SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8229 (Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1477 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/07 3:18 AM
Last Updated:6/25/07 4:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
It's doupioni, because it's shiny with horizontal slubs. Raw silk looks more woven, may have slubs in both directions, and is always matte. Good dress :-). Must look great with that coat, I'm sure you were the star of the party.
6/25/07 4:36 AM
sam7992 said...
This is so beautiful,the whole outfit reminds me of something doris day would wear in those 1960s films,I love it!
6/25/07 4:58 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful dress.
6/25/07 7:06 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. You've turned a fairly ordinary pattern into something very dramatic with your fabric choice and yoke changes.
6/25/07 7:19 AM
Tiner W said...
How cute! Gorgeous fabric and outfit!
6/25/07 8:53 AM
Zaneta said...
I love it!! Your fabric choice is divine...
6/25/07 9:02 AM
craftyshark said...
Wow, that's a great outfit! Very nice choice of fabric. This gives me a little incentive to finish mine soon!
6/25/07 9:07 AM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress! THat fabric is beautiful!
6/25/07 10:57 AM
SewLil said...
I would love to see this on you. Great job. I am also a beginner at sewing for myself and a few months ago also discovered The Loft. Now I have to get rid of all my stash so my hubby will let me buy more!
6/25/07 11:00 AM
LBJ said...
That dress looks fabulous in doupioni! What a versitile pattern. Great job!
6/25/07 11:02 AM
MissCelie said...
That fabric really makes your dress standout. Love the dress. You've definitely made it cocktail and chic.
6/25/07 11:52 AM
krissie said...
I love what you've done pairing the fabric and pattern- wonderful! I've been searching for a pattern like this so I'm happy to read your review. There's a popular dress like this now, sleeveless with nailheads on the yoke, that I want to copy. Thanks!
6/25/07 1:15 PM
janella said...
i just love the outfit. The coat does make it look good. I have three of V8229 already in my cupboard, but I love yours. PS: I like that green wallpaper...nice and calming. I had similar problems with the neckline and had to take it out a couple of times before it fit right.
6/25/07 2:50 PM
Donna H said...
Really beautiful! Love your fabric choice.
6/25/07 5:50 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is one of the best versions I have seen of this dress. Love how you used the fabric! Just beautiful!
6/25/07 9:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great dress - fabulous fabric!
6/25/07 11:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Great fabric. Looks great with coat!
6/26/07 6:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very beautiful dress! Love it with the coat.
6/26/07 7:45 AM
lmg said...
A happy marriage of fabric and pattern. Wow.
6/27/07 0:23 AM
apriljay said...
omg that's beautiful, nice job! I can't wait to make this, I'm eagerly awaiting my pattern to arrive in the mail :)
8/30/07 3:44 AM
apost said...
Hello Markie: I have one question regarding the dress above. Was the fabric striped or did you use some sort of fabric blocking technique? It's beautiful!
11/17/08 8:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other 3HP000000

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now