SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8021 (Misses Shirtdress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:supermollio
photo

 
 
About supermolliostar
MN USA
Member since: 8/10/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/07 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Well done! This is a fairly challenging pattern for a beginner, but you certainly rose to the challenge.
11/8/07 8:56 PM
ladybegood said...
Your dress is sooo much cuter than the envelope suggests! I think your poof may be a sway back poof. Check the message boards for how to alter for a sway back.
11/8/07 10:48 PM
SarahSM said...
Thanks for the review! I'm thinking of putting this one on my list next time there's a Vogue sale.
11/8/07 11:18 PM
marjenann said...
Great "in-style" vintage dress!!! Very chic!!
11/9/07 7:53 AM
krystalkaes said...
You did a very nice job on your dress. You look very cute.
11/9/07 8:45 AM
Leora said...
I think you may be able to alter the back once you have more experience under your belt (sorry, couldn't resist LOL) Great job on an advanced project, and two dresses!!
11/9/07 3:37 PM
carnelian said...
There's an adjustment for a sway back, in which you raise the skirt or pants waist stitching line about half an inch at the center back, then decrease the adjustment gradually to nothing at the side seams. Try it!
11/10/07 11:25 AM
supermollio said...
Thank you all so much for your kind words (and terrible pun, Leora--which did make me laugh!) The Original Sewing & Quilt Expo was in town this weekend, and I saw Lorraine Henry there (who teaching fit and pattern alteration). I asked her about the swayback alteration. She looked at my back and shoulders and told me I have a high neck base (kind of like sloping shoulders, only they flatten out about where your bra straps hit and remain flat to the joint) and a short back waist! I think for the two dresses I've already made that I will just sew belt carriers on the waist and always wear a belt. Maybe I'll make covered belts to match each dress. Now that I look at the pictures, I'm not so crazy about how the brown belt looks. Again, thanks for your help!!
11/12/07 10:05 AM
supermollio said...
[oops. double post]
11/12/07 11:29 AM
northern nasturtium said...
That's such a great pattern. One of my tried-and-true favorites, though I agree, the collar isn't so "Very Easy." Your version is very lovely.
11/16/07 3:10 AM
Kitty Couture said...
That is a beautiful dress! It turned out so much prettier and more interesting than on the pattern envelope. I would never have looked that pattern twice on the website. Your dress is so cute, and it looks so lovely on you!
11/17/07 9:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 132

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now