SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-101 (Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:tweedcurtain
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tweedcurtainstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/11/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 1:19 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
motomoda said...
I wanted to make this but had no idea about what fabric to use instead of plisse. Do you think it would work in a knit or some other fabric, if I can't find the sort of thing they recommend? Your version looks lovely.
7/30/07 1:21 AM
tweedcurtain said...
I think you could get away with using a stretch jersey. It seems to me the pattern pieces are smaller than usual, because the plisse will stretch out as the mini pleats have so much give, so Burda allowed for that. As I was using a stripe that will look horrid if stretched out too much, I added an extra inch at the side seams for insurance. So as long as you use a fabric that has a good amount of stretch, you should be okay. It needs to look nice on the reverse side, too, as some underside will show along the flounce.
7/30/07 1:33 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely top, I have this one marked in my BWOF too, just have to find the right fabric.
7/30/07 1:55 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Great looking top. Thanks for this review. I have this pattern traced and will be making it soon. I especially appreciate your discussion of your experience with the fabric. I hope to use this type of fabric and also have no experience with it.
7/30/07 3:18 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I like your version - very nice in the stripes
7/30/07 6:19 AM
MissCelie said...
That's interesting that the v-neck isn't as deep. I like the way it worked out with the stripes.
7/30/07 7:23 AM
mary said...
wow very nice !
7/30/07 7:43 AM
cindyann said...
Adorable! I want it. Perfect fabric for that design.
7/30/07 10:17 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The neckline ruffle is a great feature. Thanks for the advise on widening it and not measuring beforehand.
7/30/07 10:30 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Such a nice summer top - I love it.
7/30/07 10:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another cute top. Interesting fabric.
7/31/07 5:16 AM
jnamcd said...
Love it!
7/31/07 11:28 PM
LianneM said...
This is a lovely blouse and I agree with you, the ruffle is lovely - especially with the stripe fabric.
10/1/07 7:21 PM
JeanEsther said...
Gorgeous! I like your suggestion of gathering first, then cutting to fit. I have this top planned for this weekend.
3/5/08 7:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2473

photo
by: Austragirl

Review