SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8229 (Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1477 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/07 3:18 AM
Last Updated:6/25/07 4:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
It's doupioni, because it's shiny with horizontal slubs. Raw silk looks more woven, may have slubs in both directions, and is always matte. Good dress :-). Must look great with that coat, I'm sure you were the star of the party.
6/25/07 4:36 AM
sam7992 said...
This is so beautiful,the whole outfit reminds me of something doris day would wear in those 1960s films,I love it!
6/25/07 4:58 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress.
6/25/07 7:06 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. You've turned a fairly ordinary pattern into something very dramatic with your fabric choice and yoke changes.
6/25/07 7:19 AM
Tiner W said...
How cute! Gorgeous fabric and outfit!
6/25/07 8:53 AM
Zaneta said...
I love it!! Your fabric choice is divine...
6/25/07 9:02 AM
craftyshark said...
Wow, that's a great outfit! Very nice choice of fabric. This gives me a little incentive to finish mine soon!
6/25/07 9:07 AM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress! THat fabric is beautiful!
6/25/07 10:57 AM
SewLil said...
I would love to see this on you. Great job. I am also a beginner at sewing for myself and a few months ago also discovered The Loft. Now I have to get rid of all my stash so my hubby will let me buy more!
6/25/07 11:00 AM
LBJ said...
That dress looks fabulous in doupioni! What a versitile pattern. Great job!
6/25/07 11:02 AM
MissCelie said...
That fabric really makes your dress standout. Love the dress. You've definitely made it cocktail and chic.
6/25/07 11:52 AM
krissie said...
I love what you've done pairing the fabric and pattern- wonderful! I've been searching for a pattern like this so I'm happy to read your review. There's a popular dress like this now, sleeveless with nailheads on the yoke, that I want to copy. Thanks!
6/25/07 1:15 PM
janella said...
i just love the outfit. The coat does make it look good. I have three of V8229 already in my cupboard, but I love yours. PS: I like that green wallpaper...nice and calming. I had similar problems with the neckline and had to take it out a couple of times before it fit right.
6/25/07 2:50 PM
Donna H said...
Really beautiful! Love your fabric choice.
6/25/07 5:50 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is one of the best versions I have seen of this dress. Love how you used the fabric! Just beautiful!
6/25/07 9:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great dress - fabulous fabric!
6/25/07 11:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Great fabric. Looks great with coat!
6/26/07 6:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very beautiful dress! Love it with the coat.
6/26/07 7:45 AM
lmg said...
A happy marriage of fabric and pattern. Wow.
6/27/07 0:23 AM
apriljay said...
omg that's beautiful, nice job! I can't wait to make this, I'm eagerly awaiting my pattern to arrive in the mail :)
8/30/07 3:44 AM
apost said...
Hello Markie: I have one question regarding the dress above. Was the fabric striped or did you use some sort of fabric blocking technique? It's beautiful!
11/17/08 8:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2178

photo
by: e84lt

Review