SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1020 (wardrobe)

41 more reviews
Viewed 1680 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/07 6:42 PM
Last Updated:10/31/07 6:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I missed this review completely when it was new, and only found it now because candyo mentions it in her new tee review. How is that elastic-stabilized ruching working out? The top is very pretty.
1/19/08 7:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
Yes, I missed you, too. In fact, I just saw one of your reviews on the sidebar and decided to see when you last wrote a review -- This is it. Glad you have returned. I enjoyed your thoughts about ruching, etc. You did get a great-looking top, in spite of the flaky instructions.
11/20/07 6:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking top and love the fabric. Glad you are back.
11/19/07 6:49 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful! Love the ruching.
11/2/07 9:38 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great top. Love the fabric and the style.
11/1/07 8:47 PM
Hilary said...
Yes, I *did* miss ya!! Glad to "see" you again! This top is GORGEOUS!! and the fabric equally so-nice job on improving the construction and neckline. I can't imagine a turn and stitch neckline would have looked even decent. The lycra band is perfect. Thanks for the review, welcome back!
11/1/07 7:12 PM
DorothyK said...
Welcome back. Terrific top. I like the black neckline. I wouldn't even buy this rtw if it had a zipper. Thanks for the review.
11/1/07 1:43 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful top! I looked at this pattern yesterday and decided to not to put it on my wish list. I may have to reconsider, at least for the Joann's Vogue $3.99 sale! Thanks for the review.
11/1/07 1:30 PM
Kitty Couture said...
That is beautiful! I love the ruche.
11/1/07 12:24 PM
Irene Q said...
Yes, we certainly did miss you!! Welcome back!!!! Vogue doesn't seem to have a clue about how to sew knit tops, but you still came out with a great top.
11/1/07 11:38 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! Your top is much better looking than the garments on that pattern envelope. Glad you are back!!
11/1/07 10:22 AM
Skymom said...
GOod to see you back, Dr. Sue. THanks for this review--your top looks excellent with your updated construction methods.
11/1/07 10:10 AM
Trinity. said...
Welcome back, drsue. Gorgeous top, and I love the print fabric!
11/1/07 10:02 AM
Sew it seams said...
Really nice top. It's great to "see" you again.
11/1/07 9:26 AM
marjenann said...
Great looking top! Thanks for the construction tips!!
11/1/07 8:11 AM
OP Gal said...
Yes, I did miss you. I always enjoy your reviews. I love the fabric in your top. It looks like your construction changes were for the best, resulting in a great looking top. Thanks for the review.
11/1/07 7:24 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wonderful top, and welcome back. Oddly enough, I had been thinking of posting a message this week asking if anyone had heard from you. I have missed your reviews. I love your work and your reviews are always a treat. Mind you, it is often your fault when my pattern stash grows!!!
11/1/07 4:19 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the tips about the instructions. Having a zip seems crazy. It does sound great though that you can get a ruched top out of 1 yard. I have a mid-range RTW top (very similar to New Look 6430) which has horizontal ruching on the front only across the stomach and that is stabilised with woven cotton tape. The same top has an empire waist with bust gathers and they are stabilised with clear elastic, so obviously it was a deliberate choice to use the cotton tape on the sides.
11/1/07 3:49 AM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks so much for the helpful review. Yours looks great.
11/1/07 3:49 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Yes, very cute. fabulous fabric. Who would put a zipper in this?
11/1/07 1:37 AM
KarmenG said...
Missed you Drsue! Welcome back....and I like this top. Fabulous fabric. Good idea to skip the zipper!
11/1/07 1:35 AM
motomoda said...
Yes this top looks great - I agree that a zip is just madness in a top like this. I will have to look out for this pattern.
11/1/07 0:57 AM
sewbehind said...
That top looks great. Love the fabric and if you say it looks better on you than on the dressform, you must stop traffic. Welcome back!
10/31/07 11:44 PM
Mary Reed said...
Welcome back!! Very cute top!
10/31/07 11:05 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Good to see your reviews again Sue, I wondered where you went :) Great looking top, thanks for the tips and comments.
10/31/07 9:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
Welcome back to the fold, drsue! I love the ruched side seam and the fabric.
10/31/07 9:16 PM
jnamcd said...
I've missed you, too! This top is AWESOME! I might have to give it a try!
10/31/07 9:01 PM
Avril said...
Yes I missed you. Thanks for the review. Love the fabric.
10/31/07 8:32 PM
Sharon M said...
What a great looking top!
10/31/07 8:12 PM
frame said...
You top looks great. The fabric is very pretty. And yes, you have been missed!
10/31/07 7:51 PM
Kay Y said...
I did miss your reviews and am glad to see you back in the sewing groove. Great looking top.
10/31/07 7:50 PM
Berniejh said...
Yes we have missed you! Why isn't the ruched seam just sewn as a normal side seam as in that Simplicity T (can't remember the number) that we've all made? Have I missed something here??? Having said that I have a RTW top that is like this and it is stabilised with stretch elastic.
10/31/07 7:41 PM
FloraNature said...
Welcome back drsue. What a great top you made!
10/31/07 7:29 PM
Athene said...
This looks very nice. I have been thinking about getting this pattern and after seeing your version it interests me even more. Thank you for the review. It will be helpful to me.
10/31/07 7:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 5201

photo
by: morzel

Review
Maggie

Maggie

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

More Info