SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8323 (Very Easy Vogue Knit Tops)

61 more reviews
Viewed 1738 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/07 2:07 AM
Last Updated:7/26/08 7:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. This looks absolutely perfect on you, but a bit loose on the dressform - time to add a bit of padding :-)? And how about a bit of tea-dyeing if you can't stand the color? It's not a subdued color, you'll end up not wearing this great top if you can't make it work better for you. I'd volunteer to take it off your hands if not :-)..
7/5/07 4:06 AM
Annette1 said...
Yeah, I've never been able to figure out that dress form. It seems like the shoulders are so big, I have to make the whole thing smaller to get stuff on it, if you know what I mean. If I expand it out to my measurements, it makes everything seem too little, even though in actuality, it isn't. :o( So ... I end up just using it as a hanger -- ha! I never thought of tie dye. :o)
7/5/07 4:13 AM
Bruna said...
Hi Annette, I just love your reviews. Thank you for this review, I have this pattern in my stash and one day I'll get around to making it up. My BIG bust is my biggest problem and has caused me much grief in pattern adjustment but this pattern may be easier than many others. Regards, Bruna.
7/5/07 4:49 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, I think this looks great! And, yes, narrower shoulders will definitely make for a better looking fit next time but as it is, it looks fine. I absolutely love the colour and it matches your personality perfectly - lively and exuberant! I also like what you've done with the neckline and the centre front and back seams. It's a stylish garment.
7/5/07 6:50 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, not tie dye! TEA dye, make a strong black tea and dunk whatever in it to soften the color (make sure it's soaked overnight in water first for even dyeing). But come to think of it, I'd probably like it tie-dyed too :-).
7/5/07 8:08 AM
carolynw said...
Good work Annette - I cut this out about a year ago but got put off by the fit in the shoulder. Left it in plain view in my sewing room so it's bugging me to try again - with your review may give it another turn. Mine is black - want to swap? LOL
7/5/07 9:00 AM
Linda F said...
Take that center seam you put in the back and take it in up near the neck, taperig back down to the original seam at the waist. The neck looks a little wide too. You will see that it will bring in the neck and pull up the shoulder seams to sit in the right place. You will be amazed at the fit from this one little alteration.
7/5/07 11:14 AM
Hilary said...
Pretty shirt! I like the front seams, its a nice detail!
7/5/07 11:22 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great review and pretty tee. Personally, I love the color ... and your personality! ;-)
7/5/07 11:24 AM
Annette1 said...
Fuzzgalore: GREAT idea! I misread the "tea-dye," and I must say I like that idea MUCH better than tie-dye -- ha! I may just give that a try. And Linda F, I'm sure I would have thought of that center back seam idea given, oh, 10 or 20 years. :o) Give this one a try, Bruna, I bet you'll really like it. Thanks everybody for all your great ideas! I've never had so many "sewing buddies," especially here in Po Dunk, USA, where you have to drive 25 miles just to buy a zipper. This is great!
7/5/07 12:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like the center front seam. All those vertical lines are so slimming. I may have to try that on the next one, if there is. I have made two from this pattern and like them both.
7/6/07 8:35 PM
AngieC said...
I love this top on you! My favorite ready-to-wear top is this v-neck princess seamed top... so comfy! Running out to buy it tonight~ Thank you for your detailed review.
7/25/07 10:37 PM
AngieC said...

7/25/07 11:43 PM
Sew'n'go said...
I love the CF seam. Odd numbers... hmmm, I think you might be on to something.
7/27/07 3:31 PM
Robin Denning said...
Your black t-shirt and cheap sunglasses look FAB!
7/26/08 6:01 PM
Judith Applestein said...
I loved this review- thank you so much
7/26/08 6:44 PM
Athene said...
Ooh, that style of top looks so great on you, I too love those sunglasses with the top. Thank you for the very informative review.
7/26/08 7:24 PM
Mahler said...
Great fit ! I love that top on you. The white sunglasses look is cool.
7/26/08 10:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
All amazing and sensational tops, Annette! Cool style and impeccable fit! Thanks for sharing your methods of construction! It's about time to write a book, because you make everything very easy to understand! Hey, those sunglasses are so totally Grace Kelly! I also adore your new profile pic!
7/27/08 11:09 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. What a great fit! I love the seams. The black looks great on you, sunglasses and all.
7/27/08 12:17 PM
Kay Y said...
What a great versatile top pattern! Looks good on you (I like the black, white & red combo idea a lot).
7/27/08 12:33 PM
Karendee said...
Great Job! As usual, you have "hit the nail on the head." Thanks for the thorough FBA instructions; one can never learn too much about that adjustment. These t's look lovely on you; just your style!
7/27/08 2:08 PM
papago said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I have this pattern and the fba and sleeve alteration tips were great. I am a 36DDD and need both alterations. The tops look great on you! Thank you, Laura.
7/27/08 2:58 PM
Lou05 said...
Great job. It looks terrific and your alteration instructions are really clear and helpful!
5/9/09 4:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8259

photo
by: becca a

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now