SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2007-124 (Top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1737 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/07 11:28 AM
Last Updated:7/25/07 8:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 47 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
Vonne, thanks for the great review.. I am glad you got it to work.. I need to look at this pattern I love it on you.. I wonder how it would look on me.
7/21/07 11:39 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, what a fabulously detailed review. I'm sure there are many thankful folks out there who may not have otherwise attempted this top and now can proceed with confidence. Your test sew top looks great and now I'll be waiting to see the review of your "good" top.
7/21/07 11:40 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Vonne, it seems to me that you don't necessarily need to do your Steps 5,6,&7. Just as on other twist tops, won't this small area be hidden behind the knot? I know on the twist top with the underbust support, I just left that area without turning the SA. You don't even see this area under the knot so why clip and sew down the SA? BTW, your final top is going to be fantastic since this one is already wonderful on you when pinned to fit. Thank you so much for putting this review together. Sleep tight!
7/21/07 11:45 AM
Nancy K said...
Thanks! I trashed a twist top because I was tired and made a mess of it. I looked at this top and thought it was just lovely but I was very confused by the instructions.Your illustrated directions are really great. I would love it if you would post how you have resized this as I would have to resize down 2 sizes in the neck and shoulders. Thanks for a terrific review.
7/21/07 11:47 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty! Too bad you don't like the fabric since that's a great color on you. But I'm sure your final version will be lovely too. I'd like to try this pattern for winter ... in about 6 months!
7/21/07 12:23 PM
TrixieD said...
I was planning to give this top a try with a slinky material. You made the task seems less daunting with your detailed notes and good pictures. thanks
7/21/07 12:33 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. What a helpful review Vonne!
7/21/07 12:35 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Is there a way to rate a review beyond very helpful? This is one of the most extensive and helpful reviews I have ever read. Kudos Vonne for tackling this one for all of us!
7/21/07 12:54 PM
lmg said...
Looks fantastic. Can't wait to see the next version.
7/21/07 1:08 PM
Erica B. said...
I think the top is beautiful and I love the fabric and the color is very flattering on you.
7/21/07 2:23 PM
Deb Fox said...
May I ask, how did you grade down to a 40-42? I love Burda Plus styles, but haven't quite gotten my mind around just how to downsize. I usually use a 40 for the neck and shoulders then go out to a 42 at the underam.
7/21/07 3:26 PM
blue mooney said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Thanks for the review, the instructions, and the tip about the sizing. I can't wait to see your improved, resized version.
7/21/07 4:12 PM
*Pepper* said...
Wow! That is one beautiful top. Thank you for posting such a detailed review.
7/21/07 4:28 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
thanks so much Vonne for your great review,I also saw this top and wished it came in smaller sizes. It looks very elegant on you already, the next one will be fabulous I am sure. I am tempted to make one too now with all your help.
7/21/07 4:30 PM
Linda G said...
Like everyone else, I really liked this top but trashed the idea because of the sizes being too big....thanks for the review, I may try it sometime with your review close at hand.
7/21/07 5:40 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Thanks for the review and all the great details!!!
7/21/07 7:34 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a lovely choice, and eye-catching top, and a delightfully helpful review! Thanks a million Vonne.
7/21/07 8:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Looking forward to the "real" version. Noice!
7/21/07 9:28 PM
MareeAlison said...
Bee-ooo-ti-ful dahhling! ;-)
7/21/07 10:43 PM
Lilibet said...
I love this version of the twist. I can see it will be gorgeous on you when resized.
7/22/07 2:39 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a great instructive and very helpful review.
7/22/07 9:00 AM
carolynw said...
Looks like you are on a winning streak - once again. The colour is great for you - looking forward to seeing the "new" top - great work Vonnevo
7/22/07 9:14 AM
beangirl said...
Well, I agree with everyone else: this is going to be a great top on you, the color is fab, and this is a wonderfully helpful review! Thanks Vonne!
7/22/07 9:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Wow this is a alteration and sewing lesson in and of itself! Thanks for all your work on the review. I love your top. The adjustments are perfect.
7/22/07 11:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
So very thorough and helpful information. Now that you have it perfected I am sure we will be seeing some other great looking tops from you!
7/23/07 5:17 AM
Judy Williment said...
Thanks for such a comprehensive and helpful review Vonne - I'm planning to make this one myself when the magazine hits our shores, so seeing yours now makes my task a lot easier!
7/23/07 6:32 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very very helpful review Vonne! It looks like you're on the right track to size down that pattern. I don't know how many times I've wished Burda would have made the plus size patterns in regular sizes too. I think it would be much harder to size down to a 36 or 38 so I just keep my fingers crossed I'll find something similar soon.
7/23/07 10:33 AM
Beve said...
Great review! I loved this one too and I would appreciate hearing more about your downsizing. It's a beautiful blouse. Thanks so much for all the info..
7/25/07 8:31 AM
Izzie said...
Thanks for the great review Vonne, I'm printing it off and putting it in my magazine right now.
7/25/07 9:41 AM
Elona said...
Terrific review! I also was charmed by this top, and a bit disheartened when I noticed that it was in the larger size range only.
7/25/07 1:55 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review--almost a tutorial. Thanks.
7/25/07 7:54 PM
kim*brown said...
Love the color, a great piece!
8/2/07 7:14 PM
Meredith P said...
Great review! I too love the plus sizes in WOF, but am a different size. I especially loved this top when I saw it. Please, please, please if you document your downsizing efforts, post them on PR. Thanks!
8/10/07 9:40 AM
brissie71 said...
What a fantastic review, Vonne. I'm just in the process of tracing this one out and was having a few doubts about putting it together. This is way more than helpful!
6/12/09 0:15 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I wish the photo links were still viable. Thanks for the great review. Your top looks great.
7/8/10 12:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Cutting Line Designs 50112

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review