Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4444 (Laura Ashley Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1194 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 6:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress and shoes dyed to match. I'm sure you looked like a dream. Very thorough review. Thank you.
11/4/07 6:46 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress shoes and jacket are absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the great review.
11/4/07 6:50 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Great review! I enjoyed the story behind it. The dress is perfect.
11/4/07 6:57 PM
frame said...
Beautiful dress! Great review.
11/4/07 7:02 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous gorgeous! The color is to die for, the bodice is really glam and sexy, and your workmanship looks impeccable. I cannot wait to see a photo of you in the whole ensemble. Although of course this dress is for you, it's also such a thoughtful gift for you to give your gem of a groom-friend, too! Enjoy the attention you get at the wedding. Hope the bride forgives you for stealing her spotlight. ;-)
11/4/07 7:38 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! Gorgeous! What a difference fabric makes, eh!! Two, totally unique dresses! You can be extremely proud of your efforts!! And, now that you have formal wear, maybe you'll find more activities to wear it to (symphony, fancy dinner, play, etc.). Isn't it FUN to Dress UP!!
11/4/07 7:58 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Love your dress and your story. What fun—formal affairs are so scarce these days! That fabric is killer.
11/4/07 8:05 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
11/4/07 9:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing dress! However, if you are classified as "intermediate," then I am not even worthy of touching a needle! You are a very talented seamstress, and I think you should be classified as "advanced." Excellently-detailed review!
11/4/07 10:00 PM
GinaSews said...
Beautiful!
11/4/07 10:22 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Beautiful dress! Enjoy reading yr review as well.
11/4/07 10:53 PM
Grammy Gin said...
This is just soooo beautiful. What a wonderful review. Your garments are so much better than RTW. Will be waiting to see pic of you & DBF at the wedding. Have fun!
11/5/07 0:49 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous dress and great review. You showed very clearly what a difference a different fabric may do for a pattern.
11/5/07 3:04 AM
KathleenS said...
It's absolutely gorgeous and worth the work! It seems like it's a good pattern too. Isn't it fun having shoes dyed to match! My bridesmaid had shoes dyed green the same unusual colour as her dress and I just thought it was so cool.
11/5/07 4:56 AM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, My! I only *wish* my finished cocktail wear looked this beautiful. A labor of love. Thanks for the great review, and hae a WONDERFUL time at the wedding!
11/5/07 6:56 AM
MissCelie said...
What a faaaabulous dress!!
11/5/07 5:17 PM
yummymummy38 said...
absolutely scrumptious dress
11/6/07 7:15 AM
ariesluv4u said...
Very nice.It looks great.
11/8/07 9:44 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL! I LOVE your fabric. It's so well suited for this dress, and those pleats on the bodice take it a step above gathers.
11/11/07 0:12 AM
Leora said...
I love reading your reviews. What you've done here is extremely well thought out and executed. Excellent!!!
11/13/07 10:30 PM
Orsi said...
I think the dress is a lot prettier with narrower straps. Nice fabric, too.
7/11/10 10:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5430
photo
Review by Bonnie O on 6/22/07
Read Review

Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1161 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 10/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us