SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2006-116 (Wrap-over sweatshirt)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1075 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/07 8:50 PM
Last Updated:9/5/07 8:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty top! I made that last winter and wore mine a lot - it's so comfy yet stylish!
9/5/07 9:00 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great helpful review - lovely top. I liked that pattern in the mag and really love yours.
9/5/07 9:53 PM
Copper7 said...
I saw on another board where the "Vilene Fuse and Fold" was indeed a typo by Burda (which they are aware of). The correct product should been (as you guessed) Vilene Bias Tape.
9/5/07 10:12 PM
Speech girl said...
Your top is very pretty.
9/5/07 11:24 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really detailed report, nice top, too!
9/6/07 1:36 AM
morzel said...
In the german edition they make you use "Vliesline Formband", a well known product of a company called "Freudenberg".It is a bias tape with a row of stitches in it and is use to stabilize seams that are cut on bias or are of stretchy knits. So, to stabilize the seams with fusible tape is exactly the thing "they" ment you to do! Your shirt looks good! I also sewed this shirt in a thick interlock last winter and liked it.
9/6/07 2:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You can just use clear elastic to stabilize your seams, if you're not in Germany. But the diagonal folds are because you weren't aware of the top being larger than the bottom - you're no doubt meant to gather the extra ease under the bust, which would make a gentle poof in the right place, instead of distributing the extra ease all over.
9/6/07 4:29 AM
utz said...
Very nice. Your choice of thinner fabric than the sweatshirt recommended was a good idea. When I made it (for stash reduction) I used heavier stuff, which make those diagonal 'feature pulls' a little too much and I lost a lot of wearing ease. As for the 90 degree corner at shoulder, that was tricky - I had to pull out sewing books on that one - I think I read about inserting godets - corners inserted into corners - luckily I had marked the seam line. Your's turned out very pretty!
9/6/07 8:16 AM
bunz said...
Really, really great top!
9/6/07 4:31 PM
Sewingmi said...
The top turned out very nice...I enjoyed your review!
9/6/07 7:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive!
9/6/07 7:17 PM
sewkiwi said...
I have this nearly finished. Just the sleeves to go. I had the same problems and thought it would be quick but couldn't quite figure out the instructions until I realised the wrong side of the collar is showing. I was wary but it actually looks ok. I will get it finished and reviewed. Your top looks great.
9/7/07 3:10 AM
megbud3000 said...
Looks very stylish.
9/11/07 5:24 AM
canei said...
hi, that top looks great. what's the burda pattern number? thanks!
8/12/08 8:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6436

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now