Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8353 (Divine Details ShirtwaistDress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1672 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Marji
photo
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/07 12:43 PM
Last Updated:8/13/07 1:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
So So said...
I think you have acheived what you set out to do Marji. Excellant results as usual.
8/13/07 12:50 PM
zetor said...
That is some dress, well done.So unique. It looks great on you. My dd liked this pattern so I've sent your review on to her.
8/13/07 1:12 PM
Nancy K said...
I have been watching your blog for progress on this fabulous dress. Brava! Terrific interpretation of the RTW dress. I loved this dress too, but I was not up to recreating it. It is really flattering on you and gives you that enviable hour glass shape.
8/13/07 1:15 PM
LauraTS said...
Super cool - love how the review goes through your thought process about how to approach the whole thing. A lovely and unique dress.
8/13/07 1:41 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just fantastic, Marji! The details are perfect, you look like "moveable art". Thanks for the very detailed review.
8/13/07 1:59 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, your dress is a work of art. It is worth 7000.00.
8/13/07 2:08 PM
merry-one said...
What a beautiful dress! Can't wait to see the next version...
8/13/07 2:18 PM
Re Becca said...
WOW, the smocking is something else. I love the fabric as it is, but you made it wow.
8/13/07 2:20 PM
Liana said...
Gorgeous dress, Marji! You do the most beautiful work.
8/13/07 2:28 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow -- the contrast smocking makes this a knockout of a dress, and the lines are perfect for your shape too. Could you add a close up for your keyhole buttonholes for us to admire? Thansk........
8/13/07 3:20 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a beautiful dress you have created Marji, you look fabulous in it. Thanks for the great review and smocking tips. Enjoy your lovely dress!!
8/13/07 4:10 PM
bluenines said...
a beautiful dress, it is a work of art, thank you for sharing it with us
8/13/07 4:23 PM
rivergum said...
Wow! I'm speechless. This is a real work of art.
8/13/07 6:57 PM
mendospot said...
Wow!!!
8/13/07 8:03 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! Your dress is fantastic and so beautiful on you. Thanks for sharing such a detailed and thoughtful review!
8/13/07 8:25 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
WOW!!!
8/13/07 8:38 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible dress.
8/13/07 9:34 PM
Bonnie O said...
Holy Cow! That is awesome!
8/13/07 9:48 PM
Sic said...
Amazing! It's like a work of art!
8/13/07 10:32 PM
Skymom said...
I pulled that B-V dress photo out of Vogue and stared at it longingly for quite a while, and I can't believe what a wonderful job you've done of recreating it. Gorgeous!
8/13/07 11:15 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fantastic Marji! Beautiful work!
8/13/07 11:35 PM
Diane E said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!
8/14/07 1:14 AM
Heathar said...
Marji, I love your reviews! I learn something from you each time, even if it's not a project I'd take on myself. Thanks!!
8/14/07 1:54 AM
trinicity said...
absolutely beautiful, no words
8/14/07 5:42 AM
cecelia said...
Wow and double Wow! This is one beautiful, one-of-a-kind dress. I can't believe what you did with the smocking. If I had $7,000, I'd pay it!!
8/14/07 8:52 AM
PhyllisC said...
Stellar review Marji. I think this is one of the best examples of "reverse engineering" in a design & sewing project that I have ever seen!
8/14/07 8:57 AM
cmarie12 said...
Love the dress!
8/14/07 9:57 AM
Donna H said...
Woo Hoo Marji. You def. got a winner. Beautiful work. Congrats!
8/14/07 11:00 AM
Annette1 said...
Your workmanship is SO impressive, as is your creativity. Bravo!
8/14/07 5:47 PM
dresscode said...
I was just taking a break from cutting out a "jiffy" knit wrap dress...and then I see this! I really can appreciate all the work you've placed into this $7,000 dress. Congratulations!
8/14/07 6:50 PM
Erica B. said...
Again, this dress is magnificent! What a marvelous job!
8/14/07 8:01 PM
MissCelie said...
I am painfully jealous of your skills. This is so creative and smart. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Again you have made something that leaves me smacking my forehead saying, "Did she really make this at home??" Gorgeous.
8/15/07 2:44 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a great work of art!
8/25/07 7:33 PM
Queenofhearts said...
I just got this pattern on sale at Jo-anne's and I have to say, your version is simply stunning! I praise your creativity and skill!
1/4/08 1:13 PM
AuntieBat said...
Love it. Very sassy & fun. May I ask - did the smocking ultimately require just doubling or actually tripling the fabric requirement given on the envelope?
7/30/08 5:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5454 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 1/2/12
Read Review

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Named Clothing Andy coat Andy coat
photo
Review by thewall on 12/22/13
Read Review

Burda 7207 Pattern
Burda 7207 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8652 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8652 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us