Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2134 (Jean Patou Evening Gown) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 5849 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:shinta
photo
About shintastar
THAILAND
Member since: 8/4/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/07 3:07 AM
Last Updated:9/30/07 7:01 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
66 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sanibelle said...
Simply stunning! Yours is much prettier than Vogue's pattern photo. The pockets are much nicer without the buttons.
9/30/07 4:30 AM
akazukinchan said...
Excellent job! You might be a beginner but your dress looks couture. Nice photos too.
9/30/07 5:45 AM
So So said...
WOW! Love it!
9/30/07 6:41 AM
Ceri said...
Truly stunning! Congratulations!
9/30/07 7:38 AM
dbsewer said...
Wow, what a great job you did. I thought the photo was of a model. The dress is gorgeous and stunning on you.
9/30/07 8:02 AM
sewfrequent said...
As I prepared to comment on your lovely dress, the word that came to mind was the same word used by others--STUNNING! The fabric, fit and style are impeccable!!
9/30/07 8:09 AM
bluenines said...
Beautifull dress , excellent job on all of the hand sewing
9/30/07 8:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Stunning dress. I adore the colour and the lining you used. You did an excellent job.
9/30/07 8:17 AM
Tiner W said...
Wow! What a breathtaking dress--and impeccable workmanship!
9/30/07 8:19 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow! Are you sure you're a beginner? This dress is wonderfully fitted and sewn. Beautiful and flattering.
9/30/07 8:26 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
This is such a beautiful garment. The fit and construction are amazing!
9/30/07 8:36 AM
Doctor Sister said...
I kept looking for the picture of your project. Then realized that was your project. The dress is so well done, and photographed so stylishly - I thought it was from the company! Congratulations!!!
9/30/07 8:50 AM
MissCelie said...
I am about to shout: THAT DRESS IS FABULOUS. Stunning. Ohmigosh.
9/30/07 9:41 AM
Kay Y said...
Well, I'll echo the admiration in other comments - simply an exquisite dress - wonderful! I sure hope to see other things you make reviewed here.
9/30/07 9:47 AM
Lori V said...
This is so stunning, incredible job. I agree with the other comments, I thought it was a model's photo.
9/30/07 10:18 AM
carolynw said...
I am speechless - I thought the photo of you in the dress was from the pattern envelope - what a truly beautiful dress and your work on it makes it a true classic.
9/30/07 10:40 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Beautiful!! I enjoy hand stitching too, and on a dress from Patou, it really gives that couture touch that was intended :)
9/30/07 10:44 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous. Wonderful workmanship. Your photos look quite professional.
9/30/07 10:56 AM
Sharon M said...
It's beautiful
9/30/07 11:03 AM
Izzie said...
Fabulous dress! Can't believe this is your first lining and zipper. You truely have a gift!
9/30/07 11:32 AM
Jan B. said...
Lovely!!!
9/30/07 11:39 AM
Avril said...
It's lovey!
9/30/07 11:55 AM
quiltsammon said...
Holy Cow!! What style! Where are you going to wear it?
9/30/07 12:31 PM
Nancywin said...
You should be very proud of this. Your hand work is done beautifully. This is a stunning dress and your workmanship looks perfect.
9/30/07 12:34 PM
SheriF said...
Wow! Gorgeous beyond words! You are a gifted seamstress. I can't wait to see more from you.
9/30/07 12:45 PM
DorothyK said...
Wonderful work. Stunning dress. Looks perfect on you. Congratulations.
9/30/07 1:43 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is so stunning! This is most definitely a showstopper!
9/30/07 3:12 PM
Kellie R. said...
That is fantastic!!!! Congratulations on making such a beautiful gown!
9/30/07 3:39 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
When I saw your picture I thought for sure this was a joke. No way someone actually sewed that at home and calls themselves a beginner. Even the photography is gorgeous. We are all green with envy over your fabulousness!
9/30/07 6:09 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh I love the witty lining! And the fact that you made it in YELLOW!
9/30/07 6:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Golden elegance
9/30/07 6:39 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Can't think of anything else to say that everyone hasn't said - ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!! Wish I lived a different life where dressing in such clothes was the norm........!!
9/30/07 6:57 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wow! After seeing your beautiful work, I'm not buying that you are a beginner ;-) Time to up your rating!
9/30/07 7:03 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress is beautiful.. I really like the print lining...nice touch. Your did a great job on your review.
9/30/07 11:57 PM
Blooms said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!
10/1/07 5:49 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress and your handwork is impeccable (sp).
10/1/07 5:58 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely beautiful. Better you than me on the handstitching though - I've got such low patience for it!
10/1/07 7:54 AM
LauraLo said...
