SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2759 (Anne Klein suit and top)

16 more reviews
Viewed 899 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/07 7:05 AM
Last Updated:9/9/07 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Good fit - had a laugh at the thought of you pulling out all the white threads - hey - it was worth it if you feel more comfortable without the pin stripe but from where I sit - your shape is just fine!
9/9/07 8:56 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! What an innovative save on your fabric -- I sure can't see a single pin stripe in the picture! I've made this pattern too and love it. I hope you'll post pictures of your next pair.
9/9/07 9:43 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I just got some free pin stripe material and I'm not a pin stripe kinda girl either. I figured I'd use it for muslin material. I think the pants look great- wonderful fit! I've actually taken apart a complete shirt with a seam ripper- it IS a bit therapeutic!
9/9/07 12:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is definitely a GREAT looking pair of pants. They look like they fit you perfectly! And what a great save! Necessity is truly the mother of great inventions! I am finally getting this pattern in my size. I have 2 that are too large and just bought one from the Vogue site in the correct size. I was only planning to make the top and the jacket, but after seeing your review, I'm now planning to make the entire set. Thanks for this wonderful review!
9/9/07 2:45 PM
Annette1 said...
Now, I would never even THINK to pull out pinstripes. :o)) However, I think you could certainly wear them well. These pants must REALLY, REALLY, REALLY look nice on you if they look this good in the picture! Seems like pants pictures never look as good as they do in person. Very innovative on your part, and these pants look GREAT on you.
9/9/07 3:57 PM
rivergum said...
Em's Summer, I love the style of the jacket, but watch out for the sleeves. The top of the sleeve needs redrafting, but I'm not sure how to do this. There will be plenty of people on this site who will be able to tell you though.
9/9/07 6:12 PM
bunz said...
Wow, what a fit! Pulling out the white threads -- gotta love it :-)
9/9/07 6:48 PM
rivergum said...
>>>Seems like pants pictures never look as good as they do in person.>>> Annette1, I think I have this worked out. When you take the photo, you need to stand with your legs apart, so you can see through them all the way up. Then you stick your bum out a bit. You can't see this in the photo, but it pulls the material taught across your thighs and gives a slimmer look than a big dark blob, which is what it looks like when you're standing relaxed with your feet together. This pose makes the photo look a lot more like what the pants look like in reality. Try it next time, it certainly works for me.
9/9/07 7:58 PM
Marji said...
LOL, great save on the pinstripe. This is also my fav go-to pant pattern.
9/10/07 9:29 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thanks for the great review. What a lot of work to remove the pinstripes...IMHO, I always thought they were slimming. Maybe just because I like them... LOL. You look great in your new pants. Looking forward to seeing the other versions you make.
9/10/07 11:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Thanks! I WILL try that next time I have to photograph pants. You're just full of all kinds of good ideas! :o)
9/10/07 12:36 PM
TammyD said...
Beautiful pants. But I can't believe you actually pulled out those threads...
9/10/07 3:29 PM
SewTwin said...
Yea, someone else as OCD as I am! We gotta persevere, but then look what you get when you do..Cool pants.Did you mean you corrected the back seam for swayback?
9/10/07 6:02 PM
Marilyn N. said...
Much better to spend a few hours pulling out threads than to throw away a pair of pants that fit well.
9/10/07 10:09 PM
rivergum said...
SewTwin, itndoes sound like a swayback correction, doesn't it? But I think it's just a big bum-small waist type correction in my case. I take out 3-5 cm each side of the CB, that's 6-10 cm altogether.
9/11/07 5:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8559

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Simplicity 2561

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now