SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> AD Slouchy Man Pants (AD Slouchy Man Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1973 times 
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo

 
 
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/07 4:42 AM
Last Updated:9/28/07 9:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Another great job! I believe you can wear any style and it looks good on you.
10/3/07 6:55 AM
LauraLo said...
Thank you, Grammy Gin and thank you for reading my blog too. I never took any sewing classes. I've learned by trial and error indeed (it is a looong process) and then I perfected myself by reading all the wealth of information on the web, looking at what other people make (on the web too) and studying better RTW. But the most important of all is practice, in my opinion. The more you practise, the better you get. So don't let anything get in your way, if you love to sew, and you can manage with your bad left hand! The most important of all is to do things that make you happy and sewing can be one of them.
10/2/07 2:59 AM
Grammy Gin said...
How wonderful as always! How did you learn to be such a great seamstress? Trial & error or by taking classes? You are so inspiring. But at age 66, I will never get 1/10th that good, especially with a bad left hand to work with. I really look forward to all your reviews!! I love reading your blog, too.
10/1/07 3:41 PM
LauraLo said...
thank you all for your compliments! Vivienne, there was no pun intended but when I read it, I laughed too and decided to leave it that way :)
10/1/07 3:35 AM
Vivienne said...
Laura, the trousers are gorgeous (and I love the entire ensemble). But, my favourite part of your review? The unexpected laugh reading in your blog that you "applied everything I discovered by peaking inside men's trousers" hahahhaha!
9/30/07 10:46 AM
akazukinchan said...
It's wonderful that you took the time to add so many details.
9/30/07 5:55 AM
Annette1 said...
I absolutely can't imagine ANY pair of pants being more flattering than these, and that's the truth! I can easily imagine how great they FEEL, too, as you're walking. I'll tell you what, though, I'm about as impressed with your story board as I am your pants! VERY neat!
9/30/07 0:59 AM
Diane E said...
These are some fine-looking trousers, Laura. I really appreciate all the details you included in your review. Thank you!
9/29/07 11:27 PM
Sheila457 said...
Love the Trousers... and the fact that is has a lower rise and the fake pocket.
9/29/07 9:44 PM
April K said...
Wow, your pants are GORGEOUS and your review is extremely helpful. Thanks for all the detail--I'll try your neat fly front extension next time.
9/29/07 8:37 PM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on your stylish pants. Beautifully made!
9/29/07 7:26 PM
Morag said...
What a great, great look! You are so adept at adding a cleverly placed splash of colour to basic black. Also your review was very informative. I learned a great deal from it. When I get round to pants making, I will certainly refer to your advice.
9/29/07 6:26 PM
Nancywin said...
Another great piece! You are really doing some beautiful things with your garments. Thanks for sharing.
9/29/07 10:32 AM
EveS said...
Oh, these are just to die for!!! Super review, as always!!!
9/28/07 10:55 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Wow, LauraLo! I learn so much from all of your reviews and tips. Thank you! You look wonderful in your creations. Thank you for sharing! Carla
9/28/07 10:32 PM
cmarie12 said...
Very kewl pants! The attention to detail is awesome.
9/28/07 9:15 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Your reviews are an inspiration and a real learning experience. The detail is marvelous! Thank you so much. P.S. I love the purse and the beads!!
9/28/07 8:59 PM
LauraLo said...
Thank you all for you compliments! I'm very happy that you find my reviews helpful, I'm really trying (and enjoying) to share all the information that I have or find. Patsijean, thank you for mentioning your article. I've been wanting to get my hands on a copy of Beyond pattern for a while, I must have it! I know of a method of underlining and making a Hong Kong seam at the same time, but I've been told that it works only for straight seams, is that true? Sandra Betzina's method is like that: you cut both the fashion fabric and the underlining with 1 inch allowances instead of 5/8. The underlining is cut without hem allowance. You sew the underlining to the facing wrong sides together for one seam. You press the seams open, then together, you turn everything and you press again, slightly favoring the fashion fabric. Then you pin the fabric and the underlining together, vertically, on the center of the pattern piece. You fold vertically the piece and you'll have some underlining peaking at the unsewn seam. You cut away that excess of underlining and sew this second seam, press and treat it like the first. You only do this for side seams. Then you baste the waist together. Piece of advice: next time I will starch the hell out of my organza because it's awfully slippery and it distorts when I cut it. It was a pain :) Leora, that band is called "hem band" in my country and I see it on all the hems of better RTW man's pants. It's not really grosgrain, it has oblique ridges, not horizontal and one edge (the one that goes towards the hem fold) is a bit flexible, I think you could curve it with an iron, just like you do with Petersham. However, I think that grosgrain ribbon will work just the same, I don't see why not.
