SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8331 (Very Easy Vogue jackets)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1274 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/07 9:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
latebloomer said...
This is adorable! Great save with the button, too. I've never even noticed this pattern in the catalogue before. Looks like another item to add to my wishlist.
6/20/07 9:28 AM
Re Becca said...
You did a great job on the collar! I passed on this pattern for the very reasons that you mentioned, but with your pattern alterations I like it. Thanks for the review. I love the color as well, and the single button looks good and very worth the hassle.
6/20/07 10:12 AM
moss said...
that's gorgeous, I have been eyeing this pattern for a while but your jacket is really hot :)
6/20/07 10:20 AM
Levone said...
Cute jacket! I love the color.
6/20/07 10:33 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Wow, I saw the picture and thought "no way that is VERY EASY!" Your mods make it look much better than the pattern picture - great job, beautiful jacket!
6/20/07 11:25 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute, especially the way you reshaped the front.
6/20/07 12:06 PM
marycds said...
I like your version best. I think it looks much better with your reshaped front. Great job and great jacket. Could you have done an "inseam" buttonhole? Is that where it hits?
6/20/07 12:46 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely! That dupioni looks beautiful.
6/20/07 2:13 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Gorgeous jacket, love the button and fabric....and sleeves..all round teriffic!
6/20/07 3:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow this is pretty! I love the reshaping of the front, you did it flawlessly. Great idea to send out the buttonhole. That gives me permission for when I just can't face them... Thanks for a great review
6/20/07 3:39 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great looking jacket. Love the color!
6/20/07 4:28 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Great jacket - love the cap sleeve - I bet it looks very flattering on!
6/20/07 4:49 PM
SillyValley said...
I'm so glad to hear this was easy to sew! I bought this pattern and having never made a jacket before I was a little worried. Little "toppers" like these are perfect for taking the air conditioning chill off during the hot summer months.
6/20/07 6:39 PM
Kim Winson said...
Lovely! I've been looking for some easy jacket patterns...thanks for reviewing this one. I'm sold..
6/20/07 6:44 PM
Membear said...
Very smart. The buttonhole save was very forutitous .
6/20/07 7:06 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Very chic, and much nicer than the pattern envelope would lead you to believe.
6/20/07 7:11 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Marycds - the photo does look like there is a horizontal seam where the button is doesn't it? But there isn't, I think this is a crease from wearing it sitting down, it needs a pressing!
6/20/07 7:30 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty
6/20/07 11:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Nice color! This jacket is superb!
6/21/07 2:26 AM
Karine said...
Allie, your jacket is beautiful - love the fabric. I would probably not have looked at this pattern because of the front cut, but your modification makes a huge difference. I like it a lot! I've had similar issues with buttons - another solution is to cover large snaps and sew them on the garment and attach the button on top.
6/21/07 8:43 AM
OP Gal said...
Simply stunning. The fabric color is gorgeous and the button looks great. Very clever idea to take it to a tailor.
6/21/07 9:23 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are right it is a "smart jacket" thanks to your construction skills and choice of fabric. I love its stylish but simple look
6/23/07 1:11 PM
cyndylou said...
Lovely! I think that horizontal crease could suggest a design opportunity: draft a new seam there and do an in-seam buttonhole, as marycds noted. Thanks for a great review!
6/23/07 1:12 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love what you did with this! Beautiful color.
6/23/07 9:21 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely perfect. And I love the necklace too.
6/24/07 7:35 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Neat style. I like the original pattern version & your variation. (Good idea on the alterations shop.)
6/29/07 9:10 PM
Hilary said...
What a*gorgeous* jacket!! Yours is beautiful-I never would have looked twice at this pattern, but I *love* this...a jacket for hot summers-perfect! Great idea to take it to an alterations shop for the buttonhole! Oh, and the reshaping of the front is a vast improvement, as well. Thanks for a great review!
7/3/07 9:51 PM
Birgitte said...
So beautiful and cute and fabulous... The necklace is fantastic too!
7/4/07 5:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Was I asleep when this review was first posted? I love that jacket. Yippee - another pattern to buy! Hope my results are as good as yours.
7/4/07 6:24 PM
Kathi R said...
I think your design changes make the jacket, nice work - thanks for the review
7/28/07 2:28 PM
Betsybobbin said...
I don't know how I missed your review of this jacket, but I think it's gorgeous! I like your taste in patterns and fabrics! Elizabeth
1/9/08 9:50 PM
Haute.Couturiere said...
Lovely! I am getting this pattern. Thanks for the great review.
9/30/09 7:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Pin-up Girls 1230

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review