SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1223 times 
Reviewed by:Fran G
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Fran Gstar
RI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/07 9:32 AM
Last Updated:10/5/07 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Babouche said...
Look at the link : http://www.saksfifthavenue.com/main/ProductDetail.jsp?JSESSIONID=G2VG9ZqYc28fWHmQKG4vRCvMTFTyBRQNgyvTMLMbh97knDny3cwn!233346&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524446169977&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=282574491928811&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474399545537&bmUID=1191056868151 Same jacket, for 540 $ !!!
10/10/07 12:01 PM
apple annie said...
Just fabulous looking,even better seeing it on you in person!!! Can't wait to make it.
10/8/07 9:51 AM
RobinE said...
Thanks for the review. I'm thinking of diving into my first BWOF pattern too-- and your comments are really helpful. And your capelet looks great! :)
10/6/07 3:35 PM
blue mooney said...
Your perseverance really paid off! Lovely cape.
10/6/07 8:01 AM
Babouche said...
thank you very much for the extra photos. I will definitely do it. I would never have guessed it would look so beautiful judging form the bruda photo !!!
10/6/07 2:55 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This is so cool! (logs off to kick self in posterior for not subscribing to BWOF yet)
10/5/07 5:05 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous just fabulous. You did an excellant job. Thanks for the detailed review.
10/5/07 3:05 PM
Fran G said...
Babouche..I have added a link to a few other photos of this cape. The collar detail, which is just beautiful, is difficult to see because of the black fabric. Others have reviewed this cape, so check their reviews, too!
10/5/07 1:22 PM
Babouche said...
I was looko,g for a nice looking caot or jacket on this site and yours looks so nice, I think I will make mine ! Is it possible that you put other pictures of it online so we could see the details, the sides, the back ...? thanks in advance !
10/5/07 11:10 AM
cecelia said...
Very classy. Don't you just love Apple Annie's? I'm glad you got help and finished this.
10/5/07 8:42 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Fran, well done on finishing! Looks great!
10/5/07 2:25 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This cape is so wonderfully dramatic, especially in black. You go, girl!
10/4/07 10:40 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh my --this is absolutely wonderful!! This wool version might sway me towards trying this --and let me say "try!!" --these reviews of skimpy directions are sort of freaking me out!! But it is also a bit of a challenge --huh? This version reminds me of Cidell's find at Benneton --it is just gorgeous!! Again, great job!
10/4/07 10:25 PM
LindsayT said...
Tres chic! I'm happy you kept going with it too!
10/4/07 6:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, yours puts theirs (in the photo) to shame, if you ask me. :o) VERY classy in every way.
10/4/07 5:52 PM
MissCelie said...
It's just beauuuutiful
10/4/07 5:37 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fran, your perseverance ran dividends! It's fabulous ! Enjoy wearing your very stylish cape jacket.
10/4/07 4:13 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Great looking jacket Fran! The more I see of this cape the more I am determined to make it - especially since seeing a red wool version with a black button in a shop in Belfast for 410 Stg!!! (about 820 US Dollars!). Thanks for your review and inspiration to try this.
10/4/07 11:10 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks great! What a nice reward for all your perseverance!
10/4/07 11:09 AM
Nancy K said...
Terrific job. It looks wonderful.
10/4/07 10:52 AM
So So said...
Well done, looks great with the leather belt.
10/4/07 10:14 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Good for you for sticking with it - your cape looks wonderful!
10/4/07 10:02 AM
TrixieD said...
It's a beautiful cape, and clearly worth all the trouble. Thanks for the review.
10/4/07 9:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's 6069

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Vogue Patterns 9668

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

More Info
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info