SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8700 (60's Dress with Pleated Front)

Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/07 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Love this! I was excited to see what you'd come up with for the vintage sewing contest and I am not disappointed (and hope there is more to come?). I am thinking of a jumper for fall, so it's great to see one.
8/7/07 11:28 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
I love the reviews of these oop patterns! I always feel inspired to work on some of the 60's gems I've thrifted. I must go against the grain, though, and say I think the shirt is really fabulous. Something about the collar ... very sweet!
8/7/07 5:58 PM
Mufffet said...
Nice dress...pretty style and fabric on you! I remember this style...:)) Thanks for the review.
8/6/07 10:59 AM
TrixieD said...
The dress looks great on you.
8/6/07 9:17 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Happy and silly is a good state :-). And you two look great. I didn't mind the look of the stiff fabric in the blouse, but I'm sure it -feels- better when you have something else on underneath.
8/6/07 2:48 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! I LOVE that "happy and silly" picture. :o) This looks so nice on you! I agree with your mom, you should make more!
8/6/07 2:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I can't imagine wearing a jumper again (last time was in Grade 5) but just love the lengthening effect of sleeveless dresses. This one is fabulous, and for what a great price. Wear it with a big smile!
8/6/07 0:21 AM
Linda G said...
Your dress is darling...I made that jumper out of blue heather wool for 4_H when I was a kid. I also made a white blouse with a tie bow out of a fabric we called whipped cream. I am sure you would win a blue ribbon with your dress!! Your review brought back memories! I noticed the price...65 cents...of course they never went on sale so when you thing of 99 cent sales in this day and age we really are getting a good deal on patterns today.
8/5/07 10:57 PM
Birgitte said...
Great dress- yes, go and make some more!
8/5/07 8:27 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely and I agree with your Mom!
8/5/07 6:41 PM
khrome said...
This is SO cute! I love the pleats.
8/5/07 5:12 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a great dress! It looks so good on you.
8/5/07 4:59 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, this is a great '60s pattern. I agree with your Mom, you should sew more of these. Very figure flattering on you.
8/5/07 4:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6041

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now