/07 2:26 AM
Karine said...
Allie, your jacket is beautiful - love the fabric. I would probably not have looked at this pattern because of the front cut, but your modification makes a huge difference. I like it a lot! I've had similar issues with buttons - another solution is to cover large snaps and sew them on the garment and attach the button on top.
6/21/07 8:43 AM
OP Gal said...
Simply stunning. The fabric color is gorgeous and the button looks great. Very clever idea to take it to a tailor.
6/21/07 9:23 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are right it is a "smart jacket" thanks to your construction skills and choice of fabric. I love its stylish but simple look
6/23/07 1:11 PM
cyndylou said...
Lovely! I think that horizontal crease could suggest a design opportunity: draft a new seam there and do an in-seam buttonhole, as marycds noted. Thanks for a great review!
6/23/07 1:12 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love what you did with this! Beautiful color.
6/23/07 9:21 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely perfect. And I love the necklace too.
6/24/07 7:35 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Neat style. I like the original pattern version & your variation. (Good idea on the alterations shop.)
6/29/07 9:10 PM
Hilary said...
What a*gorgeous* jacket!! Yours is beautiful-I never would have looked twice at this pattern, but I *love* this...a jacket for hot summers-perfect! Great idea to take it to an alterations shop for the buttonhole! Oh, and the reshaping of the front is a vast improvement, as well. Thanks for a great review!
7/3/07 9:51 PM
Birgitte said...
So beautiful and cute and fabulous... The necklace is fantastic too!
7/4/07 5:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Was I asleep when this review was first posted? I love that jacket. Yippee - another pattern to buy! Hope my results are as good as yours.
7/4/07 6:24 PM
Kathi R said...
I think your design changes make the jacket, nice work - thanks for the review
7/28/07 2:28 PM
Betsybobbin said...
I don't know how I missed your review of this jacket, but I think it's gorgeous! I like your taste in patterns and fabrics! Elizabeth
1/9/08 9:50 PM
Haute.Couturiere said...
Lovely! I am getting this pattern. Thanks for the great review.
9/30/09 7:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 2172 misses costume
photo
Review by j Renee De... on 10/31/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5145 Misses Coat
photo
Review by mollymolly on 8/28/11
Read Review

Burda 8351 Pattern
Burda 8351 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6229 Pattern
New Look 6229 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us