SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 152 (Prince Charlie Jacket and Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 827 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/07 11:24 AM
Last Updated:10/1/07 11:27 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christen said...
AMAZING work! Beautiful craftsmanship, he looks really proud of his Prince Charlie jacket.
10/1/07 11:31 AM
Kay Y said...
You did a fabulous job on this! I think the sleeve ease probably is needed for an active piper and you were wise to add to the back - one of my friends has experience in historic tailoring (for Parks Canada) and commented that before they re-did the patterns for the jackets worn by the re-enactors who had to shoot muskets, most of them had the armscyes ripped out - not enough room to move though they looked great while the wearer was at rest.
10/1/07 11:47 AM
Linda G said...
Wow what a work of art
10/1/07 11:51 AM
kkkkaty said...
wow, fantastic work!
10/1/07 11:52 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful tailoring and fit. DH looks very handsome. Did you make the kilt too?
10/1/07 11:58 AM
RMJ said...
No, I refuse to make kilts! I tried to make a kilt-like skirt once and I'm just not patient enough to get all those pleats aligned properly.
10/1/07 12:11 PM
Ceri said...
You should be proud of yourself! You truly thougth of every detail and it looks beautiful!
10/1/07 12:15 PM
vespabelle said...
Your husband looks great!
10/1/07 12:30 PM
Aixoise said...
Truly beautiful work. Please promote yourself from Advanced Beginner!
10/1/07 12:44 PM
RMJ said...

10/1/07 12:53 PM
Lynngray said...
All I can say is WOW. You did a amazing job.
10/1/07 1:09 PM
Tom P said...
It's beautiful! You and your husband should be very thrilled. By all means, make him a dinner jacket, but no gold buttons and epaulets. Who is he, a Michael Jackson impersonator? :)
10/1/07 1:34 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
It's a bonny Prince Charlie jacket. I agree: you are no "advanced beginner."
10/1/07 1:42 PM
Elona said...
Magnificent work! Give yourself a huge pat on the back for this one.
10/1/07 1:42 PM
Janie Viers said...
Wowee, zowie. It's georgeous! You could save somemoney on the white one by using button safety pins so the buttons can go on both. Just a nosy question. How much did they want for the finished garment?
10/1/07 2:13 PM
Skymom said...
Magnificent. That's one of the things I love about bagpipers--they sound great AND they look fabulous. You did a wonderful job on this; I'll bet you receive queries about more custom jackets like this from other pipers...so watch out!!
10/1/07 2:53 PM
purplepolowraps said...
wow! it's stunning - you did an amazing job! doesn't hurt that i have a soft spot for a guy in a kilt, but that's beside the point... ;o) the jacket is brilliant!
10/1/07 3:06 PM
Lisa Laree said...
That is jaw-dropping gorgeous! I agree with the others; you've learned enough here advance your skill level! Great work!
10/1/07 3:36 PM
bluenines said...
wow, beautiful jacket, i agree with the others that you should promote yourself up form advanced beginner!
10/1/07 5:13 PM
khrome said...
STUNNING! Absolutely stunning. You did an amazing job!
10/1/07 6:23 PM
sewbehind said...
That is very impressive. You did a wonderful job with this. Congratulations!
10/1/07 7:39 PM
kathi s said...
Wowee! I am in absolute awe- really wonderful!
10/1/07 11:44 PM
Irene Q said...
Wow, wow, WOW!!! Beautiful jacket and vest!
10/2/07 10:30 AM
ginaT said...
Och aye ...thats fandabbydozy :-)
10/2/07 6:25 PM
marycds said...
Great work! Congratulations to a wee lassie!
10/2/07 7:47 PM
LorelleD said...
You should be very proud of yourself, you did a terrific job of the Jacket. It looks awesome.
11/13/07 5:26 AM
The_Tigerman said...
What a beautiful job. Thank you for sharing.
11/15/07 11:59 AM
Mufffet said...
Again, fantastic work on this jacket. Beautiful.
2/12/08 10:59 AM
CharityAK said...
This is amazing! You did an incredible job. I hope your DH is treating you like a queen after this labor of love. You should be very proud of yourself. This is quite an accomplishment.
2/12/08 11:11 AM
prkj said...
After my recent experience of second-guessing and revising the construction methods on a Folkwear pattern, it's comforting to have company. You really stepped up to the plate and hit the ball right out of the park.
2/13/08 6:50 PM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
Your work is exquisite. I want to hire you.
6/18/08 11:38 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. This looks good enough for Buckingham Palace.
7/21/08 6:43 PM
CelticDiva said...
Great details here! I am going to be making an Irish kilt and a Bonnie Prince Charlie jacket for my son, and have just ordered the pattern from Patterns of Time. Kilts are no problem... but I want to get the jacket right, especially when selecting the fabric. Thanks!
2/25/09 1:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Jalie 977

photo
by: bertiebagg...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now