Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2007-101 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 599 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:tweedcurtain
photo
Friend of PR
About tweedcurtainstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/11/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 1:19 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
motomoda said...
I wanted to make this but had no idea about what fabric to use instead of plisse. Do you think it would work in a knit or some other fabric, if I can't find the sort of thing they recommend? Your version looks lovely.
7/30/07 1:21 AM
tweedcurtain said...
I think you could get away with using a stretch jersey. It seems to me the pattern pieces are smaller than usual, because the plisse will stretch out as the mini pleats have so much give, so Burda allowed for that. As I was using a stripe that will look horrid if stretched out too much, I added an extra inch at the side seams for insurance. So as long as you use a fabric that has a good amount of stretch, you should be okay. It needs to look nice on the reverse side, too, as some underside will show along the flounce.
7/30/07 1:33 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely top, I have this one marked in my BWOF too, just have to find the right fabric.
7/30/07 1:55 AM
Leslie in NZ said...
Great looking top. Thanks for this review. I have this pattern traced and will be making it soon. I especially appreciate your discussion of your experience with the fabric. I hope to use this type of fabric and also have no experience with it.
7/30/07 3:18 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I like your version - very nice in the stripes
7/30/07 6:19 AM
MissCelie said...
That's interesting that the v-neck isn't as deep. I like the way it worked out with the stripes.
7/30/07 7:23 AM
mary said...
wow very nice !
7/30/07 7:43 AM
cindyann said...
Adorable! I want it. Perfect fabric for that design.
7/30/07 10:17 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The neckline ruffle is a great feature. Thanks for the advise on widening it and not measuring beforehand.
7/30/07 10:30 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Such a nice summer top - I love it.
7/30/07 10:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another cute top. Interesting fabric.
7/31/07 5:16 AM
jnamcd said...
Love it!
7/31/07 11:28 PM
LianneM said...
This is a lovely blouse and I agree with you, the ruffle is lovely - especially with the stripe fabric.
10/1/07 7:21 PM
JeanEsther said...
Gorgeous! I like your suggestion of gathering first, then cutting to fit. I have this top planned for this weekend.
3/5/08 7:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6489
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 7/29/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Olivia and Oliver Pea Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Olivia and Oliver Pea Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2798
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 5/31/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1393 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1393 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us