Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8700 (60's Dress with Pleated Front)

Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews: 302 (patterns: 302)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/07 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said... (8/7/07 11:28 PM) Reply
Love this! I was excited to see what you'd come up with for the vintage sewing contest and I am not disappointed (and hope there is more to come?). I am thinking of a jumper for fall, so it's great to see one.
CrescentaLuna said... (8/7/07 5:58 PM) Reply
I love the reviews of these oop patterns! I always feel inspired to work on some of the 60's gems I've thrifted. I must go against the grain, though, and say I think the shirt is really fabulous. Something about the collar ... very sweet!
Mufffet said... (8/6/07 10:59 AM) Reply
Nice dress...pretty style and fabric on you! I remember this style...:)) Thanks for the review.
TrixieD said... (8/6/07 9:17 AM) Reply
The dress looks great on you.
fuzzygalore said... (8/6/07 2:48 AM) Reply
Happy and silly is a good state :-). And you two look great. I didn't mind the look of the stiff fabric in the blouse, but I'm sure it -feels- better when you have something else on underneath.
Annette1 said... (8/6/07 2:00 AM) Reply
Ha! I LOVE that "happy and silly" picture. :o) This looks so nice on you! I agree with your mom, you should make more!
Seamingly Simple said... (8/6/07 0:21 AM) Reply
I can't imagine wearing a jumper again (last time was in Grade 5) but just love the lengthening effect of sleeveless dresses. This one is fabulous, and for what a great price. Wear it with a big smile!
Linda G said... (8/5/07 10:57 PM) Reply
Your dress is darling...I made that jumper out of blue heather wool for 4_H when I was a kid. I also made a white blouse with a tie bow out of a fabric we called whipped cream. I am sure you would win a blue ribbon with your dress!! Your review brought back memories! I noticed the price...65 cents...of course they never went on sale so when you thing of 99 cent sales in this day and age we really are getting a good deal on patterns today.
Birgitte said... (8/5/07 8:27 PM) Reply
Great dress- yes, go and make some more!
carolynw said... (8/5/07 6:41 PM) Reply
Lovely and I agree with your Mom!
khrome said... (8/5/07 5:12 PM) Reply
This is SO cute! I love the pleats.
Bonnie O said... (8/5/07 4:59 PM) Reply
What a great dress! It looks so good on you.
Frogstitcher said... (8/5/07 4:53 PM) Reply
Wow, this is a great '60s pattern. I agree with your Mom, you should sew more of these. Very figure flattering on you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Lutterloh OOP Lutterloh Sup175 #267

photo
by: Lagolden2

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Pattern Details