SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1493 (longsleeve jersey)

Viewed 2336 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/07 10:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
Oooh, I like the details on this one. Your resulting interpretation is a knockout.
9/1/07 10:56 AM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful top
9/1/07 11:18 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Love your top! You did a great job!
9/1/07 11:20 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice to see your experiences with Marfy. I'm also just starting with Marfy patterns. Like your version of this top. It's flattering you.
9/1/07 11:27 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very flattering style and sewn up beautifully. Looking forward to some more Marfy reviews, I've loved both so far!
9/1/07 11:48 AM
Heatherrique said...
Impeccable fit!
9/1/07 12:40 PM
ChristineX said...
Sexy top!! I'll have to get that pattern.
9/1/07 12:43 PM
mahalosu said...
That looks so good on you. I just received my Fall catalogue, and now maybe I might try it. I really am hooked on Marfy patterns. The fit is so great.
9/1/07 1:42 PM
U. Chicago said...
Definitely very flattering. It makes the "ladies" look good and your waist look super tiny! Nice job in the back.
9/1/07 7:43 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks great and the details are really unusual (especially in a knit shirt). I have a Marfy pattern that says "pleat" where I think it means "gather" as well. So which other Marfy patterns did you order? What reviews can we look forward to? :-)
9/1/07 8:11 PM
lmg said...
I WAS sitting on the fence about this pattern but after seeing yours I'm convinced. I wasn't planning on the cutting the lower bits on the bias either!
9/1/07 11:17 PM
Marilyn N. said...
I enjoy hearing about Marfy patterns & your top looks great.
9/2/07 1:24 AM
julesberry said...
KathleenS: I was going to message you with what I ordered from Marfy but you don't have messages switched on so I can't. I don't want to pressurise myself by telling everyone what I bought :-o , but I whittled it down to seven. Some of those are quite long-term because I have a plan to make a suit - sometime. I even have some fabric. But don't expect it anytime soon! Other than that I fancied that pin-stripe piss-take skirt and also a couple of the more casual items.
9/2/07 3:32 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Your shirt looks fabbo. The only thing I would query is the placement of the sleeve head ..... too big or supposed to be a dropped sleeve?
9/2/07 5:39 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Looks very smart on you. I wondered from the picture if a stretchy knit would be difficult. Thank you for your detailed review, you look great!
9/2/07 9:34 AM
julesberry said...
Helen (near Sydney): I think it is not that the pattern is too big exactly but the super-stretchiness and drapiness of the fabric. I think the shoulder it is being stretched by the weight of the arm, and it might have helped to stabilise the shoulders more strongly. Put it this way - the shoulder was in the right place before I sewed the arm on! :-o
9/2/07 9:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooh! This is lovely. I like all your fancy bits very much!
9/2/07 9:50 AM
cindyann said...
I really love your top. Fabulous!
9/2/07 1:16 PM
julesberry said...
Helen (near Sydney): I replied and said I thought it was fabric stretch rather than the pattern, and although I think this contributes - the shoulders become more dropped with wear - I am wearing the top today and have decided you are right - the shoulders and back-neck together are around a cm too long.
9/2/07 5:48 PM
KathleenS said...
If you can be bothered to email me I'd love to know which patterns. I'm so nosey. But it doesn't matter if not. I'll show you the Marfy pattern I've had for four years and haven't sewn yet if you like. Oops. You're way ahead of me.
9/3/07 5:06 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for persuading me off the fence on this one (and the skirt). I had trouble visualising how the top would look in real fabric, now I know... stunning. Really love it. I too would love to know which patterns you bought as I am very nosy.
9/6/07 3:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fashion in Harmony 803

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now