SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 2724 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/07 5:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
63 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chucklehead said...
You are stunning! I just pulled this from the stash and now that I see yours, am wondering why did I never make this dress?
8/27/14 7:06 PM
Veronimuse said...
I love, love, LOVE that you said "run run run to the bargain fabric bin!" My kind of thinking EXACTLY! :-) Gorgeous dress, looks great on you. Can't wait to order the pattern--and raid the bargain fabric bin shortly thereafter! :-)
4/19/11 2:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous dress. It looks great on you.
5/7/10 6:54 PM
Trenessa said...
I just made this dress, finishing the hem, I'm quite pleased with it. It's similar to your's in that my fabric is striped as well, I hope to post a pic soon. (your's looks great btw) Wanted to thank you, I didn't realize until I read your review that the panels attach under the dress, before you zip up! It's amazing how things work out when do what you're supposed to!!
1/31/08 4:55 PM
Tearsa said...
This is SOOO "southern pretty." You look like you are one of the high society women of leisure enjoying tea on your porch! 2 thumbs up!
11/5/07 7:59 AM
AlexaNJ said...
What a wonderful dress! I love how the stripes - um, I guess chevron is the word? Love it. Great job!
10/12/07 10:45 PM
ariesluv4u said...
Gorgeous!! I don't have the guts to sew stripes in a pattern like this. I absolutely love this!
10/10/07 9:25 PM
Anabolina said...
Wow, this is one I've been on the fence about, but its so going to be one I sew for my vacation. It looks great on you.
10/3/07 2:22 PM
Bonny Dune said...
Cidell, you look FABULOUS!! After reading your review I want to drop everything and make this dress. Just wonderful. Thanks for taking the time to review it.
10/2/07 12:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
Heck of a stunning dress.
10/1/07 3:02 PM
mewiththree said...
That looks great! Great figure too!
9/25/07 1:37 PM
CarolynD said...
Fab! You're a natural at choosing the right fabric for the pattern. A+++++ Looks great on you.
9/25/07 0:23 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wowzers Cidell, that is one gorgeous dress!!! I think I need one too and I love that there are no bust darts, maybe it will fit my flat chest???? ;-)
9/25/07 0:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. You wear it well!
9/24/07 8:35 PM
Bonnie O said...
You are the queen of using the pattern in the fabric to create a very complex look! I love this dress on you!
9/24/07 2:35 PM
DorothyK said...
This is perfect. I love what you've done with the stripes.
9/24/07 12:53 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love it! You chose a great fabric for that dress.
9/24/07 11:03 AM
Karen6790 said...
I have to get this pattern - it looks absolutely adorable on you, and not having to search out a special bra for it makes it just about perfect. 5 yards? Ack, none of my stash is that big. A reason to buy more! Great dress, great review.
9/24/07 10:44 AM
Hilary said...
looks GREAT! I wouldn't have given this a second glance from the cover, but yours looks beautiful in this (fantastic!) bargain fabric! :o)
9/24/07 10:34 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The stripes look wonderful.
9/23/07 9:39 PM
mlsews said...
How adorable. I've been toying with making this pattern for a formal event- looks like I'm going to have to. Its so cute.
9/23/07 9:13 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely as always. You have such a knack for picking styles that are perfect for you.
9/23/07 4:55 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful as usual! This is quite lovely on you and hardly looks vintage at all.
9/23/07 4:31 PM
bunz said...
Pretty, prettty, pretty!
9/23/07 2:54 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You're just too cute!!
9/23/07 1:48 PM
meanjean said...
Wow! You look gorgeouse in your dress. Nice style for you.
9/23/07 11:50 AM
crisford said...
You look fabulous! I love the effect of the stripes!
9/23/07 11:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress and you look fabulous in it. I'd kill for your tiny waist! I saw that fabric on FM and thought about buying some for a shirt. It really made up beautifully in that pattern.
9/23/07 10:25 AM
sewfrequent said...
