Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2568 (Women's underwear) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 2327 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Immelu
photo
Friend of PR
About Immelustar
KS USA
Member since: 5/6/06
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 9:47 PM
Last Updated:9/3/12 6:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mochalover said...
Very nice. I may have to look into purchasing this pattern. Again, great job!
8/12/07 10:04 PM
Lisa Merry said...
These turned out so pretty!
8/12/07 10:33 PM
Robin Denning said...
Your bikinis look very professional! I have found lingerie to be easy and so fast. I have only made 3 panties, but that was all it took to convince me that I need to make more. Another great source is www.sewsassy.com. I am not affiliated with them, just a happy customer.
8/12/07 10:39 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty. You've saved yourself a fortune by making them yourself. These aren't cheap in RTW.
8/12/07 10:55 PM
mon-petite said...
very pretty will have to give the pattern a try!!
8/12/07 11:20 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Great pants and beautiful colors, congrats:-)
8/13/07 0:38 AM
Happy go lucky said...
These are so cute. I have some RTW ones myself and they look sexy on, even if you're not supermodel proportions.
8/13/07 2:23 AM
khrome said...
Wow! They look like you bought them at Victoria's Secret for $40 each! I never thought of making my own - I will have to keep that in mind. Great job!
8/13/07 3:13 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I love this pattern too, in fact it's become a TNT. Great idea about extending the crotch length and thanks for the laces link!
8/13/07 7:56 AM
JuliaS said...
These look adorable and sexy! I'm considering trying out some lingerie sewing, and you make me want to do it quite soon.
8/13/07 2:15 PM
Immelu said...
Thanks for the comments everyone! These really are simple to sew. I extended the crotch up two sizes and that probably added just about 2 inches or so in total crotch depth, and that made them so much better. They cover to the top of my rear, AND they sit better over top of my thighs. The hip distance that you choose your size by though seems to be right on. Also, if you're thinking about making these, I recommend you buy some of that invisible thread, then just cut and go to town. So far, I'm a huge fan of the invisible thread. :)
8/13/07 7:10 PM
Re Becca said...
I really hate to tell you how much I paid at Victorias Secret for a pair just like this! I will have to get that pattern and try since they really were comfortable
8/13/07 7:44 PM
Kim Winson said...
Very cute!! Do you find that the center seam is comfortable? That's the only reason why I've held back on buying this pattern.
8/13/07 10:05 PM
SewTwin said...
Thanks for the xref for the lace vendor.I also like to buy FOE on EBay.Thanks for the review.
8/14/07 1:26 AM
Immelu said...
Hey Kim, I find these as comfortable as any thong, if not more so. I accidentally cut the wrong size for a couple of the pairs and went too small, with those, it is less than comfortable since they keep pulling higher on my hips and the center seam just seems to cut in higher and higher as the day goes on. But, with the ones that I cut that are the right size, they are fine. In fact, I don't even notice the center seam, however, they do fit like a thong, particularly as time goes on, but there's no uncomfortable-ness. I think if you're used to regular panties, these would be an adjustment, but in my opinion, they're as good as, if not better than any thong. And frankly...I think they're sexier b/c they have more coverage...but not too much. :) If you're not sure, I'd try to buy a similar pair and see what you think before making them. The fit of this pair looks pretty similar... http://www2.victoriassecret.com/commerce/application/prodDisplay/?namespace=productDisplay&origin=onlineProductDisplay.jsp&event=display&prnbr=3C-213646&page=2&cgname=OSPTYTGSZZZ&rfnbr=2633
8/14/07 6:33 PM
lizzie123 said...
oh my goodness those look great! what width of stretch lace did you buy? i noticed on the ebay store they sell 5" and 8" widths. they really look like a million bucks!
10/20/07 5:34 PM
JoanneM said...
These look great! Did you use picot edge elastic for the legs or did you simple zig zag the edges? If you used elastic where did you find it? I cant find it anywhere ! Thank you!
5/21/09 7:22 AM
Immelu said...
Joanne, I did use picot edge elastic. I found it at needle nook fabrics here in Wichita. She has it available in many colors. I think she'll do mail orders too.
5/21/09 8:30 AM
mhk3boys said...
Your panties look really great! the link you posted for the ebay merchant says they are no longer there.
5/21/09 1:09 PM
JoanneM said...
Thank you!
5/21/09 8:56 PM
Restart06 said...
Thanks for sharing. I am in the process of starting making my own, but have been intimidated until now. Thanks again.
9/3/12 7:06 PM
simplypaloma said...
Thanks so much for the review... does anyone have the link to the seller on Ebay or know of another one? I know this is old, thank you!
9/4/12 7:18 PM
Immelu said...
simplypaloma, try this! http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot-10-yds-Cobalt-Black-Red-Orange-Magenta-White-STRETCH-lace-4-7-FREE-SHIP-/370645307092?pt=Sewing_Trims&hash=item564c2e8ed4 This seller seems to have lots of stretch laces. I don't think I've ever ordered from them, they were just the first one that I found.
9/4/12 11:54 PM
JDpenelope said...
Just reading this terrific review. Have learned so much from it, and thanks for all of your tips. Looks like you have mastered the techniques, which can be so daunting, and also the pesky task of acquiring appropriate fabric and trims. Very helpful!
10/24/13 8:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5455 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by dextergirl on 7/8/10
Read Review

Vogue 8944 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8944 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6000 Pattern ( Size )
Butterick 6000 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6621 Blouse
photo
Review by Julie G on 6/13/08
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us