Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5376 (Stuff by Hilary Duff Jacket) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 874 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/07 0:25 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Very cool fabric! Great jacket.
9/6/07 0:46 AM
morzel said...
Time was worth it! the fabric really IS cool.
9/6/07 0:58 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oy. You're a much better mother than I'd ever be if you think this is acceptable... I adore the results, the penguins are totally cool and the cut is good. But 32 pieces and 11 hours is way too much for children's clothes, which will be outgrown in 2 weeks. The child would have to live in it constantly, with overnight washing, and I'd still be dissatisfied...
9/6/07 4:24 AM
MarilynB said...
Heather, what a lovely, fun jacket. I hope your daughter gave you a big hug for all your work. Great, detailed review.
9/6/07 6:56 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute. If McCall's intended this pattern to draw the younger set, however, I'm certain it would be more of a turn-off than a turn-on given the number of pieces. It looks great and I hope your dd gets a lot of wear from it after all of that hard work you put in.
9/6/07 8:47 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Cute!!! All of your effort was worth it since your daughters loves it. thanks for the review, great info! I have this pattern need to reconsider.
9/6/07 8:48 AM
moss said...
so cute! It looks fantastic and I love the fabric!!
9/6/07 9:28 AM
pterion said...
You got a really great result, your daughter looks happy and since you wisely sized up, you'll get a couple of years of wear from it. Great mom! Thanks for the review, I've been eyeing this pattern line. If you try the top and capris, do review it again!
9/6/07 10:14 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Too adorable. Your hard work more than paid off. It shows all over yr dd face. Great review.
9/6/07 1:22 PM
bunz said...
terrific!
9/6/07 4:29 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Amazing review. adorable clothes. Thanks for all your effort on the review!
9/6/07 11:39 PM
Tiner W said...
Wow! Thanks for the detailed review! This is very timely as I've just cut out another Hillary Duff outfit (5417) for my DD. I was hoping to start sewing it this weekend, but also feel a bit overwhelmed by the number of pattern pieces! I also cut it a size larger because it does look like a lot of work. DD picked the pattern out--in the future I'll steer her away from the HD patterns!
9/6/07 11:42 PM
cindy-lou said...
what a great outfit! My DS loves that fabric. You're a nice mommy to make a 13-piecxe pattern for your girl!
9/7/07 12:33 PM
karenadey said...
I really like the jacket, I was thinking about making it, but it seems like it's too time consuming. I made the capris for my daughter from this pattern, and they took sooo long to make, i am not making them again, I didn't understand the instructions, and like I said they took long, but they look so nice on my daughter, I forgot how much work they were. I do plan on making the shorts maybe for the next summer.
9/10/07 10:01 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! I'm in admiration mode :) . A child's outfit with 32 pieces and I would have looked the other way LOL. You did a terrific job with this and DD must be absolutely thrilled.
9/17/07 7:01 AM
Annette1 said...
31 pieces! This had been be added to the "keepsake" pile when she outgrows it, along with the pattern, so you can point to it in your old age and say, "SEE what I made for you?" :o) It turned out SO cute, especially with that penguin fabric. This is the first one of the Hillary Duff patterns I've seen made up. I hate to admit it, but I've looked at her patterns and thought, hmmm, wish that came in my size. :o) Very cute jacket and even cuter model!
10/16/07 7:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6959 Child Dresses
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/29/10
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl BO325 Baguette
photo
Review by PursesbyKP on 7/15/10
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us