This is beautiful! I really love it.
10/1/07 9:07 AM
xstpenguin said...
Utterly incredible. The fabrics, the colour, the fit! And the workmanship - just amazing. I think we are all running out of superlatives. ;-)
10/1/07 9:07 AM
megp47 said...
stunning!
10/1/07 9:18 AM
cmarie12 said...
This is an amazing dress...love the color and the interesting print for the lining material! I'm with Ann. Girl you are no beginner!
10/1/07 9:54 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Whoa--this is fabulous. Please move your beginning listing at the the very least to an intermediate, although this dress looks like it was made by a very advanced sewer. Beautiful work: thanks for sharing all the details and the beautiful pictures. Whereever you're going to wear this dress, you'll be the belle of the event.
10/1/07 12:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Sheer perfection in every way. Promote yourself!! :o)
10/1/07 1:29 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow!!!!! Amazing. You must be very happy with the dress.
10/1/07 7:09 PM
EveS said...
Fantabulous! (I don't think anyone's used that one yet.) And you LIKE hand stitching? sheesh.
10/2/07 0:15 AM
reethi said...
This dress is so perfect. Congratulations, you did a great job on it, and I'm really happy it is making waves on the internet (It was featured on A Dress A Day today).
10/2/07 11:08 AM
SarahWeb said...
Your dress is amazing.
10/2/07 5:13 PM
apriljay said...
far out that is just awesome, very beautiful, you did a fabulous job.. it really is simply stunning, I'm in awe!!!
10/3/07 3:42 AM
Annette H said...
Absolutely beautiful.
10/4/07 6:54 AM
Bettsi said...
How beautiful! Well done! I loved seeing the photos of the inside.
10/4/07 2:29 PM
Javier S. said...
This project is amazing!!! this is what it's all about couture at home, at it's best. You should be very proud of your dress. I am going to use this review of your dress as inspiration for a long time.
10/4/07 4:12 PM
Batik said...
I enjoyed seeing this so much, especially knowing how much hand sewing went into it. Fabulous fit and fabric choices. A++
10/4/07 8:01 PM
lavinarose said...
This dress is stunning, beautifully crafted and fits well with your silhouette and colouring. A*++
10/8/07 8:26 AM
candicer said...
What a beautiful dress! And in the true vintage style! Bravo to you!!!
10/9/07 11:52 AM
AnnB said...
This is beautifully done -- your sewing is exquisite. If you are really a beginner, you are starting out right!
10/9/07 11:14 PM
De789 said...
Took my breath away when I saw it. Absolutely STUNNING!!!
10/10/07 7:49 AM
Mac426 said...
Absolutely BREATHTAKING! I can't believe this is your first lining and zipper because you look like a cream of the crop seamstress. The lining you chose is breathtaking as well! I'd give anything to be able to sew like that!
10/24/07 7:29 AM
piggyannie said...
you have done such a beautiful job as a beginner! I don't think you should label yourself as a beginner. Congratulations! :)
10/24/07 7:32 AM
Najah said...
Absolutely inspiring! You represent us beginning sewers well by demonstrating so much patience and attention to detail with this dress.
10/24/07 10:47 AM
said...
A beautiful gown. IMO the project is more lovely than the pattern photo. Great selection. Great job
10/24/07 1:47 PM
jjc said...
excellent job! your choice of fabric is perfect. the dress has body yet, does not look stiff and the fit is just perfect. congrats on a job well done.
10/25/07 5:34 AM
Liz 66 said...
Wonderful job! I'm curious what kind of machine you have? The stitches look so nice and tight (not to mention your handwork!)
10/26/07 2:48 PM
fryman said...
Congratulations on this great win!! The lining fabric choice is exciting and, I think, very designer level. How old is this pattern? Where and when did you wear this formal dress? Did you have assistance with the actual sewing? Very very impressive for a biginner. Good for you
10/27/07 2:14 PM
sewmommylynn said...
Shinta, Congratulations!!!Wow you put the dress together beautifully. What will you be sewing when you become experienced? Watch out sewers, Shinta is sewing right uo the ladder of success.
10/29/07 1:59 PM
peony rose said...
Hi, what a gorgeous dress, very well done, I adore such dresses. Is it maybe possible to get a copy of this pattern. I looked on the net for this pattern, but alas. I hope, I didn't offend you with my question?
6/8/08 6:36 PM
Restart06 said...
Wow, how beautiful, and drapes wonderfully. Inspires me to work harder, and spend more hours on the machine!!!! Thanks for sharing.
7/1/08 10:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2815 Halter top
photo
Review by SueV on 7/5/04
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2880 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mary Themo... on 11/2/13
Read Review

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2789 Pattern
Jalie 2789 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us