Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8021 (Misses Shirtdress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 767 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:supermollio
photo
About supermolliostar
MN USA
Member since: 8/10/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/07 8:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Well done! This is a fairly challenging pattern for a beginner, but you certainly rose to the challenge.
11/8/07 8:56 PM
ladybegood said...
Your dress is sooo much cuter than the envelope suggests! I think your poof may be a sway back poof. Check the message boards for how to alter for a sway back.
11/8/07 10:48 PM
SarahSM said...
Thanks for the review! I'm thinking of putting this one on my list next time there's a Vogue sale.
11/8/07 11:18 PM
marjenann said...
Great "in-style" vintage dress!!! Very chic!!
11/9/07 7:53 AM
krystalkaes said...
You did a very nice job on your dress. You look very cute.
11/9/07 8:45 AM
Leora said...
I think you may be able to alter the back once you have more experience under your belt (sorry, couldn't resist LOL) Great job on an advanced project, and two dresses!!
11/9/07 3:37 PM
carnelian said...
There's an adjustment for a sway back, in which you raise the skirt or pants waist stitching line about half an inch at the center back, then decrease the adjustment gradually to nothing at the side seams. Try it!
11/10/07 11:25 AM
supermollio said...
Thank you all so much for your kind words (and terrible pun, Leora--which did make me laugh!) The Original Sewing & Quilt Expo was in town this weekend, and I saw Lorraine Henry there (who teaching fit and pattern alteration). I asked her about the swayback alteration. She looked at my back and shoulders and told me I have a high neck base (kind of like sloping shoulders, only they flatten out about where your bra straps hit and remain flat to the joint) and a short back waist! I think for the two dresses I've already made that I will just sew belt carriers on the waist and always wear a belt. Maybe I'll make covered belts to match each dress. Now that I look at the pictures, I'm not so crazy about how the brown belt looks. Again, thanks for your help!!
11/12/07 10:05 AM
supermollio said...
[oops. double post]
11/12/07 11:29 AM
northern nasturtium said...
That's such a great pattern. One of my tried-and-true favorites, though I agree, the collar isn't so "Very Easy." Your version is very lovely.
11/16/07 3:10 AM
Kitty Couture said...
That is a beautiful dress! It turned out so much prettier and more interesting than on the pattern envelope. I would never have looked that pattern twice on the website. Your dress is so cute, and it looks so lovely on you!
11/17/07 9:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1778
photo
Review by rachellea7... on 3/20/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us