9/28/07 3:47 PM
Leora said...
Hi Laura, your pants are perfect. Could you please let me know what you used as the hem band? is that grosgrain? TIA :)
9/28/07 2:02 PM
MarijaSLO said...
You look great! Young and sexy!
9/28/07 1:57 PM
Erica B. said...
Those pants are too fabulous for words! I love the underlining and the bound pocketbags! Making notes! LOL
9/28/07 1:53 PM
Elona said...
What a terrific, detailed, helpful review! And your pants look superb on you. Marvelous job. Thanks so much for posting.
9/28/07 1:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Truly fabulous pants. Keep up the wonderful work.
9/28/07 12:42 PM
Christina Sonja said...
What a luxurious pair of pants!
9/28/07 11:38 AM
Markie1 said...
LauraLo, these are just gorgeous. I am happy to hear that there is a low-waisted pants pattern out there, I feel like you do, I don't even like them hitting my waistline. But THESE are gorgeous. Your attention to detail is so inspiring. Also, I never knew you could get pre-made waistbands! Your whole capsule is a pleasure to watch--Beautiful.
9/28/07 11:12 AM
Dynamo said...
These are the awesome-est pants ever! As a beginner, who has been sewing very easy EASY patterns, and has yet to submit a review, I am just completely in awe of what you are able to do. You pants are fabulous.
9/28/07 10:42 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review. I love the tutorial for the front fly. It is a variation of what I do now, but with the facing. Great pants and really well made a treat to see the inside of your pants.
9/28/07 9:29 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Laura, I really like each piece you are doing - these pants are fabulous!
9/28/07 9:25 AM
runnerchicki said...
I LOVE how these pants look on you! I've toyed with getting this pattern before, but never did. After seeing this review, I'm wishing I'd ordered it. I think the pattern is out of print now. :-(
9/28/07 9:21 AM
patsijean said...
The pants are great. Just what a perfect pair of trousers should be. I love the drape. I've never lined with silk organza, but it seems to drape beautifully too, and helps to control some scratchiness too, I bet. I am following your blog and will go back to review so I can keep up with your progress. So far, a job well done. You will find a Threads article with detailed instructions explaining Flat Lining, with a Hong Kong finish, in Threads issue #42, August/September 1992, page 58. I wrote this article and am quite proud of it. It was re-published in Beyond the Pattern, I do not know what Sandra Betzina's method is and would like to know as I admire her. I was going through a very bad time in my life when the article was first published, and seeing it in print gave me a much needed boost in self-confidence and esteem. Publishing well received reviews, like yours on PR, a national forum, is comparable.
9/28/07 9:20 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful. Great review!
9/28/07 8:10 AM
Linda G said...
Your pants look great. You did such an awesom job with all of the construction details. I really enjoy reading your reviews they are so informative. I will look forward to more garments from your story board plan. It looks so interesting...I want a pair of those red shoes!!!!!
9/28/07 7:59 AM
Sic said...
Thank you for such a great and detailed review! The pants look perfect!
9/28/07 7:57 AM
Ingiepops said...
I have this pattern in my stash. Thanks for such a fantastic detailed review, I will definitely refer to it when I get around to sewing mine!
9/28/07 7:41 AM
LauraLo said...
Thank you, Ceri and Squirrellypoo! I'm really glad that you like them, they were a lot of work! Squirrellypoo, I got the labels from www.singermachines.co.uk. I really like them, great service!
9/28/07 7:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Absolutely lovely pants on you. It's not a pattern for me, but thanks for all details.
9/28/07 7:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Ooh, those are fantastic! I love the way they hang and all your finishing touches. And the yellow accessories go perfectly! Just curious, but where did you get the labels from?
9/28/07 7:03 AM
Ceri said...
Thanks for the great review! I will bookmark the tutorials. The pants look great on you!
9/28/07 5:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable BS-008

photo
by: kidmd

Review