SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 2718 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/07 5:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
63 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous Cidell !!!
9/22/07 5:50 PM
So So said...
Great result and enjoyable review to read as always Cidell. Great you can wear an ordinary style bra with this dress. Confident and elegant. All I need is a waist! HA!
9/22/07 5:56 PM
Athene said...
Looks beautiful.
9/22/07 5:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Beautiful, Cidell! I love everything you make, and you look GREAT in it all, too.
9/22/07 6:10 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Cidell, this dress is sooo pretty, you look mighty fine:-) Marita
9/22/07 6:10 PM
Tiner W said...
Ooooh! I love it! I have this pattern and would be thrilled to get a result like yours!
9/22/07 6:12 PM
PegL said...
Absolutely beautiful!! Wonderful use of the striped fabric and a great review!
9/22/07 6:21 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Love it!
9/22/07 6:29 PM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful, Cidell. You look stunning as always.
9/22/07 6:43 PM
carolynw said...
Cidell I am running out of adjectives to describe your work - will have to do with absolutely 100% fabulous.
9/22/07 6:53 PM
sew2little said...
Sophisticated in a casual way--you look great!
9/22/07 7:25 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Wow, you're so hot they had to get out the fire hoses, eh? :) Wonderful dress and nice choice of fabric.
9/22/07 7:55 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks beautiful on you.
9/22/07 8:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
I made this dress too and wrote a review a while ago. I loved the same things as you - the look of a halter but with a full back. It's very flattering on you and the fabric is great!
9/22/07 8:53 PM
Enid E said...
I think you need to contact a modeling agency or they should contact you!!! Your sense of style and your figure always flatter the pattern.. Love your work!
9/22/07 9:08 PM
kim*brown said...
I really like this on you!
9/22/07 9:27 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh my gosh! Gorgeous. Just gorgeous!!
9/22/07 9:33 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
9/22/07 9:35 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Gorgeous! You look stunning. What a fun piece!
9/22/07 9:37 PM
Skymom said...
I think it really looks up-to-date, even though you used a vintage pattern. Love the stripes.
9/22/07 9:44 PM
KathleenS said...
Your dress looks very wearable and not obviously retro (which is a good thing in my opinion). I like that it's not a halter dress - thanks for pointing that out. Oh, it looks great by the way! Forgot to mention that :)
9/22/07 10:01 PM
ladybegood said...
Gasp! I love it! I must do this dress in stripes. Pardon me as I run off to the bargain bin...
9/22/07 10:14 PM
SandraB said...
Really nice Cidell. This dress is very flattering on you.
9/22/07 11:02 PM
Izzie said...
Fantastic dress! Love it!
9/22/07 11:46 PM
Marilyn N. said...
The fabric & pattern look wonderful together, a total success!
9/23/07 0:47 AM
aprilsweetie said...
Another one of your fabulous projects, I wish I had your skills!!!
9/23/07 0:52 AM
yaiAnn said...
Beautiful!
9/23/07 1:06 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a curvy look! It's lovely...
9/23/07 1:09 AM
madhatter said...
love.this.dress. so stylish, and it suits you so well! a head-turner!
9/23/07 5:12 AM
Tany said...
Wow, Cidell, this dress is beyond GORGEOUS!!!
9/23/07 5:17 AM
Robbie Jo said...
Fabulous!! I wouldn't have looked twice at this pattern because I thought it was a halter. Been looking for a dress for a Christmas party--this might be the one. BTW, loved your bio. My mother and I sew, but my dd's don't. Maybe my DGD will ;)
9/23/07 7:19 AM
Darla in PA said...
Oh, the dress is gorgeous!
9/23/07 7:37 AM
Fran G said...
Cidell, you look so sweet in this dress..love it..great fit!
9/23/07 7:52 AM
sewfrequent said...
Cidell, your clothes are so wonderful and everything fits to perfection. I don't know how you do it!
