Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1222 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Fran G
photo
Friend of PR
About Fran Gstar
RI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/07 9:32 AM
Last Updated:10/5/07 1:19 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TrixieD said...
It's a beautiful cape, and clearly worth all the trouble. Thanks for the review.
10/4/07 9:52 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Good for you for sticking with it - your cape looks wonderful!
10/4/07 10:02 AM
So So said...
Well done, looks great with the leather belt.
10/4/07 10:14 AM
Nancy K said...
Terrific job. It looks wonderful.
10/4/07 10:52 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks great! What a nice reward for all your perseverance!
10/4/07 11:09 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Great looking jacket Fran! The more I see of this cape the more I am determined to make it - especially since seeing a red wool version with a black button in a shop in Belfast for 410 Stg!!! (about 820 US Dollars!). Thanks for your review and inspiration to try this.
10/4/07 11:10 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fran, your perseverance ran dividends! It's fabulous ! Enjoy wearing your very stylish cape jacket.
10/4/07 4:13 PM
MissCelie said...
It's just beauuuutiful
10/4/07 5:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, yours puts theirs (in the photo) to shame, if you ask me. :o) VERY classy in every way.
10/4/07 5:52 PM
LindsayT said...
Tres chic! I'm happy you kept going with it too!
10/4/07 6:11 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh my --this is absolutely wonderful!! This wool version might sway me towards trying this --and let me say "try!!" --these reviews of skimpy directions are sort of freaking me out!! But it is also a bit of a challenge --huh? This version reminds me of Cidell's find at Benneton --it is just gorgeous!! Again, great job!
10/4/07 10:25 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
This cape is so wonderfully dramatic, especially in black. You go, girl!
10/4/07 10:40 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fran, well done on finishing! Looks great!
10/5/07 2:25 AM
cecelia said...
Very classy. Don't you just love Apple Annie's? I'm glad you got help and finished this.
10/5/07 8:42 AM
Babouche said...
I was looko,g for a nice looking caot or jacket on this site and yours looks so nice, I think I will make mine ! Is it possible that you put other pictures of it online so we could see the details, the sides, the back ...? thanks in advance !
10/5/07 11:10 AM
Fran G said...
Babouche..I have added a link to a few other photos of this cape. The collar detail, which is just beautiful, is difficult to see because of the black fabric. Others have reviewed this cape, so check their reviews, too!
10/5/07 1:22 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous just fabulous. You did an excellant job. Thanks for the detailed review.
10/5/07 3:05 PM
Lisa Laree said...
This is so cool! (logs off to kick self in posterior for not subscribing to BWOF yet)
10/5/07 5:05 PM
Babouche said...
thank you very much for the extra photos. I will definitely do it. I would never have guessed it would look so beautiful judging form the bruda photo !!!
10/6/07 2:55 AM
blue mooney said...
Your perseverance really paid off! Lovely cape.
10/6/07 8:01 AM
RobinE said...
Thanks for the review. I'm thinking of diving into my first BWOF pattern too-- and your comments are really helpful. And your capelet looks great! :)
10/6/07 3:35 PM
apple annie said...
Just fabulous looking,even better seeing it on you in person!!! Can't wait to make it.
10/8/07 9:51 AM
Babouche said...
Look at the link : http://www.saksfifthavenue.com/main/ProductDetail.jsp?JSESSIONID=G2VG9ZqYc28fWHmQKG4vRCvMTFTyBRQNgyvTMLMbh97knDny3cwn!233346&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524446169977&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=282574491928811&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474399545537&bmUID=1191056868151 Same jacket, for 540 $ !!!
10/10/07 12:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7942
photo
Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5144
photo
Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us