Cidell, your clothes are so wonderful and everything fits to perfection. I don't know how you do it!
9/23/07 9:32 AM
Fran G said...
Cidell, you look so sweet in this dress..love it..great fit!
9/23/07 7:52 AM
Darla in PA said...
Oh, the dress is gorgeous!
9/23/07 7:37 AM
Robbie Jo said...
Fabulous!! I wouldn't have looked twice at this pattern because I thought it was a halter. Been looking for a dress for a Christmas party--this might be the one. BTW, loved your bio. My mother and I sew, but my dd's don't. Maybe my DGD will ;)
9/23/07 7:19 AM
Tany said...
Wow, Cidell, this dress is beyond GORGEOUS!!!
9/23/07 5:17 AM
madhatter said...
love.this.dress. so stylish, and it suits you so well! a head-turner!
9/23/07 5:12 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a curvy look! It's lovely...
9/23/07 1:09 AM
yaiAnn said...
Beautiful!
9/23/07 1:06 AM
aprilsweetie said...
Another one of your fabulous projects, I wish I had your skills!!!
9/23/07 0:52 AM
Marilyn N. said...
The fabric & pattern look wonderful together, a total success!
9/23/07 0:47 AM
Izzie said...
Fantastic dress! Love it!
9/22/07 11:46 PM
SandraB said...
Really nice Cidell. This dress is very flattering on you.
9/22/07 11:02 PM
ladybegood said...
Gasp! I love it! I must do this dress in stripes. Pardon me as I run off to the bargain bin...
9/22/07 10:14 PM
KathleenS said...
Your dress looks very wearable and not obviously retro (which is a good thing in my opinion). I like that it's not a halter dress - thanks for pointing that out. Oh, it looks great by the way! Forgot to mention that :)
9/22/07 10:01 PM
Skymom said...
I think it really looks up-to-date, even though you used a vintage pattern. Love the stripes.
9/22/07 9:44 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Gorgeous! You look stunning. What a fun piece!
9/22/07 9:37 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
9/22/07 9:35 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh my gosh! Gorgeous. Just gorgeous!!
9/22/07 9:33 PM
kim*brown said...
I really like this on you!
9/22/07 9:27 PM
Enid E said...
I think you need to contact a modeling agency or they should contact you!!! Your sense of style and your figure always flatter the pattern.. Love your work!
9/22/07 9:08 PM
Kellie R. said...
I made this dress too and wrote a review a while ago. I loved the same things as you - the look of a halter but with a full back. It's very flattering on you and the fabric is great!
9/22/07 8:53 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks beautiful on you.
9/22/07 8:52 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Wow, you're so hot they had to get out the fire hoses, eh? :) Wonderful dress and nice choice of fabric.
9/22/07 7:55 PM
sew2little said...
Sophisticated in a casual way--you look great!
9/22/07 7:25 PM
carolynw said...
Cidell I am running out of adjectives to describe your work - will have to do with absolutely 100% fabulous.
9/22/07 6:53 PM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful, Cidell. You look stunning as always.
9/22/07 6:43 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Love it!
9/22/07 6:29 PM
PegL said...
Absolutely beautiful!! Wonderful use of the striped fabric and a great review!
9/22/07 6:21 PM
Tiner W said...
Ooooh! I love it! I have this pattern and would be thrilled to get a result like yours!
9/22/07 6:12 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Cidell, this dress is sooo pretty, you look mighty fine:-) Marita
9/22/07 6:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Beautiful, Cidell! I love everything you make, and you look GREAT in it all, too.
9/22/07 6:10 PM
Athene said...
Looks beautiful.
9/22/07 5:57 PM
So So said...
Great result and enjoyable review to read as always Cidell. Great you can wear an ordinary style bra with this dress. Confident and elegant. All I need is a waist! HA!
9/22/07 5:56 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous Cidell !!!
9/22/07 5:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 244038-1003

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

More Info