SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-101 (Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:tweedcurtain
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tweedcurtainstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/11/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 1:19 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JeanEsther said...
Gorgeous! I like your suggestion of gathering first, then cutting to fit. I have this top planned for this weekend.
3/5/08 7:41 PM
LianneM said...
This is a lovely blouse and I agree with you, the ruffle is lovely - especially with the stripe fabric.
10/1/07 7:21 PM
jnamcd said...
Love it!
7/31/07 11:28 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Another cute top. Interesting fabric.
7/31/07 5:16 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Such a nice summer top - I love it.
7/30/07 10:58 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The neckline ruffle is a great feature. Thanks for the advise on widening it and not measuring beforehand.
7/30/07 10:30 AM
cindyann said...
Adorable! I want it. Perfect fabric for that design.
7/30/07 10:17 AM
mary said...
wow very nice !
7/30/07 7:43 AM
MissCelie said...
That's interesting that the v-neck isn't as deep. I like the way it worked out with the stripes.
7/30/07 7:23 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I like your version - very nice in the stripes
7/30/07 6:19 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Great looking top. Thanks for this review. I have this pattern traced and will be making it soon. I especially appreciate your discussion of your experience with the fabric. I hope to use this type of fabric and also have no experience with it.
7/30/07 3:18 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely top, I have this one marked in my BWOF too, just have to find the right fabric.
7/30/07 1:55 AM
tweedcurtain said...
I think you could get away with using a stretch jersey. It seems to me the pattern pieces are smaller than usual, because the plisse will stretch out as the mini pleats have so much give, so Burda allowed for that. As I was using a stripe that will look horrid if stretched out too much, I added an extra inch at the side seams for insurance. So as long as you use a fabric that has a good amount of stretch, you should be okay. It needs to look nice on the reverse side, too, as some underside will show along the flounce.
7/30/07 1:33 AM
motomoda said...
I wanted to make this but had no idea about what fabric to use instead of plisse. Do you think it would work in a knit or some other fabric, if I can't find the sort of thing they recommend? Your version looks lovely.
7/30/07 1:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

New Look 6433

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

More Info