Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8392 (Easy blouses-pleated neckline) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1313 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/07 3:13 PM
Last Updated:10/12/07 3:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I have this pattern, so I appreciate your warnings very much.
10/12/07 5:24 PM
carolynw said...
Nancy I am sorry this did not work out for you but if someone with your level of expertise has problems with this then it is one pattern I do not need to add to the stash
10/12/07 6:40 PM
SillyValley said...
thanks for the tip and I agree with you about the finishings for the easy patterns. The fabric is really great though. Maybe you can find a way to make the top work the way you like?
10/12/07 6:59 PM
Nancywin said...
Sorry this did not work out as planned. I can see what you mean about the pulling, yet there looks like there is ample fabric. I think you're right - it must be the drafting.
10/12/07 7:15 PM
Sport said...
Nancy, I too had frustrating results with this pattern. I tweaked and twiddled with muslins for this pattern to no avail. I have no bust yet had some of the same results you mention. I'm not a highly experienced sewer, so I was questioning my impression that the drafting was off. Thanks for sharing your experience.
10/12/07 9:49 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Odd wrinkle, you're right. I agree it looks like you have plenty of room in width. What would happen if you pulled up the center front a tiny bit? Maybe it just -droops-. It's a shame you aren't totally happy, your fabric looks great, the pattern looks fine on the enveloppe.. We're so lucky to have this site :-).
10/13/07 6:21 AM
Nancy K said...
Dear Fuzzy, I am going to try your suggestion. I have a lower bust, which might account for this problem, though I do take it into account when I make my fba.
10/13/07 8:53 AM
nadinec said...
I also had problems with this pattern. The sleeves didn't work for me at all, so I removed them. I did an FBA and fiddled with the front neckline and have a top I really like, although it doesn't bear much of a resemblance to the original pattern, LOL! Love your fabric!!!
10/13/07 10:48 AM
Nancy K said...
yeah, I had trouble with the sleeves too. You'd think I never put in a sleeve before it was such a pain.
10/13/07 3:01 PM
blue mooney said...
Wow, the neckline on the pattern sketch is REALLY inaccurate. And your photo is great - you gave that pattern every opportunity to look good, and it failed. Thanks for the honest review.
10/14/07 7:50 AM
Physics Girl said...
I noticed that Debra H put in shaping darts to take in some of the width... That might possibly help control the wrinkle, although the shape of it is odd. Because of other positive reviews of this and its basic cut, I'm still going to give it a shot as a possible underneath-a-suit top... but because of your review, I cut it out in a cheaper fabric that I'm mostly just looking to clear from the stash. Thanks for the warnings!
10/15/07 11:55 AM
Karine said...
Nancy, I'm sorry you had bad luck with this pattern, but sure appreciate the review. I completely agree with your observation about "easy" Vogue patterns.
10/16/07 2:40 PM
Sharon M said...
I'm sorry this didn't work out as you were hoping. I have this pattern and was contemplating sewing it in the near future. I appreciate the review - I think I'll choose a different pattern for my fabric.
10/20/07 4:14 PM
Helen Claire said...
Pardon me for being entirely off-topic but the skirt you're wearing in the photo is fantastic. It suits you marvelously. Is it a brocade?
1/31/09 1:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Downloadable Jason vest Jason Vest
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 6/16/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8155
photo
Review by lynnewill on 7/6/09
Read Review

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us