Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8151 (Sandra Betzina Today's Fit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1506 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:tamtay
photo
About tamtaystar
CA USA
Member since: 8/20/03
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/07 2:15 AM
Last Updated:7/1/07 11:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
I believe it was Sandra who taught me to bring the shoulder seam forward when I had a problem with looser garments sliding forward. Not a forward shoulder alteration mind you, just bring the whole seam forward 1/2". I've always found it to do the trick... Anyway, this certainely looks perfect on you :-).
6/30/07 5:48 AM
Liane M said...
You look fantastic! Your tee shirt is great too.
6/30/07 6:20 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Very nice. A sleek minimalist look that requires great fit - you can't buy RTW that fits like this top fits you. Congratulations!
6/30/07 7:05 AM
carolynw said...
That's one nice fitting Tee - great work!
6/30/07 9:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Tami, doesn't it feel great to get it right? You certainly got it right on this one. Make more changes if you must, but this one is a keeper. I love the neckline on you.
6/30/07 10:38 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WoooHooo! Great job and fit. It's sooo good to see you again...it's been a long time. Welcome back.
6/30/07 12:52 PM
Peggy L said...
Great fit! and congratulations on having a TNT for future t-shirts.
6/30/07 2:29 PM
Carolyndh said...
I agree with everyone else. Awesome fit and great looking T-shirt!
6/30/07 11:28 PM
tamtay said...
Hi everyone! Thanks for the comments! Fuzzygalore--re the forward shoulders--I recently realized (after decades of sewing) that I have sloped shoulders and that is why all shirts slide down my back--duh! I still might do the forward shoulder alteration because the shoulder seam starts in the correct spot but ends just behind my shoulder joint. Marylynn, thanks for the welcome back! I haven't posted in sooo long!
7/1/07 0:01 AM
MareeAlison said...
Tamtay - great review. I have this pattern and for some reason never noticed the plain T pattern only the wrap version. Since we seem to have a similar shape, I'm going to try this next. If I ever get my sewing room back that is. Thx.
7/1/07 3:39 AM
moushka said...
What a brilliant deduction re easing the back to fit over the hips! All the women in my family have high hip fluff; it sounds like allowing for that bit of easing in the waist to hip side seams might be just what we all need. You look beautiful in your impeccably fitting tee. Thanks for a five star review. Sue
7/1/07 8:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a fabulous fit - and now you have a TNT pattern for many in different colors.
7/1/07 11:52 AM
CSY said...
Well done.
7/1/07 12:05 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top--very becoming. Thanks for the detailed review. I have this pattern and haven't used it yet, but plan to. I'll refer to your review for the good tips when I do!
7/1/07 12:27 PM
Jane S said...
Bravo to you for your perseverance and such a good result. I'm about to start this same process with this pattern and we have similar fitting and sizes so it's great to have your inspiration spurring me onward.
7/1/07 1:02 PM
Lou05 said...
A simply super job and review! You look terrific. I'm going to try leaving off the dart and try out some of your adjustments. Thanks for all the detail.
7/1/07 7:26 PM
MareeAlison said...
Tamtay - did you choose the size based on your bust or high bust measurement?
7/1/07 8:34 PM
Sanibelle said...
It fits you beautifully. I just got this pattern in the mail today and seeing how great it looks on you will be a great motivation. Thank you for such a helpful review.
7/2/07 10:22 AM
tamtay said...
MareeAlison, my upper bust is 38"; my full bust is 45". I bought based on my upper bust size expecting to do an FBA. On the front I cut size D--38" bust--through the shoulders and cut size F--43" bust--from the underarm down. Between the give of the knit fabric and my narrow back (I cut the back to size D all the way to the waist) the bust fits w/o an fba.
7/2/07 3:17 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Fuzzygalore, can you tell me what you mean by '...bring the shoulder seam forward ...not a forward shoulder alteration mind you, just bring the whole seam forward ...'? Does this mean set the shoulder seam forward at both the neck edge and the sleeve cap by the same amount? (PS I would have posted this to you privately but you have your settings set to NO for emails.)
7/13/07 4:53 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Love this t-shirt pattern. It fits me perfectly but you are right about narrowing the sleeve cap.
7/13/07 11:45 PM
mssewcrazy said...
i love your shirt. Thanks for all the hints for fitting and sewing it.
11/27/07 6:20 PM
katie lynne said...
This is simply a beautiful fit you've achieved. Thank you for all of your tweaking tips. I have a very similar shape and I have this pattern; so I'm going to give it a whirl!
1/3/09 5:36 PM
TalyQ said...
Thank you for this review. I am working on fitting this pattern and I am a F/G cup. I have to lower the dart just like you did, but it also appears I do not need a FBA. I am going to continuing tweaking this pattern, sicne it has so many good reviews.
2/8/09 11:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Colette Patterns 1003 Parfait
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/14/14
Read Review

Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size )
Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )
Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6964 Lingerie
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/26/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us