SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8353 (Divine Details ShirtwaistDress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1675 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/07 12:43 PM
Last Updated:8/13/07 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
So So said...
I think you have acheived what you set out to do Marji. Excellant results as usual.
8/13/07 12:50 PM
zetor said...
That is some dress, well done.So unique. It looks great on you. My dd liked this pattern so I've sent your review on to her.
8/13/07 1:12 PM
Nancy K said...
I have been watching your blog for progress on this fabulous dress. Brava! Terrific interpretation of the RTW dress. I loved this dress too, but I was not up to recreating it. It is really flattering on you and gives you that enviable hour glass shape.
8/13/07 1:15 PM
LauraTS said...
Super cool - love how the review goes through your thought process about how to approach the whole thing. A lovely and unique dress.
8/13/07 1:41 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just fantastic, Marji! The details are perfect, you look like "moveable art". Thanks for the very detailed review.
8/13/07 1:59 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, your dress is a work of art. It is worth 7000.00.
8/13/07 2:08 PM
merry-one said...
What a beautiful dress! Can't wait to see the next version...
8/13/07 2:18 PM
Re Becca said...
WOW, the smocking is something else. I love the fabric as it is, but you made it wow.
8/13/07 2:20 PM
Liana said...
Gorgeous dress, Marji! You do the most beautiful work.
8/13/07 2:28 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow -- the contrast smocking makes this a knockout of a dress, and the lines are perfect for your shape too. Could you add a close up for your keyhole buttonholes for us to admire? Thansk........
8/13/07 3:20 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a beautiful dress you have created Marji, you look fabulous in it. Thanks for the great review and smocking tips. Enjoy your lovely dress!!
8/13/07 4:10 PM
bluenines said...
a beautiful dress, it is a work of art, thank you for sharing it with us
8/13/07 4:23 PM
rivergum said...
Wow! I'm speechless. This is a real work of art.
8/13/07 6:57 PM
mendospot said...
Wow!!!
8/13/07 8:03 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! Your dress is fantastic and so beautiful on you. Thanks for sharing such a detailed and thoughtful review!
8/13/07 8:25 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
WOW!!!
8/13/07 8:38 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible dress.
8/13/07 9:34 PM
Bonnie O said...
Holy Cow! That is awesome!
8/13/07 9:48 PM
Sic said...
Amazing! It's like a work of art!
8/13/07 10:32 PM
Skymom said...
I pulled that B-V dress photo out of Vogue and stared at it longingly for quite a while, and I can't believe what a wonderful job you've done of recreating it. Gorgeous!
8/13/07 11:15 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fantastic Marji! Beautiful work!
8/13/07 11:35 PM
Diane E said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!
8/14/07 1:14 AM
Heathar said...
Marji, I love your reviews! I learn something from you each time, even if it's not a project I'd take on myself. Thanks!!
8/14/07 1:54 AM
trinicity said...
absolutely beautiful, no words
8/14/07 5:42 AM
cecelia said...
Wow and double Wow! This is one beautiful, one-of-a-kind dress. I can't believe what you did with the smocking. If I had $7,000, I'd pay it!!
8/14/07 8:52 AM
PhyllisC said...
Stellar review Marji. I think this is one of the best examples of "reverse engineering" in a design & sewing project that I have ever seen!
8/14/07 8:57 AM
cmarie12 said...
Love the dress!
8/14/07 9:57 AM
Donna H said...
Woo Hoo Marji. You def. got a winner. Beautiful work. Congrats!
8/14/07 11:00 AM
Annette1 said...
Your workmanship is SO impressive, as is your creativity. Bravo!
8/14/07 5:47 PM
dresscode said...
I was just taking a break from cutting out a "jiffy" knit wrap dress...and then I see this! I really can appreciate all the work you've placed into this $7,000 dress. Congratulations!
8/14/07 6:50 PM
Erica B. said...
Again, this dress is magnificent! What a marvelous job!
8/14/07 8:01 PM
MissCelie said...
I am painfully jealous of your skills. This is so creative and smart. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Again you have made something that leaves me smacking my forehead saying, "Did she really make this at home??" Gorgeous.
8/15/07 2:44 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a great work of art!
8/25/07 7:33 PM
Queenofhearts said...
I just got this pattern on sale at Jo-anne's and I have to say, your version is simply stunning! I praise your creativity and skill!
1/4/08 1:13 PM
AuntieBat said...
Love it. Very sassy & fun. May I ask - did the smocking ultimately require just doubling or actually tripling the fabric requirement given on the envelope?
7/30/08 5:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8604

photo
by: konniekapo...

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now