SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1493 (longsleeve jersey)

Viewed 2340 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/07 10:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for persuading me off the fence on this one (and the skirt). I had trouble visualising how the top would look in real fabric, now I know... stunning. Really love it. I too would love to know which patterns you bought as I am very nosy.
9/6/07 3:49 AM
KathleenS said...
If you can be bothered to email me I'd love to know which patterns. I'm so nosey. But it doesn't matter if not. I'll show you the Marfy pattern I've had for four years and haven't sewn yet if you like. Oops. You're way ahead of me.
9/3/07 5:06 AM
julesberry said...
Helen (near Sydney): I replied and said I thought it was fabric stretch rather than the pattern, and although I think this contributes - the shoulders become more dropped with wear - I am wearing the top today and have decided you are right - the shoulders and back-neck together are around a cm too long.
9/2/07 5:48 PM
cindyann said...
I really love your top. Fabulous!
9/2/07 1:16 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooh! This is lovely. I like all your fancy bits very much!
9/2/07 9:50 AM
julesberry said...
Helen (near Sydney): I think it is not that the pattern is too big exactly but the super-stretchiness and drapiness of the fabric. I think the shoulder it is being stretched by the weight of the arm, and it might have helped to stabilise the shoulders more strongly. Put it this way - the shoulder was in the right place before I sewed the arm on! :-o
9/2/07 9:36 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Looks very smart on you. I wondered from the picture if a stretchy knit would be difficult. Thank you for your detailed review, you look great!
9/2/07 9:34 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Your shirt looks fabbo. The only thing I would query is the placement of the sleeve head ..... too big or supposed to be a dropped sleeve?
9/2/07 5:39 AM
julesberry said...
KathleenS: I was going to message you with what I ordered from Marfy but you don't have messages switched on so I can't. I don't want to pressurise myself by telling everyone what I bought :-o , but I whittled it down to seven. Some of those are quite long-term because I have a plan to make a suit - sometime. I even have some fabric. But don't expect it anytime soon! Other than that I fancied that pin-stripe piss-take skirt and also a couple of the more casual items.
9/2/07 3:32 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I enjoy hearing about Marfy patterns & your top looks great.
9/2/07 1:24 AM
lmg said...
I WAS sitting on the fence about this pattern but after seeing yours I'm convinced. I wasn't planning on the cutting the lower bits on the bias either!
9/1/07 11:17 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks great and the details are really unusual (especially in a knit shirt). I have a Marfy pattern that says "pleat" where I think it means "gather" as well. So which other Marfy patterns did you order? What reviews can we look forward to? :-)
9/1/07 8:11 PM
U. Chicago said...
Definitely very flattering. It makes the "ladies" look good and your waist look super tiny! Nice job in the back.
9/1/07 7:43 PM
mahalosu said...
That looks so good on you. I just received my Fall catalogue, and now maybe I might try it. I really am hooked on Marfy patterns. The fit is so great.
9/1/07 1:42 PM
ChristineX said...
Sexy top!! I'll have to get that pattern.
9/1/07 12:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impeccable fit!
9/1/07 12:40 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very flattering style and sewn up beautifully. Looking forward to some more Marfy reviews, I've loved both so far!
9/1/07 11:48 AM
Sigrid. said...
Nice to see your experiences with Marfy. I'm also just starting with Marfy patterns. Like your version of this top. It's flattering you.
9/1/07 11:27 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Love your top! You did a great job!
9/1/07 11:20 AM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful top
9/1/07 11:18 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Oooh, I like the details on this one. Your resulting interpretation is a knockout.
9/1/07 10:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2012-113

photo
by: vchan38

Review
The City Bag

The City Bag

More Info
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

More Info