Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3744 (Misses/Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1417 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Bonnie O
photo
Friend of PR
About Bonnie Ostarstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/28/07
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/07 9:52 PM
Last Updated:8/12/07 3:51 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
Really cute dress!
8/4/07 10:03 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Loud? Not, adorable, yes!
8/4/07 10:04 PM
EveS said...
Ooh this is WAY cuuute!!!! That is fantastic fabric and after seeing yours I'm wishing I added the pocket flaps! Funny, I haven't worn mine to church yet, either. :) p.s. Thanks for the kind mention! :)
8/4/07 10:07 PM
snowflake girl said...
This is adorable. Looks fantastic
8/4/07 10:19 PM
michellep74 said...
Your dress turned out great! I'm adding this pattern to my wishlist.
8/4/07 10:22 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute dress. A nice combination of fabric and buttons.
8/4/07 10:44 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Really cute.
8/4/07 11:42 PM
Lori V said...
So adorable, love the fabric combination and colors.
8/5/07 1:07 AM
Nancywin said...
cute! cute! cute! I love green and black together. What a nice job you did on all the details. I'd wear it to church - but our church is not quite as "sedate" as the catholic church ;-)
8/5/07 1:12 AM
kathi s said...
bdeger, I am currantly working on a muslin for view "C" of this pattern and I have run into the same problem. I flat measured the bodice and there was over 6" of ease! I cut my muslin two sizes smaller and have had to add to the shoulder height but I still have over 2" across the back to deal with. It seems to be made for someone with a very broad short back- . I also love this dress and hope I can solve all my fitting problems before I lose heart. I attended a seminar with Connie Crawford at the ASG conference last weekend. She maintains that all fitting problems are caused by an unbalanced pattern and gave some hints on how to solve them. I am going to review my notes and see if I can work this out. I love your dress- the print is perfect and you seem to have solved the fit problem perfectly. Great job!
8/5/07 2:14 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your dress is really cute! You did a great job with the details. It has a retro look.
8/5/07 7:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress! Love the color combinations.
8/5/07 8:17 AM
lmg said...
Very cute dress. Looks flattering too.
8/5/07 8:55 AM
Nancy K said...
Very hip, retro look! Great version of this dress.
8/5/07 10:03 AM
Donna H said...
Love your dress. I just made mine. According to the pattern, I'm an 18. But I took in about 2 inches all the way around it. Next time I'm cutting a 14. This dress does run large. Thanks for your review.
8/5/07 10:43 AM
LBJ said...
So so cute!
8/5/07 11:18 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, I also adore your take on the dress! Groovy!
8/5/07 2:41 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
holy smokes I just made the same dress in the same fabric" lol! So of course I love yours.
8/6/07 10:42 PM
mrs quickly said...
Simply adorable!
8/7/07 0:04 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - saw this fabric at FM and didn't buy - wish I had it's beautiful
8/12/07 4:07 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute dress.
8/12/07 5:40 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous dress! Looks great on you.
8/12/07 6:12 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress is darling...and I do not believe it is too loud for church at least not at our church..
8/12/07 7:13 PM
Marji said...
love this dress in that print with the black contrast. very pretty
8/14/07 2:35 AM
KitnRose said...
Too chic for words! Great job!
8/14/07 4:40 PM
MissCelie said...
I am so in love with this dress right now. Wow. Love love love the contrast.
8/15/07 2:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us