SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 47323-1001 (1951 Vogue Couturier suit 1951)

Viewed 3198 times 
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo

 
 
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/07 1:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Braemar said...
This is a stunning suit and it looks very good on you! I am in Scotland and have also bought fabrics from this seller. They are very good quality and reasonably priced! You have done an excellent job! Best wishes, Mary Anne.
9/1/07 1:43 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous suit. You look great.
9/1/07 1:52 PM
Huldra said...
I'm really impressed that you drafted this yourself. It really is a beautiful suit! And thank you for giving hope to other pears (I'm going to attempt straight skirts too...)!
9/1/07 2:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great draft of a classic! You look wonderful!
9/1/07 2:40 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Really nice suit. I'm super-impressed that you drafted it yourself. Very ambitous with great results!
9/1/07 2:50 PM
cecelia said...
This is so unique and looks wonderful on you--nice job and thanks for the review!
9/1/07 2:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
That suit looks FAB on you!! I too am impressed that you drafted your pattern based on a photo. I'm also thrilled at how wonderful you look in that style - I too am a pear and shy away from straight skirts. Yay on the fabric! I used to live in England (for eight years) and know how pricey good fabric can cost!
9/1/07 3:10 PM
Kay Y said...
This is great - you did an especially nice job on the collar and lapels!
9/1/07 3:18 PM
Kay Y said...
This is great - you did an especially nice job on the collar and lapels!
9/1/07 3:19 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Fabulous suit!! Thank you for showing us the process you went through, it is really inspiring.
9/1/07 3:36 PM
washer_woman said...
Your suit is gorgeous! Excellent job! Very well done!
9/1/07 4:28 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very impressing you drafted this yourself, with this perfect result. FABULOUS.
9/1/07 5:06 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! I'm impressed! And a self-drafted project, too, eh! You look marvy, very UK. Can be very proud of yourself!! Can't wait to see what you do when you're "Advanced"!!
9/1/07 5:22 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fantastic suit! You look wonderful in it, very 50's! Congratulations on a marvellous sewing project.
9/1/07 5:31 PM
Tiner W said...
That's gorgeous, and I am so very impressed that you've drafted it yourself!
9/1/07 6:14 PM
KathleenS said...
As everyone else has said, it's amazing that you drafted this yourself. It looks great. I particularly like the use of stripes, and the buttons.
9/1/07 7:32 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL suit! you did and amazing job and I too, am impressed that you drafted this yourself. Great work!
9/1/07 7:37 PM
U. Chicago said...
Wow. WOW! I think you can upgrade from "intermediate" sewing skills now, after finding a way to make your own pattern from a photo and getting such a fantastic fit!
9/1/07 8:39 PM
Marilyn N. said...
I love your suit, the style, fabric & fit are all perfect!
9/2/07 1:32 AM
morzel said...
What a wonderful, stylish suit! You really look very elegant in it. And you did a great job realising this design.
9/2/07 2:10 AM
Tany said...
What an outstanding suit! I congratulate you for achieving perfect results and for drafting your own pattern!
9/2/07 4:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Absolutely, positively a great fitting and looing suit. You did a fabulous job drafting this. Lovely!
9/2/07 7:54 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
I don't have enough superlatives to praise your triumph! This is a museum worthy piece, you look smashing!
9/2/07 9:35 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This is amazing. Great fit, great look. I'm so impressed that you drafted this yourself. Congratulations on a job well-done.
9/2/07 12:28 PM
cindyann said...
That suit is wonderful! You look smashing in it.
9/2/07 1:07 PM
Nancywin said...
Wow! I am totally impressed. I have not done any pattern drafting and it intimidates me. Your dress is absolutely beautiful - and where did you get those too cool shoes?
9/3/07 0:38 AM
moggy said...
Beautiful, and twice as impressive since you drafted it.
9/5/07 6:15 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*!!! What beautiful work-the fabric is lovely and the suit looks perfectly fitted. Well done!
9/5/07 3:57 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your suit is soo cute and so are your shoes! Great job!
10/1/07 10:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an amazing job of drafting! It looks so authentic too!
10/1/07 11:56 AM
Bonnie O said...
Absolutely fabulous! Can't believe you drafted this yourself.
10/1/07 12:16 PM
LianneM said...
Great suit, I'm really impressed. Absolutely 50's glam!
10/1/07 7:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous! You did such a great job with the drafting. I'm currently drafting/ sewing a jacket so I understand about being bored with it by the end. :) Great job and lovely suit.
10/2/07 3:51 AM
Larkin said...
Wow! What a fabulous project! And, it looks wonderful on you!
10/3/07 9:58 AM
FloraNature said...
Stunning! Beautiful fabric, just right for this suit. I've just purchased a length of suiting fabric from this seller, and am eagerly waiting for it to arrive. His fabric seems very good quality and the blends are very well priced but be prepared to pay an arm and a leg for cashmere! [UPDATE: The fabric arrived today and it is first class and *gorgeous*. He also included a woven satin label of authenticity that can be sewn into garments. The label is navy blue with a golden crest and the British flag and reads "woven in the British Isles"]
10/4/07 8:04 AM
Athene said...
Wow - congratulations on this outfit. You look great.
10/7/07 3:52 AM
eibhlin said...
Wow! Absolutely beautiful!!!!
4/7/09 2:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now