SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8021 (Misses Shirtdress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 774 times 
Reviewed by:supermollio
photo

 
 
About supermolliostar
MN USA
Member since: 8/10/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/07 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty Couture said...
That is a beautiful dress! It turned out so much prettier and more interesting than on the pattern envelope. I would never have looked that pattern twice on the website. Your dress is so cute, and it looks so lovely on you!
11/17/07 9:12 AM
northern nasturtium said...
That's such a great pattern. One of my tried-and-true favorites, though I agree, the collar isn't so "Very Easy." Your version is very lovely.
11/16/07 3:10 AM
supermollio said...
[oops. double post]
11/12/07 11:29 AM
supermollio said...
Thank you all so much for your kind words (and terrible pun, Leora--which did make me laugh!) The Original Sewing & Quilt Expo was in town this weekend, and I saw Lorraine Henry there (who teaching fit and pattern alteration). I asked her about the swayback alteration. She looked at my back and shoulders and told me I have a high neck base (kind of like sloping shoulders, only they flatten out about where your bra straps hit and remain flat to the joint) and a short back waist! I think for the two dresses I've already made that I will just sew belt carriers on the waist and always wear a belt. Maybe I'll make covered belts to match each dress. Now that I look at the pictures, I'm not so crazy about how the brown belt looks. Again, thanks for your help!!
11/12/07 10:05 AM
carnelian said...
There's an adjustment for a sway back, in which you raise the skirt or pants waist stitching line about half an inch at the center back, then decrease the adjustment gradually to nothing at the side seams. Try it!
11/10/07 11:25 AM
Leora said...
I think you may be able to alter the back once you have more experience under your belt (sorry, couldn't resist LOL) Great job on an advanced project, and two dresses!!
11/9/07 3:37 PM
krystalkaes said...
You did a very nice job on your dress. You look very cute.
11/9/07 8:45 AM
marjenann said...
Great "in-style" vintage dress!!! Very chic!!
11/9/07 7:53 AM
SarahSM said...
Thanks for the review! I'm thinking of putting this one on my list next time there's a Vogue sale.
11/8/07 11:18 PM
ladybegood said...
Your dress is sooo much cuter than the envelope suggests! I think your poof may be a sway back poof. Check the message boards for how to alter for a sway back.
11/8/07 10:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well done! This is a fairly challenging pattern for a beginner, but you certainly rose to the challenge.
11/8/07 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 1301

photo
by: Marge99

Review