SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8392 (Easy blouses-pleated neckline)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1315 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo

 
 
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/07 3:13 PM
Last Updated:10/12/07 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I have this pattern, so I appreciate your warnings very much.
10/12/07 5:24 PM
carolynw said...
Nancy I am sorry this did not work out for you but if someone with your level of expertise has problems with this then it is one pattern I do not need to add to the stash
10/12/07 6:40 PM
SillyValley said...
thanks for the tip and I agree with you about the finishings for the easy patterns. The fabric is really great though. Maybe you can find a way to make the top work the way you like?
10/12/07 6:59 PM
Nancywin said...
Sorry this did not work out as planned. I can see what you mean about the pulling, yet there looks like there is ample fabric. I think you're right - it must be the drafting.
10/12/07 7:15 PM
Sport said...
Nancy, I too had frustrating results with this pattern. I tweaked and twiddled with muslins for this pattern to no avail. I have no bust yet had some of the same results you mention. I'm not a highly experienced sewer, so I was questioning my impression that the drafting was off. Thanks for sharing your experience.
10/12/07 9:49 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Odd wrinkle, you're right. I agree it looks like you have plenty of room in width. What would happen if you pulled up the center front a tiny bit? Maybe it just -droops-. It's a shame you aren't totally happy, your fabric looks great, the pattern looks fine on the enveloppe.. We're so lucky to have this site :-).
10/13/07 6:21 AM
Nancy K said...
Dear Fuzzy, I am going to try your suggestion. I have a lower bust, which might account for this problem, though I do take it into account when I make my fba.
10/13/07 8:53 AM
nadinec said...
I also had problems with this pattern. The sleeves didn't work for me at all, so I removed them. I did an FBA and fiddled with the front neckline and have a top I really like, although it doesn't bear much of a resemblance to the original pattern, LOL! Love your fabric!!!
10/13/07 10:48 AM
Nancy K said...
yeah, I had trouble with the sleeves too. You'd think I never put in a sleeve before it was such a pain.
10/13/07 3:01 PM
blue mooney said...
Wow, the neckline on the pattern sketch is REALLY inaccurate. And your photo is great - you gave that pattern every opportunity to look good, and it failed. Thanks for the honest review.
10/14/07 7:50 AM
Physics Girl said...
I noticed that Debra H put in shaping darts to take in some of the width... That might possibly help control the wrinkle, although the shape of it is odd. Because of other positive reviews of this and its basic cut, I'm still going to give it a shot as a possible underneath-a-suit top... but because of your review, I cut it out in a cheaper fabric that I'm mostly just looking to clear from the stash. Thanks for the warnings!
10/15/07 11:55 AM
Karine said...
Nancy, I'm sorry you had bad luck with this pattern, but sure appreciate the review. I completely agree with your observation about "easy" Vogue patterns.
10/16/07 2:40 PM
Sharon M said...
I'm sorry this didn't work out as you were hoping. I have this pattern and was contemplating sewing it in the near future. I appreciate the review - I think I'll choose a different pattern for my fabric.
10/20/07 4:14 PM
Helen Claire said...
Pardon me for being entirely off-topic but the skirt you're wearing in the photo is fantastic. It suits you marvelously. Is it a brocade?
1/31/09 1:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape Dress no 3

photo
by: TracyTheMa...

Review