Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1587 (Retro Vogue copy) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1146 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Blooms
photo
About Bloomsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/2/06
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/07 8:26 PM
Last Updated:8/31/07 8:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
Looks wonderful on you; great job of drafting, and you look great in red. One question, though - does this really qualify for the Vintage Sewing contest, since you didn't actually use a vintage pattern (if I understand correctly)?
8/31/07 8:57 PM
sewbehind said...
That looks great. You did a wonderful job in recreating the pattern.
8/31/07 10:26 PM
tomed said...
Way cool! Looks fabulous on you!
8/31/07 10:32 PM
Sharon M said...
This is beautiful! I love how you recreated the dress from a vintage pattern. The neckline is great and red was the perfect color choice.
8/31/07 10:37 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I love this! 60's fashion was the best.
8/31/07 11:32 PM
yummymummy38 said...
this looks very wearable and clever you making a vintage dress without buying the pattern! Wish Mum had kept her Vogue couture patterns (must ask her if she has!)
9/1/07 2:54 AM
jlg said...
Such a cute dress.
9/1/07 5:28 AM
BillieJean said...
I love this on you. You did a beautiful job of recreating the pattern. Congratulations!
9/1/07 5:43 AM
XandraReynolds said...
You HAVE to wear this to the Tupperware party!!! You are a smashing woman and you make this linen version look fabulous on you! I think wool crepe was a great idea, so if you ever do another one of these dresses, be sure to post it for all to see as well. Great job on the details at the neckline-Best Wishes!!
9/1/07 8:00 AM
Peggy L said...
The dress looks great - and great on you. What a fun project!! Thanks for the review.
9/1/07 8:43 AM
OP Gal said...
Lovely dress. You did a wonderful job of adapting the pattern.
9/1/07 9:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Well drafted and a gorgeous tribute to 60's design!
9/1/07 12:42 PM
cecelia said...
Well, I think you did a wonderful job of replicating that pattern. Although your dress looks terrific as is, I hope you find your "special fabric."
9/1/07 2:49 PM
Physics Girl said...
Blooms: I have this original pattern somewhere in the stash... perhaps I can look it up and answer some of your questions about its drafting. I haven't made it up yet because I haven't found the perfect fabric for it either. :) I love your mock-up of it though... maybe it'll inspire me to look for fabric! (although oops...too much in the stash already!)
9/1/07 6:50 PM
lmg said...
Fantastic work and a beautiful dress
9/1/07 11:04 PM
loridiane said...
This is SOOO cute!
9/2/07 5:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2852
photo
Review by graysquirr... on 5/4/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kimono Tee
Kimono Tee

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-112
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 2/3/10
Read Review

New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us