SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8700 (60's Dress with Pleated Front)

Viewed 635 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/07 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, this is a great '60s pattern. I agree with your Mom, you should sew more of these. Very figure flattering on you.
8/5/07 4:53 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a great dress! It looks so good on you.
8/5/07 4:59 PM
khrome said...
This is SO cute! I love the pleats.
8/5/07 5:12 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely and I agree with your Mom!
8/5/07 6:41 PM
Birgitte said...
Great dress- yes, go and make some more!
8/5/07 8:27 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress is darling...I made that jumper out of blue heather wool for 4_H when I was a kid. I also made a white blouse with a tie bow out of a fabric we called whipped cream. I am sure you would win a blue ribbon with your dress!! Your review brought back memories! I noticed the price...65 cents...of course they never went on sale so when you thing of 99 cent sales in this day and age we really are getting a good deal on patterns today.
8/5/07 10:57 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I can't imagine wearing a jumper again (last time was in Grade 5) but just love the lengthening effect of sleeveless dresses. This one is fabulous, and for what a great price. Wear it with a big smile!
8/6/07 0:21 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! I LOVE that "happy and silly" picture. :o) This looks so nice on you! I agree with your mom, you should make more!
8/6/07 2:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Happy and silly is a good state :-). And you two look great. I didn't mind the look of the stiff fabric in the blouse, but I'm sure it -feels- better when you have something else on underneath.
8/6/07 2:48 AM
TrixieD said...
The dress looks great on you.
8/6/07 9:17 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice dress...pretty style and fabric on you! I remember this style...:)) Thanks for the review.
8/6/07 10:59 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
I love the reviews of these oop patterns! I always feel inspired to work on some of the 60's gems I've thrifted. I must go against the grain, though, and say I think the shirt is really fabulous. Something about the collar ... very sweet!
8/7/07 5:58 PM
nicegirl said...
Love this! I was excited to see what you'd come up with for the vintage sewing contest and I am not disappointed (and hope there is more to come?). I am thinking of a jumper for fall, so it's great to see one.
8/7/07 11:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Deer&Doe Robe Sureau

photo
by: punkmik

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now
McCall's 6608

photo
by: Larisa

Review