SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2988 (Vogue Wardrobe)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1277 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 7:31 PM
Last Updated:11/4/07 7:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
I really like how this turned out, the jacket especially. Thanks for the review, as I have this pattern in my TBS pile. Recommended yardages can be so frustrating - some I've found recommend waaaayyy too much, and some too little.
11/4/07 7:51 PM
svenskaflicka said...
What a luscious color combo! Your outfit has a cool '60s vibe. Love it!
11/4/07 8:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very good Review!! I appreciate your comments about the challenges you had--and how you solved them--the best. Enjoy your pretty outfit.
11/4/07 8:04 PM
Tearsa said...
This is SO pretty. What a feminine jacket. I have never sewn a Vogue pattern but this makes me want to try! I give your take on this fab pattern 2 thumbs up!
11/5/07 4:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
Well done - I've been hoping someone would review this pattern. I just had a similar cutting challenge on a jacket -- fabric was 52 inches wide -- so I feel your pain there.
11/5/07 5:11 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the review. Your skirt and jacket look terrific.
11/5/07 9:00 AM
inkstain said...
Do you really need stretch wool for the skirt? I'm tempted, but the variety of stretch fabrics available to me in our one fabric store is limited. Do you think I could use a non-stretch for the skirt? Thanks
11/6/07 1:00 PM
ITAdmin said...
It doesn't have to be really stretchy, just have some "give." I think the most important factor in choosing the skirt fabric is the decided flare at the bottom. The fabric has to able to fall nicely at the seams so it has the right shape. I would think that lightweight gabardine or many of the lighter suiting fabrics would work. Probably boucle as well. I hope you'll give it a try. I'd love to see some more reviews of the pattern.
11/6/07 6:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm glad you SQUEEEEEEZED these out of your fabric, because they turned out perfect! I love your fabrics, and both the skirt and the jacket fit you to a tee!
11/11/07 0:18 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Great review. Your ensemble looks lovely! I am doing the jacket right now, and I totally agree about the cutting allowance. I had less and slightly narrower fabric than stipulated and had to spend almost 30 min moving pieces around trying squeeze it all in.
11/26/07 3:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 5017 - OOP

photo
by: petitesewi...

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Patrones Magazine 303-23

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review