Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2759 (Anne Klein suit and top) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 897 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/07 7:05 AM
Last Updated:9/9/07 7:07 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Good fit - had a laugh at the thought of you pulling out all the white threads - hey - it was worth it if you feel more comfortable without the pin stripe but from where I sit - your shape is just fine!
9/9/07 8:56 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! What an innovative save on your fabric -- I sure can't see a single pin stripe in the picture! I've made this pattern too and love it. I hope you'll post pictures of your next pair.
9/9/07 9:43 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I just got some free pin stripe material and I'm not a pin stripe kinda girl either. I figured I'd use it for muslin material. I think the pants look great- wonderful fit! I've actually taken apart a complete shirt with a seam ripper- it IS a bit therapeutic!
9/9/07 12:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is definitely a GREAT looking pair of pants. They look like they fit you perfectly! And what a great save! Necessity is truly the mother of great inventions! I am finally getting this pattern in my size. I have 2 that are too large and just bought one from the Vogue site in the correct size. I was only planning to make the top and the jacket, but after seeing your review, I'm now planning to make the entire set. Thanks for this wonderful review!
9/9/07 2:45 PM
Annette1 said...
Now, I would never even THINK to pull out pinstripes. :o)) However, I think you could certainly wear them well. These pants must REALLY, REALLY, REALLY look nice on you if they look this good in the picture! Seems like pants pictures never look as good as they do in person. Very innovative on your part, and these pants look GREAT on you.
9/9/07 3:57 PM
rivergum said...
Em's Summer, I love the style of the jacket, but watch out for the sleeves. The top of the sleeve needs redrafting, but I'm not sure how to do this. There will be plenty of people on this site who will be able to tell you though.
9/9/07 6:12 PM
bunz said...
Wow, what a fit! Pulling out the white threads -- gotta love it :-)
9/9/07 6:48 PM
rivergum said...
>>>Seems like pants pictures never look as good as they do in person.>>> Annette1, I think I have this worked out. When you take the photo, you need to stand with your legs apart, so you can see through them all the way up. Then you stick your bum out a bit. You can't see this in the photo, but it pulls the material taught across your thighs and gives a slimmer look than a big dark blob, which is what it looks like when you're standing relaxed with your feet together. This pose makes the photo look a lot more like what the pants look like in reality. Try it next time, it certainly works for me.
9/9/07 7:58 PM
Marji said...
LOL, great save on the pinstripe. This is also my fav go-to pant pattern.
9/10/07 9:29 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thanks for the great review. What a lot of work to remove the pinstripes...IMHO, I always thought they were slimming. Maybe just because I like them... LOL. You look great in your new pants. Looking forward to seeing the other versions you make.
9/10/07 11:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Thanks! I WILL try that next time I have to photograph pants. You're just full of all kinds of good ideas! :o)
9/10/07 12:36 PM
TammyD said...
Beautiful pants. But I can't believe you actually pulled out those threads...
9/10/07 3:29 PM
SewTwin said...
Yea, someone else as OCD as I am! We gotta persevere, but then look what you get when you do..Cool pants.Did you mean you corrected the back seam for swayback?
9/10/07 6:02 PM
Marilyn N. said...
Much better to spend a few hours pulling out threads than to throw away a pair of pants that fit well.
9/10/07 10:09 PM
rivergum said...
SewTwin, itndoes sound like a swayback correction, doesn't it? But I think it's just a big bum-small waist type correction in my case. I take out 3-5 cm each side of the CB, that's 6-10 cm altogether.
9/11/07 5:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us