SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5376 (Stuff by Hilary Duff Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/07 0:25 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
31 pieces! This had been be added to the "keepsake" pile when she outgrows it, along with the pattern, so you can point to it in your old age and say, "SEE what I made for you?" :o) It turned out SO cute, especially with that penguin fabric. This is the first one of the Hillary Duff patterns I've seen made up. I hate to admit it, but I've looked at her patterns and thought, hmmm, wish that came in my size. :o) Very cute jacket and even cuter model!
10/16/07 7:18 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! I'm in admiration mode :) . A child's outfit with 32 pieces and I would have looked the other way LOL. You did a terrific job with this and DD must be absolutely thrilled.
9/17/07 7:01 AM
karenadey said...
I really like the jacket, I was thinking about making it, but it seems like it's too time consuming. I made the capris for my daughter from this pattern, and they took sooo long to make, i am not making them again, I didn't understand the instructions, and like I said they took long, but they look so nice on my daughter, I forgot how much work they were. I do plan on making the shorts maybe for the next summer.
9/10/07 10:01 AM
cindy-lou said...
what a great outfit! My DS loves that fabric. You're a nice mommy to make a 13-piecxe pattern for your girl!
9/7/07 12:33 PM
Tiner W said...
Wow! Thanks for the detailed review! This is very timely as I've just cut out another Hillary Duff outfit (5417) for my DD. I was hoping to start sewing it this weekend, but also feel a bit overwhelmed by the number of pattern pieces! I also cut it a size larger because it does look like a lot of work. DD picked the pattern out--in the future I'll steer her away from the HD patterns!
9/6/07 11:42 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Amazing review. adorable clothes. Thanks for all your effort on the review!
9/6/07 11:39 PM
bunz said...
terrific!
9/6/07 4:29 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Too adorable. Your hard work more than paid off. It shows all over yr dd face. Great review.
9/6/07 1:22 PM
pterion said...
You got a really great result, your daughter looks happy and since you wisely sized up, you'll get a couple of years of wear from it. Great mom! Thanks for the review, I've been eyeing this pattern line. If you try the top and capris, do review it again!
9/6/07 10:14 AM
moss said...
so cute! It looks fantastic and I love the fabric!!
9/6/07 9:28 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Cute!!! All of your effort was worth it since your daughters loves it. thanks for the review, great info! I have this pattern need to reconsider.
9/6/07 8:48 AM
dbsewer said...
Very cute. If McCall's intended this pattern to draw the younger set, however, I'm certain it would be more of a turn-off than a turn-on given the number of pieces. It looks great and I hope your dd gets a lot of wear from it after all of that hard work you put in.
9/6/07 8:47 AM
MarilynB said...
Heather, what a lovely, fun jacket. I hope your daughter gave you a big hug for all your work. Great, detailed review.
9/6/07 6:56 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oy. You're a much better mother than I'd ever be if you think this is acceptable... I adore the results, the penguins are totally cool and the cut is good. But 32 pieces and 11 hours is way too much for children's clothes, which will be outgrown in 2 weeks. The child would have to live in it constantly, with overnight washing, and I'd still be dissatisfied...
9/6/07 4:24 AM
morzel said...
Time was worth it! the fabric really IS cool.
9/6/07 0:58 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Very cool fabric! Great jacket.
9/6/07 0:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8884

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
Create Kids Couture Ruffle Dress

photo
by: Izybel18

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now