Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2988 (Vogue Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1274 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 7:31 PM
Last Updated:11/4/07 7:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
I really like how this turned out, the jacket especially. Thanks for the review, as I have this pattern in my TBS pile. Recommended yardages can be so frustrating - some I've found recommend waaaayyy too much, and some too little.
11/4/07 7:51 PM
svenskaflicka said...
What a luscious color combo! Your outfit has a cool '60s vibe. Love it!
11/4/07 8:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very good Review!! I appreciate your comments about the challenges you had--and how you solved them--the best. Enjoy your pretty outfit.
11/4/07 8:04 PM
Tearsa said...
This is SO pretty. What a feminine jacket. I have never sewn a Vogue pattern but this makes me want to try! I give your take on this fab pattern 2 thumbs up!
11/5/07 4:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
Well done - I've been hoping someone would review this pattern. I just had a similar cutting challenge on a jacket -- fabric was 52 inches wide -- so I feel your pain there.
11/5/07 5:11 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the review. Your skirt and jacket look terrific.
11/5/07 9:00 AM
inkstain said...
Do you really need stretch wool for the skirt? I'm tempted, but the variety of stretch fabrics available to me in our one fabric store is limited. Do you think I could use a non-stretch for the skirt? Thanks
11/6/07 1:00 PM
ITAdmin said...
It doesn't have to be really stretchy, just have some "give." I think the most important factor in choosing the skirt fabric is the decided flare at the bottom. The fabric has to able to fall nicely at the seams so it has the right shape. I would think that lightweight gabardine or many of the lighter suiting fabrics would work. Probably boucle as well. I hope you'll give it a try. I'd love to see some more reviews of the pattern.
11/6/07 6:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm glad you SQUEEEEEEZED these out of your fabric, because they turned out perfect! I love your fabrics, and both the skirt and the jacket fit you to a tee!
11/11/07 0:18 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Great review. Your ensemble looks lovely! I am doing the jacket right now, and I totally agree about the cutting allowance. I had less and slightly narrower fabric than stipulated and had to spend almost 30 min moving pieces around trying squeeze it all in.
11/26/07 3:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 2603
photo
Review by newmama on 4/14/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3678
photo
Review by MelissaB i... on 12/9/07
Read Review

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us