SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 152 (Prince Charlie Jacket and Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 827 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/07 11:24 AM
Last Updated:10/1/07 11:27 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christen said...
AMAZING work! Beautiful craftsmanship, he looks really proud of his Prince Charlie jacket.
10/1/07 11:31 AM
Kay Y said...
You did a fabulous job on this! I think the sleeve ease probably is needed for an active piper and you were wise to add to the back - one of my friends has experience in historic tailoring (for Parks Canada) and commented that before they re-did the patterns for the jackets worn by the re-enactors who had to shoot muskets, most of them had the armscyes ripped out - not enough room to move though they looked great while the wearer was at rest.
10/1/07 11:47 AM
Linda G said...
Wow what a work of art
10/1/07 11:51 AM
kkkkaty said...
wow, fantastic work!
10/1/07 11:52 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful tailoring and fit. DH looks very handsome. Did you make the kilt too?
10/1/07 11:58 AM
RMJ said...
No, I refuse to make kilts! I tried to make a kilt-like skirt once and I'm just not patient enough to get all those pleats aligned properly.
10/1/07 12:11 PM
Ceri said...
You should be proud of yourself! You truly thougth of every detail and it looks beautiful!
10/1/07 12:15 PM
vespabelle said...
Your husband looks great!
10/1/07 12:30 PM
Aixoise said...
Truly beautiful work. Please promote yourself from Advanced Beginner!
10/1/07 12:44 PM
RMJ said...

10/1/07 12:53 PM
Lynngray said...
All I can say is WOW. You did a amazing job.
10/1/07 1:09 PM
Tom P said...
It's beautiful! You and your husband should be very thrilled. By all means, make him a dinner jacket, but no gold buttons and epaulets. Who is he, a Michael Jackson impersonator? :)
10/1/07 1:34 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
It's a bonny Prince Charlie jacket. I agree: you are no "advanced beginner."
10/1/07 1:42 PM
Elona said...
Magnificent work! Give yourself a huge pat on the back for this one.
10/1/07 1:42 PM
Janie Viers said...
Wowee, zowie. It's georgeous! You could save somemoney on the white one by using button safety pins so the buttons can go on both. Just a nosy question. How much did they want for the finished garment?
10/1/07 2:13 PM
Skymom said...
Magnificent. That's one of the things I love about bagpipers--they sound great AND they look fabulous. You did a wonderful job on this; I'll bet you receive queries about more custom jackets like this from other pipers...so watch out!!
10/1/07 2:53 PM
purplepolowraps said...
wow! it's stunning - you did an amazing job! doesn't hurt that i have a soft spot for a guy in a kilt, but that's beside the point... ;o) the jacket is brilliant!
10/1/07 3:06 PM
Lisa Laree said...
That is jaw-dropping gorgeous! I agree with the others; you've learned enough here advance your skill level! Great work!
10/1/07 3:36 PM
bluenines said...
wow, beautiful jacket, i agree with the others that you should promote yourself up form advanced beginner!
10/1/07 5:13 PM
khrome said...
STUNNING! Absolutely stunning. You did an amazing job!
10/1/07 6:23 PM
sewbehind said...
That is very impressive. You did a wonderful job with this. Congratulations!
10/1/07 7:39 PM
kathi s said...
Wowee! I am in absolute awe- really wonderful!
10/1/07 11:44 PM
Irene Q said...
Wow, wow, WOW!!! Beautiful jacket and vest!
10/2/07 10:30 AM
ginaT said...
Och aye ...thats fandabbydozy :-)
10/2/07 6:25 PM
marycds said...
Great work! Congratulations to a wee lassie!
10/2/07 7:47 PM
LorelleD said...
You should be very proud of yourself, you did a terrific job of the Jacket. It looks awesome.
11/13/07 5:26 AM
The_Tigerman said...
What a beautiful job. Thank you for sharing.
11/15/07 11:59 AM
Mufffet said...
Again, fantastic work on this jacket. Beautiful.
2/12/08 10:59 AM
CharityAK said...
This is amazing! You did an incredible job. I hope your DH is treating you like a queen after this labor of love. You should be very proud of yourself. This is quite an accomplishment.
2/12/08 11:11 AM
prkj said...
After my recent experience of second-guessing and revising the construction methods on a Folkwear pattern, it's comforting to have company. You really stepped up to the plate and hit the ball right out of the park.
2/13/08 6:50 PM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
Your work is exquisite. I want to hire you.
6/18/08 11:38 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. This looks good enough for Buckingham Palace.
7/21/08 6:43 PM
CelticDiva said...
Great details here! I am going to be making an Irish kilt and a Bonnie Prince Charlie jacket for my son, and have just ordered the pattern from Patterns of Time. Kilts are no problem... but I want to get the jacket right, especially when selecting the fabric. Thanks!
2/25/09 1:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8582

photo
by: iSewQuiltA...

Review
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now