Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2702 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/07 5:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous Cidell !!!
9/22/07 5:50 PM
So So said...
Great result and enjoyable review to read as always Cidell. Great you can wear an ordinary style bra with this dress. Confident and elegant. All I need is a waist! HA!
9/22/07 5:56 PM
Athene said...
Looks beautiful.
9/22/07 5:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Beautiful, Cidell! I love everything you make, and you look GREAT in it all, too.
9/22/07 6:10 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Cidell, this dress is sooo pretty, you look mighty fine:-) Marita
9/22/07 6:10 PM
Tiner W said...
Ooooh! I love it! I have this pattern and would be thrilled to get a result like yours!
9/22/07 6:12 PM
PegL said...
Absolutely beautiful!! Wonderful use of the striped fabric and a great review!
9/22/07 6:21 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Love it!
9/22/07 6:29 PM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful, Cidell. You look stunning as always.
9/22/07 6:43 PM
carolynw said...
Cidell I am running out of adjectives to describe your work - will have to do with absolutely 100% fabulous.
9/22/07 6:53 PM
sew2little said...
Sophisticated in a casual way--you look great!
9/22/07 7:25 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Wow, you're so hot they had to get out the fire hoses, eh? :) Wonderful dress and nice choice of fabric.
9/22/07 7:55 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks beautiful on you.
9/22/07 8:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
I made this dress too and wrote a review a while ago. I loved the same things as you - the look of a halter but with a full back. It's very flattering on you and the fabric is great!
9/22/07 8:53 PM
Enid E said...
I think you need to contact a modeling agency or they should contact you!!! Your sense of style and your figure always flatter the pattern.. Love your work!
9/22/07 9:08 PM
kim*brown said...
I really like this on you!
9/22/07 9:27 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh my gosh! Gorgeous. Just gorgeous!!
9/22/07 9:33 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
9/22/07 9:35 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Gorgeous! You look stunning. What a fun piece!
9/22/07 9:37 PM
Skymom said...
I think it really looks up-to-date, even though you used a vintage pattern. Love the stripes.
9/22/07 9:44 PM
KathleenS said...
Your dress looks very wearable and not obviously retro (which is a good thing in my opinion). I like that it's not a halter dress - thanks for pointing that out. Oh, it looks great by the way! Forgot to mention that :)
9/22/07 10:01 PM
ladybegood said...
Gasp! I love it! I must do this dress in stripes. Pardon me as I run off to the bargain bin...
9/22/07 10:14 PM
SandraB said...
Really nice Cidell. This dress is very flattering on you.
9/22/07 11:02 PM
Izzie said...
Fantastic dress! Love it!
9/22/07 11:46 PM
Marilyn N. said...
The fabric & pattern look wonderful together, a total success!
9/23/07 0:47 AM
aprilsweetie said...
Another one of your fabulous projects, I wish I had your skills!!!
9/23/07 0:52 AM
yaiAnn said...
Beautiful!
9/23/07 1:06 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a curvy look! It's lovely...
9/23/07 1:09 AM
madhatter said...
love.this.dress. so stylish, and it suits you so well! a head-turner!
9/23/07 5:12 AM
Tany said...
Wow, Cidell, this dress is beyond GORGEOUS!!!
9/23/07 5:17 AM
Robbie Jo said...
Fabulous!! I wouldn't have looked twice at this pattern because I thought it was a halter. Been looking for a dress for a Christmas party--this might be the one. BTW, loved your bio. My mother and I sew, but my dd's don't. Maybe my DGD will ;)
9/23/07 7:19 AM
Darla in PA said...
Oh, the dress is gorgeous!
9/23/07 7:37 AM
Fran G said...
Cidell, you look so sweet in this dress..love it..great fit!
9/23/07 7:52 AM
sewfrequent said...
Cidell, your clothes are so wonderful and everything fits to perfection. I don't know how you do it!
9/23/07 9:32 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress and you look fabulous in it. I'd kill for your tiny waist! I saw that fabric on FM and thought about buying some for a shirt. It really made up beautifully in that pattern.
9/23/07 10:25 AM
crisford said...
You look fabulous! I love the effect of the stripes!
9/23/07 11:36 AM
meanjean said...
Wow! You look gorgeouse in your dress. Nice style for you.
9/23/07 11:50 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You're just too cute!!
9/23/07 1:48 PM
bunz said...
Pretty, prettty, pretty!
9/23/07 2:54 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful as usual! This is quite lovely on you and hardly looks vintage at all.
9/23/07 4:31 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely as always. You have such a knack for picking styles that are perfect for you.
9/23/07 4:55 PM
mlsews said...
How adorable. I've been toying with making this pattern for a formal event- looks like I'm going to have to. Its so cute.
9/23/07 9:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The stripes look wonderful.
9/23/07 9:39 PM
Hilary said...
looks GREAT! I wouldn't have given this a second glance from the cover, but yours looks beautiful in this (fantastic!) bargain fabric! :o)
9/24/07 10:34 AM
Karen6790 said...
I have to get this pattern - it looks absolutely adorable on you, and not having to search out a special bra for it makes it just about perfect. 5 yards? Ack, none of my stash is that big. A reason to buy more! Great dress, great review.
9/24/07 10:44 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love it! You chose a great fabric for that dress.
9/24/07 11:03 AM
DorothyK said...
This is perfect. I love what you've done with the stripes.
9/24/07 12:53 PM
Bonnie O said...
You are the queen of using the pattern in the fabric to create a very complex look! I love this dress on you!
9/24/07 2:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. You wear it well!
9/24/07 8:35 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wowzers Cidell, that is one gorgeous dress!!! I think I need one too and I love that there are no bust darts, maybe it will fit my flat chest???? ;-)
9/25/07 0:21 AM
CarolynD said...
Fab! You're a natural at choosing the right fabric for the pattern. A+++++ Looks great on you.
9/25/07 0:23 AM
mewiththree said...
That looks great! Great figure too!
9/25/07 1:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
Heck of a stunning dress.
10/1/07 3:02 PM
Bonny Dune said...
Cidell, you look FABULOUS!! After reading your review I want to drop everything and make this dress. Just wonderful. Thanks for taking the time to review it.
10/2/07 12:08 PM
Anabolina said...
Wow, this is one I've been on the fence about, but its so going to be one I sew for my vacation. It looks great on you.
10/3/07 2:22 PM
ariesluv4u said...
Gorgeous!! I don't have the guts to sew stripes in a pattern like this. I absolutely love this!
10/10/07 9:25 PM
AlexaNJ said...
What a wonderful dress! I love how the stripes - um, I guess chevron is the word? Love it. Great job!
10/12/07 10:45 PM
Tearsa said...
This is SOOO "southern pretty." You look like you are one of the high society women of leisure enjoying tea on your porch! 2 thumbs up!
11/5/07 7:59 AM
Trenessa said...
I just made this dress, finishing the hem, I'm quite pleased with it. It's similar to your's in that my fabric is striped as well, I hope to post a pic soon. (your's looks great btw) Wanted to thank you, I didn't realize until I read your review that the panels attach under the dress, before you zip up! It's amazing how things work out when do what you're supposed to!!
1/31/08 4:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous dress. It looks great on you.
5/7/10 6:54 PM
Veronimuse said...
I love, love, LOVE that you said "run run run to the bargain fabric bin!" My kind of thinking EXACTLY! :-) Gorgeous dress, looks great on you. Can't wait to order the pattern--and raid the bargain fabric bin shortly thereafter! :-)
4/19/11 2:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Amy Butler AB031LTC
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/16/08
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1302 Tofino pants
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 5/23/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us