9/23/07 9:32 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress and you look fabulous in it. I'd kill for your tiny waist! I saw that fabric on FM and thought about buying some for a shirt. It really made up beautifully in that pattern.
9/23/07 10:25 AM
crisford said...
You look fabulous! I love the effect of the stripes!
9/23/07 11:36 AM
meanjean said...
Wow! You look gorgeouse in your dress. Nice style for you.
9/23/07 11:50 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You're just too cute!!
9/23/07 1:48 PM
bunz said...
Pretty, prettty, pretty!
9/23/07 2:54 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful as usual! This is quite lovely on you and hardly looks vintage at all.
9/23/07 4:31 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely as always. You have such a knack for picking styles that are perfect for you.
9/23/07 4:55 PM
mlsews said...
How adorable. I've been toying with making this pattern for a formal event- looks like I'm going to have to. Its so cute.
9/23/07 9:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The stripes look wonderful.
9/23/07 9:39 PM
Hilary said...
looks GREAT! I wouldn't have given this a second glance from the cover, but yours looks beautiful in this (fantastic!) bargain fabric! :o)
9/24/07 10:34 AM
Karen6790 said...
I have to get this pattern - it looks absolutely adorable on you, and not having to search out a special bra for it makes it just about perfect. 5 yards? Ack, none of my stash is that big. A reason to buy more! Great dress, great review.
9/24/07 10:44 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love it! You chose a great fabric for that dress.
9/24/07 11:03 AM
DorothyK said...
This is perfect. I love what you've done with the stripes.
9/24/07 12:53 PM
Bonnie O said...
You are the queen of using the pattern in the fabric to create a very complex look! I love this dress on you!
9/24/07 2:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. You wear it well!
9/24/07 8:35 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wowzers Cidell, that is one gorgeous dress!!! I think I need one too and I love that there are no bust darts, maybe it will fit my flat chest???? ;-)
9/25/07 0:21 AM
CarolynD said...
Fab! You're a natural at choosing the right fabric for the pattern. A+++++ Looks great on you.
9/25/07 0:23 AM
mewiththree said...
That looks great! Great figure too!
9/25/07 1:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
Heck of a stunning dress.
10/1/07 3:02 PM
Bonny Dune said...
Cidell, you look FABULOUS!! After reading your review I want to drop everything and make this dress. Just wonderful. Thanks for taking the time to review it.
10/2/07 12:08 PM
Anabolina said...
Wow, this is one I've been on the fence about, but its so going to be one I sew for my vacation. It looks great on you.
10/3/07 2:22 PM
ariesluv4u said...
Gorgeous!! I don't have the guts to sew stripes in a pattern like this. I absolutely love this!
10/10/07 9:25 PM
AlexaNJ said...
What a wonderful dress! I love how the stripes - um, I guess chevron is the word? Love it. Great job!
10/12/07 10:45 PM
Tearsa said...
This is SOOO "southern pretty." You look like you are one of the high society women of leisure enjoying tea on your porch! 2 thumbs up!
11/5/07 7:59 AM
Trenessa said...
I just made this dress, finishing the hem, I'm quite pleased with it. It's similar to your's in that my fabric is striped as well, I hope to post a pic soon. (your's looks great btw) Wanted to thank you, I didn't realize until I read your review that the panels attach under the dress, before you zip up! It's amazing how things work out when do what you're supposed to!!
1/31/08 4:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous dress. It looks great on you.
5/7/10 6:54 PM
Veronimuse said...
I love, love, LOVE that you said "run run run to the bargain fabric bin!" My kind of thinking EXACTLY! :-) Gorgeous dress, looks great on you. Can't wait to order the pattern--and raid the bargain fabric bin shortly thereafter! :-)
4/19/11 2:02 PM
chucklehead said...
You are stunning! I just pulled this from the stash and now that I see yours, am wondering why did I never make this dress?
8/27/14 7:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 7164

photo
by: Sewing in ...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 259307-1000

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review